We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next to the park entrance, go before high season to get half price deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Stars Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sokcho
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We got a great deal through Agoda (as a long term user), we saw the price quote sticked to the door in our room showed that the reg price of our room was USD$300+ but we paid less than half ($140?? just about) we were there in late April. Weather was not too cool and not hot yet, perfect for us.
We were on the 6 floor and got the mountain view that faced the side where the cable car is headed from the park. Every morning, I could not help to look out the window to see the morning fog slowly burned off and the mossy like mountain range right in front of you. We did not even bother to close the window drape because there would be no one on the other side to look inside our room, only the nature that was staring at you!!!

the room was big but there seemed to lack of hooks in the bathroom (this problem seems to run at all hotels in the country!) Breakfast was good and included in the room price, nothing to write home about since it was just typical English/American style of breakfast or a bowl of Korean style of noodle. On the weekends they served you buffect style, you have more choices. Best to fill your belly before you go into the parks so that you don't have to pay high price for some okay food. The breakfast is served in the Queen's room on the 2nd floor, very nice room to be dine in for sure!

At the time we were there the internet connection was not good in the room at ALL, if you are web person, you may want to get yourself a local phone card at the airport but not too cheap though. Here at the hotel you get good connection only at the lobby by the den area.

Anyway, we did have good time and would like to stay thete again if we can get the great deal!

Room Tip: the mountain view that is faced the main road and the hotel garden. Of course the higher the better...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Winstery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Winstery,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose this hotel as it's the closest to the national park where we wanted to walk for a few days. It's quite impressive from the outside and the lobby is nice. The rooms are OK, a bit small unless you opt for mountain view - we had paid for this but didn;t get it which was annoying. They didn;t have our room ready by the promised 2pm, made us wait 20 minutes, not a great start. Reception staff did apologise and offer us a voucher for 2 free coffees, which I guess is something.

The bed was annoying, one of those that ripples for a few seconds across the whole bed if one of you moves. Bathroom small but functional though one of the tiles had been broken and replaced by a completely mismatched one so looked cheap

The breakfast was OK, plenty of oriental choices and enough western stuff to keep us happy. Evening meals - as other reviewers have said not all the restaurants are open. i don;t know if they ever are perhaps in very high season, although they don;t tell you this but whichever restaurant is open, you can choose from any of the three menus. There is an Italian restaurant (called the Abbey Road Bistro) serves a few pizzas and pasta dishes there's a Korean one and a more traditional British menu in Queen's. The wine was extravagantly expensive. A basic bottle of red wine, which would cost about £5 in my local supermarket cost about £60. We stuck to beer!

It's about £10 for a taxi from the Express bus terminal in Sokcho or about £1 on the bus. The road up is ridiculously crowded on weekend mornings but at other times it takes about 20 minutes.

The WiFi also seems to be eternally "broken". It did not work in the rooms or restaurants but did work OK in the lobby apart from one evening when it rained heavily

It really is a bit like "Fawlty Towers" but in an endearing sort of way. Fine for a few nights, would wind you up for longer

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room, a little bigger and much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc-nic-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear doc-nic-london,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely hotel with english feel. Great view and our room were very clean. Every floor has a different theme, interesting indeed! Specially when the lift door opened on every floor.. :) Their toilet was amazing too with a heater system and a comfortable one to use especially during winter.
Staffs were friendly and helpful. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear DCI1314,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for convenience of facilities and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I think the website describes this hotel very accurately. I'd say it certainly is 4 star standard. The bed was the best we've had in Korea. We paid about $170 per night, expensive for us, but with such spectacular scenery and hiking at the front door its cheap. Their attempt at a western breakfast was pretty woeful but hungry hikers don't mind.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JarJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear JarJah,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for convenience of facilities and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this Eclectic hotel. The room was a music themed room that had a toilet that I thought could fly. State of the art toilet with heated seat :) which was great with the cold and snowy weather. Enjoyed the proximity to the Seoraksan park. Would stay again but not at full price, I got a great deal using priceline.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Dave W,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for convenience of facilities and staff friendliness.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked a Noble King room, but found the wifi signal non-existent in the room I was allocated, and no overhead shower. The hotel was kind enough to move me to another room with good wifi signal and a better shower. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. Food in the hotel 'Abbeyroad' restaurant is of good quality but rather pricey in my view ie US$9 for a cappuccino, US$20 for a pizza. On the positive side, great location to explore the park which is just 200m down the road.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear vsylee,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Three great things about staying at Kensington Stars Hotel - 1) very friendly and helpful staff, 2) great location to Seoraksan National Park, and 3) great mountain view from your room.

Hotel staff gave us a run down of places to visit at Sokcho (what each is good for), recommended us places to visit, made calls for us to check schedules of Sokcho City Tour. Thank you very much. We tried to get these info at the Tourist Information Kiosk at Express Bus Terminal after we alighted, but staff there was not forthcoming.

Hotel rates, however, are on the high side. If your trip is solely for hiking, this is the place to stay.
If you are on holiday, wanting to explore Sokcho, Seoraksan Park and all other nearby places, then there are many alternative accommodation at Sokcho city or even a few km away from the hotel (still within Seoraksan area). You do not need to stay at Kensington.

Each floor at the hotel showcases photos and memento: 5F Sports Stars; 6F Ambassadors' floor; 7F Singers' floor; 8F Movie Stars. However, all the displays are older stars (maybe none from the year 2000 onwards?). We feel that hotel needs to continuously update their displays to make them current and hence live up to the name of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
케니, 매니저 at Kensington Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear aliysue,

Warmest greetings from the Kensington Stars Hotel,

We are very pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially for location from Mt. Seorak and staff friendliness.

And in the meantime, the area you have advised will be shared with the team concerned to serve you better in future.

Once again, thank you a lot for your kindness of the precious comments to us.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Rachel Hwang

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sokcho
6.1 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Sokcho Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Class 300
The Class 300
#5 of 15 in Sokcho
174 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Maremons
Hotel Maremons
#3 of 15 in Sokcho
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Benikea Hotel Mountain & Ocean Daepohang
0 mi away
Two Y Hotel
Two Y Hotel
#6 of 14 in Yangyang-gun
8 reviews
8 mi away
Naksan Beach Hotel
Naksan Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Yangyang-gun
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Stars Hotel

Address: 998, Seoraksan-ro, Sokcho, Gangwon-do 24903, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sokcho
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sokcho
Price Range: £42 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Stars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Stars Hotel is the nearest place from which the beautiful unexplored regions of Mt.SeorakㅡKorea's most famous vacation areaㅡcan be seen. It boast the panoramic view of Kwon Geum Sung, admired so greatly by the former president Park Jung-Hee, he held his own exclusive room in the hotel. The Kensington Stats Hotel is the first Theme Hotel in the World. It is decorated with goods contributed from celebrities of the cultural and sports world. The hotel has an English-style interior and gracious atmosphere, within which the Kensington family presents beautiful memories that each and every one of the customers may keep deep inside his or her heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Stars Hotel Sokcho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing