We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“She's a tired old bird,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mae Sot
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“She's a tired old bird,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

She would have been grand in her day, older, reliable and secure, but nothing fancy. I did enjoy it, the riverside restaraunt was good, the singer absolutely murdered "Danny Boy" which I thought was impossible, breakfast could have been good but the buffet was allowed to go cold, all in all though considering where it is, it was above acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    53
    52
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
41
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Haven't stayed at this hotel for a few years but did stay regularly since around 1990. My latest one night stay was same as all previous; okay.Included breakfast was quite good but I had to supply my own wholewheat bread; they only had white.A few years back they had their own baked wholewheat bread available.
And now at least they have seen the light and give wi-fi free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to communicating to us your valuable feed back following your recent stay at our hotel.
Our apologies that the bread selection at the time you had breakfast was missing whole wheat – I have asked our Executive Chef to ensure that at each breakfast time we offer both white and brown bread – this is a standard that makes good sense and offers our guests a choice of options.
We are pleased that you noticed our internet connection is now offered on a complimentary basis and we are also grateful that you returned to Centara Mae Sot Hotel. Please be assured that we do listen to all of our guests as it is only by looking after you will be able to improve products and services in line with or which surpass your expectations.

Sincerely
K Somsak – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Mae sot is remote and by local standards this hotel is good ie above average and should be recommended on that basis. We stayed in a suite and it was clean, spacious and the staff were all helpful. Overall was good value although the decor is tired. Don't expect Bangkok standards and be realistic based on other local facilities and you won't be disappointed. Compared to hotels in sukhothai this was much better, just don't compare it to the intercontinental in Bangkok etc. my five years old had no complaints after a week in 5 star so for a short stay it is fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort Staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feed back to us during your recent stay at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort. Your extremely valued feedback and comment will contribute to helping us improved our performance and exceed our guest expectation we will always remember and honor you.

Once again, thank you very much and hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you soon

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I went here with my family (3 small kids) we got there at 8 pm checked in, were in the room at about 8:15 and ordered room service we had to call twice to find out where our food was
finally at 10 pm with 3 very exhausted kids food arrived,it was ok nothing special
This place is very dirty my 1 year old son was black from the dirt after crawling on the carpet in the room.
Breakfast is very simple,service is ok but whatever you do do NOT let them handle your luggage
Cause they dragged ours over the concrete making big holes in them!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyvanschoonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort Staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feed back to us during your recent stay at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort. I would like to apologize for the problem that you experienced with our hotel facilities and service during your stay with us. and we are all committed and are working hard to continuously improve the quality of our hotel facilities and service to our guest

Once, again thank you very much for your good feedback and we are looking forward to serve you at Cantata Mae sot Hill resort soon.

Yours sincerely

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Sot hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 nights on their fast booking website the day before we were due to arrive and got a very good price,, the rooms were ok,, however on arrival we were asked to pay and i informed them we paid in advance via their own website,, the receptionist insisted that this was only a guarantee for payment!!! We said we would sort it out on checking out,, after a long 9 hour drive we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant,, there was a buffet style meal spread out and a very helpfull English sealing chef explained everything to us,, however I decided to eat from the hotel menu,, big mistake,,y starter arrived after my partner had already finished eating from the buffet,, it was cold and I was hungry so I ate it,, 30 mins later without and staff asking us if we wanted anything else or seeing if everything was ok I am still waiting for my main course,,my partner asked a member of the kit hen staff who was replenishing the buffet,, she disappeared never to be seen again,, after another 15 mins I spotted the restaurant supervisor so got up to ask her sheer was my main course if been waiting for for 45 mins,, she hastened to tell me I hadnt ordered a main course!!! I informed her ,, two members of staff actually took my order ,, she continued to argue with me and I told her ratherabrubltyly to go into the kitchen and bring my main course,, she did and it wasn't very good,, but was surprised to how she new what to bring as according to her I hasn't ordered a main course ,, on leaving the restaurant very upset the helpful chef saw us and asks if everything was ok,, we told him about the problem,, and he told the supervisor to discount our bill,, her face was in horror,, and it was only reduced 70 bht what an insult ,,
On checking out two days later the reception was still adamant we hadn't paid in advance and asked us to pay,, I paid my mini bar bill and said I already paid via your website,, on the drive home we had 4 phone calls pestering us about the bill,, on arrival at home I checked with my bank and confirmed the bill had been paid!!! Very unprofessional and poorly trained staff,, this hotel is certainly not to Centara standard

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort Staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feed back to us during your recent stay at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort. I would like to apologize for the problem that you experienced with our service during your stay with us. and we are all committed and are working hard to continuously improve the quality of our service to our guest

Once, again thank you very much for your good feedback and we are looking forward to serve you at Centata Mae sot Hill resort soon as of you are our VIP guest

Yours sincerely

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

The place is expensive for what you get and that its in Mae Sot. The room was kind of small. The bathroom had a tub (which is rare). The breakfast buffet was great. The service was good. The hotel is in a good location, and it has reasonably priced bicycle rentals.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Julia R

On behalf of Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort Staff, I would likt to thank you. For your suggestions and satisfaction. During your stay with us. We will always remember and honor you.

Once again, Thank you very much and hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you soon

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Although this is scarcely a flagship for the Centara brand (it was built when Asai highway One looked like it would link Thailand with Burma) and is pretty faded these days it's still the best option if you're working in Mae sot. The place is usually full of NGO people and volunteers. The beds are OK, not too hard...the sheets are very good quality. The walls however are paper thin (as is so often the case with Asian hotels), so try to get a room at the back at the end of the corridor if you can. Breakfast is pretty decent and you can get good coffee (that's extra!). I must have stayed there 10 or more times and until another hotel comes along with all these features (including good free internet) I shall keep coming here. I rarely pay more than 1200 baht so it's good value. It is also a very short walk from the main bar and restaurant street.

Room Tip: Do try to get a room at the back at the end of the corridor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somsak S, General Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

On behalf on Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort we are really appreciate in your feedback. we will maintain our hotel to standard of Centara, your feedback we will remember and keep forever

We are looking forward to serve you soon at Centara Mae Sot Hill as of our special guest

Thank you and best regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Sot hotels
1.2 mi away
J2 hotel
J2 hotel
#1 of 15 in Mae Sot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mae Sot
Hop Inn Mae Sot
#2 of 15 in Mae Sot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wattana Village Resort
Wattana Village Resort
#3 of 15 in Mae Sot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eco Inn Hotel Mae Sot
Eco Inn Hotel Mae Sot
#8 of 15 in Mae Sot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.0 mi away
Irawadee Resort
Irawadee Resort
#4 of 30 in Mae Sot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Im Boutique Hotel
Im Boutique Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mae Sot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort

Property: Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Address: 100 Asia Road | Tak, Mae Sot 63110, Thailand (Formerly Central Mae Sot Hill Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Tak Province > Mae Sot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mae Sot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Mae Sot Hill Hotel Mae Sot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing