We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room with good harbour view”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Keelung
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Getting here: We landed at Taoyuan Intl' Airport, took a bus to Taipei Main Station, and then took the railway to Keelung. When you come out of Keelung train station, on your right there should be an overhead bridge. Seemingly confusing but its alright, go up the the overhead bridge, and cross over diagonally right, and you will see the harbor view hotel across the road.

Room: It was a small room, just enough for a large suitcase, possibly not able to open more than 1 suitcase in the room and still have enough space. the bed was pretty big as it was 2 single beds combined together to form a 'King'. All twin/double rooms were not able to add extra bed, so if you have 3 or more people you have to upgrade to a family room for 4. we added a small fee for an extra pax in the room at NT$400, and with that you get extra set of toiletries etc and breakfast, basically everything except an extra bed. our room had the river view, and there was a bathtub in the room. good enough for us as we stayed 1 night only.

Location: Walking distance to the night market etc.

Service: the staff were helpful enough when approached, just that they weren't "smiley" people. no smiles or warm welcome, but not rude or unpleasant. just non-smiley.

Would stay again, had a comfortable rest :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Its original name is different from english one so it may confuse you but still it's close enough to reach without getting lost from the station.
Just as it's named, this hotel locatesin front of the harbor and you'll have a nice harbor view if you stay upper stairs.
Also, this place is very close to the famous night market and the most famous pine-apple cake shop. So, it's a better choice to stay here to have KeeLung experience.

But you need to pay a special attention to its wall. Walls surrounding you is a bit thin. So, if you make any sounds it will be heard by people staying next to you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ah2652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Other travelers said the view from this hotel is good.
So I also booked a room with harbour view and it is definitely worth to do so!!
The view is amazing and the room rate is not expensive, around USD75 per night
The hotel is just renovated. Room is clean and size is fair. Pleasant sleep!!
Breakfast is included and the quality is good with this price.
The staffs of the restaurant is friendly and helpful.
Free wifi is offered.

Location is great, 5 mins walk to the Keelung Train station and 10 mins walk to the night market. I took a long-distance bus to Keelung from Tansui and the bus is just stopped opposite of the hotel.

The hotel is quite full, early booking is recommended.

Highly recommend to the travelers if you wanna stay at Keelung.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Mar 11
At $74 for the night, room # 807, (the least expensive of the 7 hotels on this trip), I wasn't expecting much, but impressed I was. I wholeheartedly recommend this property for those planning a central stay at this seaport suburb of Taipei. If I do return though, I think I'd like to try staying at one of the spa hotels located along the hillsides. Many are very luxurious and secluded, like Marshall Chang's Garden, complete with personal, hot springs-fed baths.
We took a 150 NT taxi trip from the railway station. The hotel sits facing the harbor or wharf, which is not attractive. Our room faced the harbor, was clean, had strong water pressure, but not enough bathroom counterspace. An entry light has its switch located outside the door, but no way to turn it off unless the door is opened and the switch is turned off. I had only a bath towel when I did it.
The huge Miao Kou night market is nearby. Also nearby is an interesting fish/seafood outdoor market. I could not believe the quantity and variety of sea creatures I saw there. It was so busy that it reminded me of the Tsujiki Fish Market in Tokyo.
Mandy at the front desk greeted us warmly upon arrival. She and uniformly the others did outstanding jobs to acquaint us with the property and the surrounding areas/attractions of interest. She set up a laptop PC for me since there is no permanent desktop PC.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Finding a place to stay overnight in Keelung is not a tough job but finding a place that is convenient and yet not looking dodgy is not easy.
Harbor View is located conveniently between the Keelung Train Station and its popular night market Just under 10mins of walking distance from the train station will bring you to the hotel. And a couple minutes of walking distance will lead to Keelung's famous night market.
Upon check in the room wasn't as big as what I saw on the web, but that's fine for me as I just need a place to sleep. The room is comfy enough and the toilet seems basic, but it was ok.
The breakfast was pretty authentic Taiwanese style breakfast, with congee or rice as their staple with wide selection of side dishes to company your main. Not forgetting to mention the friendly service from the staff, very typical Taiwanese friendly kind, it will be great if you speak mandarin.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor to get a view of Keelung harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Helpful receptionist. A very good location nearby the kee lung train station! Tourist attractions easily accessible with public transport within walking distance. the tourist information centre is very near too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwenxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Most non-harbour view rooms have no view at all, but are the same quality (very nice) as the harbour view rooms. I was upgraded to a viewing room on my final night, which was nice, although I probably wouldn’t pay the difference. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. The included breakfast was particularly poor if you don’t want Asian food (limited to toast) – even the Chinese stuff was all cold. The hotel is a short walk to the train station, the harbour and the night market. I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keelung hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Keelung
0.4 mi away
Herb Art Hotel
Herb Art Hotel
#2 of 21 in Keelung
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beidoo Hotel
Beidoo Hotel
#9 of 21 in Keelung
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Keelung
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yung Fon Hotel
Yung Fon Hotel
#5 of 21 in Keelung
25 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fu Chia Hotel
Fu Chia Hotel
#12 of 21 in Keelung
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: No.108 Xiao'er Road, Ren'ai District, Keelung 200, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Keelung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Keelung
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best accommodation choices among Keelung hotelsKeelungHarbor View Hotel, facing the Keelung Harbor, is one of the best accommodation choices among hotels in Keelung, which is the largest harbor city in northern Taiwan. The hotel is set in an ideal location, which isfaced to the Pacific Ocean. It offers significant views and tranquil atmosphere for all guests.Theymay enjoy the local cuisine around the famousKeelung City God'sTemple thatnear the hotel.Ideal accommodation choice for Keelung travelFurnished in a simple and modern style, KeelungHarbor ViewHotelis a city boutique hotel where guests can lodge in a stylish but comfortable space. The hotel boasts harbor views, sea gulls seeing, and night views over Keelung City toprovide guests unforgettable travel experiences. Room types include luxury double room and double room with ocean view. As long as guests open their windows, theymay appreciate the harbor panorama. On-site facilities in the hotel include coffee shop with Internet access, restaurant, meeting room, etc. The Internet access in the room andthecoffee shop enable guests to stay connected while traveling. It is a standard business hotel for both leisure and businesstravelers.Near Keelung attractions with easy accessWhile staying at Keelung Harbor View Hotel, guestsmay go the nearby Keelung Temple and savor local snacks and cuisines. There are about a hundred food stands lining toprovide a variety of foods from seafood, noodles, to sweets. Mein Mein Ice, Tempura (fish cakes), special sandwich,are the specialties in Keelung. Nearby attractions include Keelung Harbor, Jhongjheng Park, Keelung Temple Space (Miaokou), Hai Men Tian sian, Baimiwong Gun Emplacement and so on. Touristsmay arrange a trip to Taipei City, or to the North Coast like Yeliou and Jin-shan, or to the nearby town Chiufen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing