We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Girne, North Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just arrived back in Chiang Mai following a short stay at the Viang Yonok....it is truly an oasis and a wonderful place to stay...if you are looking for peace and quiet in a 5 star setting then this hotel is for you....

However, the hosts, Ian & Vassana are the true stars as they are so welcoming and informative about the area. The food is excellent and plentiful. Just sitting by the lake was so peaceful..


Thank you again for a great stay and we will be back soon.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollinbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Rollinbones,
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review. To be able to give happiness to our guests, who have often come a long way from home to stay at our hotel, gives us great satisfaction.
We are extremely fortunate to be able to live in this most beautiful location and so, it is wonderful to be able to share that. We look forward to seeing you come back some time.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    21
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
176
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's difficult to write a comment about this place because everything was fantastic :

- The rooms are ultra clean, gorgeous and well equiped (really loved the bugspray just in case).
- The food is amazing. You've got to try the thaï breakfast and the jack fruit from the garden
- The location. Very quiet, close to the lake wich give an terrific view when you Wake up

Everythig was perfect !

Cherry on the cake the owners are the best. Jane & Ian are will answer your every questions, they'll guide you, help you plan the rest of your trip, ... but most of all they'll consider you as their friends. This place is a must stay if you are in Chiang Saen !

Only one thing was disapointing : leaving this paradise !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poloooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Poloooooo,
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. It is most gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok, so much. We look forward to seeing you again sometime, maybe.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great hotel, great food and great hosts. I & May feel like coming back home.
We did really enjoy staying with Vieng Yonok. The hotel is very calm and peaceful. Khun Jim and all of them made us feel like gathering with family rather than just a hotel. Thank you so much ka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sunai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Sunai V,
Thank you very much for your great review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay here. If you return again, we still have a lot we can talk about...
Best wishes to you and Khun May
Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first visit, not to the golden triangle aerea, but to the Viang Yonok Hotel. It was low season and very quiet, but we believe this place is quiet and pleasant even if it's full. Anyhow: Ian and his wife are great hosts, her mother is a great cook, the food was excellent, the restaurant, bungalow and pool were all very clean, and the service very attentive. We were happy to be able to add an extra day to our planned 3 days stay, and we will be even more happy to return to this extremly nice and charming place soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Valentin S,
Thank you very much indeed for you lovely review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok so much. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This Hotel is definitely the best place to stay in the very northern part of Thailand.
Vassana and Ian are the most friendly hosts you can imagine. From the first minute you arrive you feel like being at home away from home. The place with its bungalows and the pool in a beautiful garden directly at the sea is so nice and relaxing. You can even get an original Thai dinner made by Vassana's mom which was one of the best we had in Thailand. And everything for a very fair price. Thanks a lot for the great time we had while staying with you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aykay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi aykay23,
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your kind review. Maybe we will see you again in our little piece of paradise.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently stayed at Viang Yonok with my two children and friends. I came to the area for work, but I will return just to have the pleasure of staying at Viang Yonok! Vanessa and Ian were fabulous hosts--very accommodating, laid-back, and friendly. The guesthouses are clean and have very tasteful old-world decor--the flat riverstone bathrooms are exceptional. The food is also exceptional, cooked to order by Vanessa's mother. The grounds are an immaculate festival of flowers and trees with birds galore. My girls (ages 2 and 3) were in heaven--they could run around on the beautiful grass and it was a treat after traffic-filled cities. They have mountain bikes you can use, and even kids bikes! Jogging is great right out the door--you can run around the lake. The pool is fabulous--it is deep, so bring floaties for the kids if they can't swim. They also had an adorable crib for my 2 year old.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great-can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Jen P,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is most satisfying to hear you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. We are extremely fortunate to be in such a beautiful location next to natural Chiang Saen lake, with the wonderful birdlife around. Great that the kids enjoyed it too, running and cycling round the garden. Plenty more for you to see and do on your next visit. As we are off the beaten track a little, it is not unusual for our guests to have the place to themselves.
best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I cant say enough about how good this place was and how much we enjoyed our stay here.
We travel to Thailand once a year and this place will be on my list to stay many more times.
The staff and food is the best.

Room Tip: Any room here is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 951Dreamer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi 951Dreamer57,
Thank you very much for your great review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok, so much. There are plenty of things to see next time you visit this beautiful part of Thailand.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
6.7 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
18.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
23.1 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
7.9 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
3.0 mi away
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Property: Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing