We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Mae Sot but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best in Mae Sot but...”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is the best in Mae Sot because of its swimming pool and restaurants. But that does not mean that it's best value. The rooms are spacious enough to fit two double beds but the bathrooms are dated. In fact the whole place feels as if it is due a major upgrade.

There is a full menu for breakfast but food quality is so so.

Mae Sot is in the middle of a boom because of the widely anticipated opening of Myanmar and I believe it won't be long before more competition springs up for Centara. Until then I would choose a smaller but newer hotel if use of the swimming pool is not a priority.

Room Tip: Top floor with a view of the pool would be the best choice - protected from road noise by the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCMS, Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest AlexR48,

Thank you for your review after your recent visit in December.

We are pleased to hear that we're one of the best property in Mae Sot. However, this won't be the point to stop us from keep our products and services in a good standard.

We are also pleased to inform that the Deluxe rooms on the top floor including it's shower room has already been renovated as well as it's repainted building.

Finally, we thank you again for your healthy comments which helps improving this property to a better one. We hope to have another opportunity serving you in Mae Sot again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    53
    10
    12
See reviews for
25
42
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A huge hotel with large rooms, although the bathrooms could do with updating. The beds are huge and comfortable, however no kettle is provided. The staff are friendly but do not speak good English so there is very little tourist information available. Mae Sot itself is not very touristy and consists mainly of small shops, and is mainly used as a jump off point for entering Burma. Breakfast has a good Asian and Western selection. The main problem is the hotel is 2kms out of town. It provides a mini bus on demand, but charges 100 Thb (€2.50) per person each way and the same to and from the airport which is absurd for the distance.

We hired a bike one day (200 bht €5) and a car for two days which was 1,000 Thb (€25) per day. Some people, including the hotel, charge more so look around. We rented one from Rujira Car Rent (rujira_tom@hotmail.com) situated on the left hand side of the main highway going to the border, who were very helpful and delivered the car to the hotel and us to the airport at the end of the rental, all for 1,000Thb per day.

Generally it is considered to be the best hotel in town as it has a large swimming pool, but there are others which look good and are half the price (although no pool), more conveniently situated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCMS, Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest Nickyportugal,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay. We will continue improve of products and services and maintain our position as a best option in Mae Sot for all visitors.

Once again, we thank you for your sharing and look forward welcoming you back to Mae Sot some time in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stay here every time I visit Mae Sot. The place isn't brand new, but you can see it's always being well taken care of and maintenance keeps on top of everything needing done. The musician in the outdoor bar area is the best. He's not always the same person, but the hotel management always manage to replace him with someone with the similar repotoire
Good value for money

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AI5AASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCMS, Manager at Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest AndrewAO,

Thank you for taking your time sharing your experience after a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to hear your compliments on our products and services and will certainly maintain and at the same time improve our standard where needed.

once again, thank you for your compliment. We look forward welcoming you back anytime in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I've been at this hotel for two months. The hotel is being refurbished. The service is excellent, the rooms large and clean. The pool is a big plus, as is the exercise facilities. The breakfast excellent as well. Highly recommended

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sterling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelpro123
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It is a shame that nobody seems to be interested to invest a single Baht into this -formerly- great hotel. It sure would take more than a Baht, of course, new windows, bathrooms, guestroom furniture, mattresses, electrical, lighting, new fan-coil a/c units, and yes, hello, new guestroom floors would be necessary. The time one would accept cheap carpet in a guest room in such a climate are over by some 20 years (After I checked in a lady from housekeeping came to my room with a big bottle spraying some sort of an odor masking stuff on the floors around the bed and the windows, while I was unpacking!) My guess is that one year shut-down to perform the work would be necessary too. Centara now aspires to become a global hotel chain player, maybe they should look for improvement in their own backyard first. On the other hand one should not blame the staff: Front desk is excellent, friendly, and efficient, housekeeping works hard under these conditions, i.e. it's clearly impossible for them to remove the decades old mildew in the old bathrooms. Breakfast is accepyable, Wifi works. Recommended only for those who can't live without a pool. Others stay away.

Room Tip: The floor plan of this hotel is diamond-shaped. The best rooms are in the wing which looks down onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Sot hotels

Chonburi, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Should have mentioned earlier that all staff were excellent during my last stay.Looks like I will be there again too in a few days, and I'm sure it will be just as good as always; just hope it's not flooded around there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallangpakwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

She would have been grand in her day, older, reliable and secure, but nothing fancy. I did enjoy it, the riverside restaraunt was good, the singer absolutely murdered "Danny Boy" which I thought was impossible, breakfast could have been good but the buffet was allowed to go cold, all in all though considering where it is, it was above acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Sot hotels
1.2 mi away
J2 hotel
J2 hotel
#2 of 16 in Mae Sot
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mae Sot
Hop Inn Mae Sot
#1 of 16 in Mae Sot
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortune D Mae Sot
Fortune D Mae Sot
#6 of 16 in Mae Sot
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wattana Village Resort
Wattana Village Resort
#3 of 16 in Mae Sot
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mae Sot
22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Irawadee Resort
Irawadee Resort
#3 of 34 in Mae Sot
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort

Property: Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Address: 100 Asia Road | Tak, Mae Sot 63110, Thailand (Formerly Central Mae Sot Hill Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Tak Province > Mae Sot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked amongst the mountains along the Thai-Myanmar border, the four-star Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort is only 10 minutes away from Mae Sot Airport. As an exploration base for groups and for those who wish to cross to neighbouring Myanmar, the resort, sitting at the edge of its own lake, offers easy access to many cultural and natural attractions. The newly renovated rooms and suites are scattered across four wings and offer functional living areas that range from 26 to 62 square metres. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge in all rooms and suites, each of which overlooking the gardens or the swimming pool. The resort has everything for guests to relax and stay in shape, including a well-equipped fitness centre, two floodlit tennis courts, an outdoor swimming pool complete with a separate children’s pool, Thai massages, and a lake that makes for the perfect place for a jog. There are two restaurants and two bars. A scheduled shuttle service connects to Mae Sot Town and the Rim Moei Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Mae Sot Hill Hotel Mae Sot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing