We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The place is expensive for what you get and that its in Mae Sot. The room was kind of small. The bathroom had a tub (which is rare). The breakfast buffet was great. The service was good. The hotel is in a good location, and it has reasonably priced bicycle rentals.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Julia R

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort Staff, I would likt to thank you. For your suggestions and satisfaction. During your stay with us. We will always remember and honor you.

Once again, Thank you very much and hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you soon

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    53
    10
    12
See reviews for
25
42
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Although this is scarcely a flagship for the Centara brand (it was built when Asai highway One looked like it would link Thailand with Burma) and is pretty faded these days it's still the best option if you're working in Mae sot. The place is usually full of NGO people and volunteers. The beds are OK, not too hard...the sheets are very good quality. The walls however are paper thin (as is so often the case with Asian hotels), so try to get a room at the back at the end of the corridor if you can. Breakfast is pretty decent and you can get good coffee (that's extra!). I must have stayed there 10 or more times and until another hotel comes along with all these features (including good free internet) I shall keep coming here. I rarely pay more than 1200 baht so it's good value. It is also a very short walk from the main bar and restaurant street.

Room Tip: Do try to get a room at the back at the end of the corridor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf on Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort we are really appreciate in your feedback. we will maintain our hotel to standard of Centara, your feedback we will remember and keep forever

We are looking forward to serve you soon at Centara Mae Sot Hill as of our special guest

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The Centara turned out to be a very good choice for my stopover in Mae Sot. Upon my arrival at the tiny airport, the information desk contacted the hotel for a pick-up, which cost 80bht p.p.. Service at reception was quick and friendly. I was booked in a very spacious junior suite, where a plate of complimentary fresh fruit awaited me. The interior is showing signs of wear and tear but I found the place clean and comfortable. For me, the somewhat aged equipment had tangible disadvantages on two occasions: the AC is very noisy, and staff did not manage to find the key for the safety deposit box in our room. Breakfast was a good and broad mix of Thai and continental.

I would probably have given the Centara three points were it not for the great flexibility they showed regarding my booking. My original reservation had been for two nights, non-reimbursable, made through a booking website. When I had to leave one day early, the hotel offered to contact the website for a refund which was granted in less than 24 hours. Great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill resort staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for you give a compliment during your stay with us. and we will keep it in our memory for improvement our service in future

Once again, thank you very much for your comment and we are looking forward to serving you at Centara Mae Sot Hill as of you are special person soon

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Managerus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this Centara Hotel for a very, very good price. The location is nice and quiet. Breakfast okay. Location just outside the city. You can take the hotel van to the city centre (80 baht p.p.).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hansgeluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Sir/Madam Hansgeluk

First of all I would like to take this opprotunity to thank you very much for your stay with us during period 25-27 September 2012. I will pass your massage to my colleague and we will keep it up,

One again thank you very much for your comment and we are looking forward to serve you at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort for your next trip.

Thank you and regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sattahip, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort is easy to find and very well located close to the town, the Burmese border and and Rim Moei Market. The reception area is grand and imposing, the rooms are well proportioned, with good quality, if a little worn and dated furniture. The bed/mattress and pillows are as good as you will get anywhere, I slept for nearly ten hours. The speedy internet service was also a pleasant surprise, after being told by the booking agent that there was no internet connection.

I have stayed at this hotel several times before, it puts me in mind of a fading film star. With every visit as each year passes, so does the grandeur of what was once a fine establishment. The carpet in the room has more stains than the glass in Canterbury cathedral, the windows were filthy, the swimming pool murky, the gardens becoming overgrown, and there are scuffs, scrapes and damaged or scratched paintwork everywhere you look. The remote control for the TV didn't work and the Air Con was noisy. I attempted to unplug the bedside lamp, in order to charge my laptop, unfortunately there was no socket just a maize of jumbled, bare wires. Very dangerous, (see attached photograph) particularly with an inquisitive two year old boy on hand eager to find something interesting to play with. It also has to be said that the hotel in every aspect is far from cheap compared to the plethora of surrounding hotels.

Would I stay again? Yes, for convenience, the bed, and some sort of misplaced nostalgia. 10/20

Room Tip: All rooms are much of a muchness, take the non breakfast option, one can get a breakfast outside, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like take this opportunity thank you very much for your stay with Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort During Period August 22, 2012

We are apologize to you and aception with your comment regarding our bedside lamp cable it not kept in good condition, look not safety during you stay, In order we are working to improved the system power cable, TV and Aircondition as per your comment

For carpet in room, Window flam as your mention we keep in our plan for changing and renovate

The garden at the moment our gardener still heard working on this

For your information all guest room we have 1 set of socket in each room it's on beside TV tabel

One again, we are thank you for your comment and we are looking to served you again at Centara Mae Sot Hill as of our special regular guest

Thank you and regards,

Somsak Saisawad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Having read through previous comments and knowing how bad Thai hotels can be I was surprised and pleased with what we found. On the outskirts of the the town, the hotel is not a resort, but you can see lots of hills in the near distance.

We stayed in room 406, and there was nothing to complain about at all.

Everything was clean & in good condition, with firm but comfortable beds, Coffee and tea making facilities, minibar, excellent bathroom with good shower and very hot water with a selection of shower gels an shampoos. There is a safe in the room and the towels and linen were new and in excellent condition.
The plumbing was unusually good, with excellent water pressure. The toilet worked perfectly as do all the drains.

The lift worked perfectly, the swimming pool was very clean and cool, the gardens lovely, with a team of gardeners working.

Breakfast was typical of this sort of hotel, but the omelettes were good, the small choice of cereals were fresh, the coffee passable, juice good and service willing if a little bit hesitant. The toaster makes good toast and there was very tasty bread.
Everyone from front desk to kitchen staff were shyly polite and friendly.
We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights and had good undisturbed sleep.

If this place was bad, it certainly isnt now and Im happy to give it 9.5 out of 10 & I will return with pleasure.

Room Tip: top floor seems to be a good bet, 405 and 406 were fine. 406 is a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Khun Panpdee

First of all, I would like to take this opprotunity to thank you for your comment during you stay with us on May 21. 2012, and we're will preserve what you have to copmpliment our hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back to Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort as of our VIP guest and please let us know for your next trip to Mae sot

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok,
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Even though one should accept the fact that there is a small market for good tourist hotels in Mae Sot, there is no excuse for a chain like Centara to offer such a terrible place, rundown appearance, dirty rooms, old and broken furnishings, and i could go on.
Even the service quality falls in line with these attributes. When asking for help to find a rental car, i was given a phone number and was asked to help myself. So much about service quality in this location!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kphammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Sot hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Sot hotels
1.2 mi away
J2 hotel
J2 hotel
#2 of 16 in Mae Sot
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mae Sot
Hop Inn Mae Sot
#1 of 16 in Mae Sot
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortune D Mae Sot
Fortune D Mae Sot
#6 of 16 in Mae Sot
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wattana Village Resort
Wattana Village Resort
#3 of 16 in Mae Sot
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mae Sot
22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Irawadee Resort
Irawadee Resort
#3 of 33 in Mae Sot
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort

Property: Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Address: 100 Asia Road | Tak, Mae Sot 63110, Thailand (Formerly Central Mae Sot Hill Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Tak Province > Mae Sot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked amongst the mountains along the Thai-Myanmar border, the four-star Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort is only 10 minutes away from Mae Sot Airport. As an exploration base for groups and for those who wish to cross to neighbouring Myanmar, the resort, sitting at the edge of its own lake, offers easy access to many cultural and natural attractions. The newly renovated rooms and suites are scattered across four wings and offer functional living areas that range from 26 to 62 square metres. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge in all rooms and suites, each of which overlooking the gardens or the swimming pool. The resort has everything for guests to relax and stay in shape, including a well-equipped fitness centre, two floodlit tennis courts, an outdoor swimming pool complete with a separate children’s pool, Thai massages, and a lake that makes for the perfect place for a jog. There are two restaurants and two bars. A scheduled shuttle service connects to Mae Sot Town and the Rim Moei Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Mae Sot Hill Hotel Mae Sot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing