We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Hurb
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
31
65
64
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
65
64
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful breakfast the main road robinson mae outskirts makro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Mae Sot is a fascinating town on the Burmese border. Much of the local population is Burmese, so be prepard to see lots of ladies in traditional Burmese dress, and faces daubed with "thanaka/tanaka". The erroneously named (where is the hill? where is the resort?) Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort used to be one of the few places for tourists to stay in Mae Sot. It is quite a way outside the town center, and is now showing its age, being a bit frayed around the edges. The resort rooms are very basic, but quite spacious and adequate.The tiny lifts shudder and shake but eventually deliver you to your floor.The swimming pool is great for the kids. Avoid the hotel restaurant and food, and get out and sample the local food, such as the huge bbq shrimp. There is a very interesting market down by the river, which forms the border with Myanmar/Burma. The "resort" is reasonable value for money, compared with others in the Centara chain, but there is more competition nowadays, and it no longer has a virtual monopoly. Hopefully it will be refurbished and recast, or dropped from Centara branding altogether. It feels a bit like a neglected outpost in the "wild west" of Thailand at present.

Room tip: Would suggest a high floor to escape the pitter-patter of little and big feet, and trundling suitcases, as long as you don't mind waiting for the geriatric lifts.
Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieExpatBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I read that some rooms were not updated but the rooms on the 4th floor, overlooking the pool were VERY nice and immaculate. (430-441?) I think rooms with 01-20 are on the street side with traffic noise. There was a wedding the night we came and the restaurant should have been closed. The hostess tried to waitress but had NO English and chicken pizza became chicken soup.But, it was delicious. Breakfasts are a very good buffet of Asian and Western items. Stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it.

Room tip: Ask for 4th floor overlooking the pool.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here as I run an Orphanage Foundation and there is a lot of need so we come in and out. The hotel is one of the few that actually has a taxi service to and from it most others are served by motobike only. The lobby and the pool are ok (pay a lot for the internet, breakfast is poor the hotel needs to be upgraded for what they charge as other hotels with comparable prices throughout Thailand are MUCH better.

We requested to be moved 3 times - roaches in the first room with stainson sheets and carpet, second the same only with broken old furniture - last room only a bit better - we slept in our clothes - we switched from alocal B&B but shouldn't have as anyone for a fee can use the pool.
front desk not overly friendly didn't like us switching rooms and the breakfast - we could have easily skipped! Fitness center had only a couple broken 30 year old rusted machins - it was a joke.

Room tip: No good rooms here - try a local place instead their are a couple good ones with a Thai theme
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This hotel gives great value for about 1500 Baht. We took the deluxe room for a couple of Baht more and that was probably well worth it. The room was recently decorated and we had a very nicet rural view.
Staff was one of the best we experienced in Thailand and most were comfortable with English. It's not the hotel or location you would want to book to spend 2 weeks but great for visiting the area for a couple of days.The restaurant is OK, nothing special but reasonably priced.

Room tip: I'd get6 the deluxe room, well worth the money
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJBo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I have been staying at the Centara in Mae Sot a few times on business trips now. It is probably unreasonable to expect more than what I have been finding in this part of the country. The rooms are clean and the furniture is OK, you even get a minibar in the room. The breakfast was also OK, albeit the chairs in this room really need replacing now. I like the airy entrance hall, clever design that allows open doors at all times and no need for air conditioning. Slow Internet connections in this hotel, do not try the computer provided in the hotel central area. One request: Please stop the Karaoke singing in the bar - its a lovely place, but one night a week singing would suffice ? Good room rates ensure the hotel is reasonable value overall.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanFreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews