We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Sot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Picturebook Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 33 Mae Sot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights great place to be in Mae sot. Location good for places to go and eat and for shops. Lovely staff, good breakfast and great rooms. Many mossies tho but prob can't be helped. Great value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KDawg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
53
33
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Picturebook for a week. Our room was perfect, every detail has been considered at the guesthouse. The furniture made from reclaimed wood, the sandblasted glass windows, the artwork in each room is set to a theme - every room is unique. Aside from the beauty the rooms are also very practical, spacious and clean. We visited in April and the guest house provided a peaceful (and cool!) oasis. The air con and fan made sure we didn't overheat. The staff were helpful and friendly. The ethos of the guesthouse comes from a community support basis and you can feel that throughout the whole property and staff. Reasonable and accessible I would highly recommend the Picturebook guesthouse.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if it is in your budget, the balcony adds a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Picturebook is perfection - it has all of the care and attention to small details that even 5* hotels can overlook. It is peaceful, wonderfully designed with private balconies over an amazing garden, and the staff could not be more attentive and friendly.

The best part is that it's run by social enterprise Youth Connect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessieayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days end of February at the Picturebook Guesthouse and simply LOVED it. At first we only wanted to stay for a night before heading across the border to Myanmar but because we liked it SO much, stayed for another three days. From the tasteful, handcrafted designs everywhere, the amazingly comfy beds to the delicious pancakes with honey and fresh fruit in the mornings (plus they make best coffee east of Italy) - we loved every inch of this hotel.
We both recommend it highly and as an advise for what to do: Go, rent a bike and go discover the countryside and little villages outside Mae Sot. We took a long (!) ride to the waterfall and rather enjoyed the scene along the road than the actual waterfall. If you want to try some delicious real noodle soup or juicy pad thai, head around the corner of the Picturebook (next to the small bridge over the canal), there's a small simple restaurant where they cook incredibly good food for an incredible good price! ENJOY! We are already jealous of everyone who even has the chance right now to consider visiting this place! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Room Of The Moon" and loved it, but I guess every room is as beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Once again, I spent a week at Picturebook Guesthouse while working in Mae Sot. The guesthouse it perfect, it has exactly what one needs: nice breakfast, friendly and helpful staff (good English skills), sufficient sockets in the rooms, good WiFi connection, bikes you can rent to get around, it is quiet and has a lovely garden. Just wonderful. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Any room is fine :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuelacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at Picturebook on three different occasions and have nothing but praise for every element of it. The bright and spacious room is immaculate, well-designed and comfortable. I always stay on the ground floor in one of the so called standard rooms, but there is little standard about it. It is simple, yet chic, with its own little patio and the en suite is ideal. The A/C is efficient and reasonably quiet and the room is cool enough that often the fan will suffice. Each day, the room is cleaned, fresh bottled water provided and sheets are changed approximately every three days. Breakfast is perfect with great coffee and a choice of eggs, pancakes or yoghurt and muesli. Day after day, the freshest of fruit accompanies whatever breakfast choice is made. The bed is comfortable, if firm - most Thai beds are a bit on the firm side - but the quality cotton linen and pillows ensure a comfortable sleep. My description wont do the garden justice, but it is truly an oasis of calm in a bustling town - a real retreat from a hard days work or play. Finally, the service - all the staff cannot do enough to ensure that you are made to feel welcome and will rush to help whenever a request is made - from pumping up bicycle tyres to arranging a tuk tuk to getting fresh towels - whatever is needed, if they can help, they will and always with a friendly attitude and a smile. Staying here is truly a pleasure and I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAC-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Picturebook is a very good guesthouse. Clean rooms, hot shower and a good bed. There is a wonderful garden and the staff is very friendly. We stayed there from 17 - 19th of april. But one week later we came back and stayed there 3 more nights because it is suc a relaxing place. The have also a good breakfast and good mountainbikes for rent. Next time if we are in Mae Sot we will stay in Picturebook again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomModderkolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Sot hotels
0.8 mi away
J2 hotel
J2 hotel
#2 of 16 in Mae Sot
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mae Sot
Hop Inn Mae Sot
#1 of 16 in Mae Sot
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Werot Resort
Werot Resort
#12 of 33 in Mae Sot
4 reviews
1.6 mi away
Irawadee Resort
Irawadee Resort
#4 of 33 in Mae Sot
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Retro Twin Home @Maesot
Retro Twin Home @Maesot
#8 of 33 in Mae Sot
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Picturebook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Picturebook Guesthouse

Property: The Picturebook Guesthouse
Address: 125/4-6 Soi 19 Intharakiri Road, Mae Sot 63110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Tak Province > Mae Sot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Sot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique art hotel and social enterprise in Mae Sot, on the Thai-Burma border. With 10 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms full of unique artwork and a delightful garden setting, all profits go towards the training and development of local young people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing