We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cheap, if a little run down”
Review of Porn-Thep Hotel

Porn-Thep Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mae Sot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porn-Thep Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cheap, if a little run down”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I checked in here without a reservation at 2am and got a twin air-conditioned en suite room for 300 Baht for the night. The room was comfortable and clean, if slightly shabby. The staff were helpful and spoke a little English, enough to get me checked in - unusually, the check in form I was asked to fill in wasn't in both English and Thai, just in Thai, so I do wonder if this hotel is not aimed at Western tourists.

The location is good; Mae Sot isn't huge, but this is pretty central.

For the price I thought the hotel was excellent value. I would certainly stay here again, although I think I would prefer somewhere slightly more expensive but with wi-fi. (To be fair, I didn't ask if they had wi-fi, but there were no suggestively named networks visible when I checked, and I saw no mention of it anywhere.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
1
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The room was dim but reasonably clean. However, the shower curtain appeared to be way overdue for a serious cleaning. The mildew on it was gross even though the tub was clean enough. For a little less, the DK Hotel a few blocks away provided more amenities such as a coffee service in the lobby as well as internet access in the lobby for a price.

What really turned me off was the sleazy "bell hop" (if you can call him that) asked me if I wanted a "woman' not once but three times. The first time was in the elevator and I said "no" emphatically. The second time was in the hallway outside the room and this time I was annoyed. The third time was after he let me into the room and I was angry. Persistent bugger. He brought the hotel down a few notches. By contrast, the DK had a sign posted in lobby stating "No sex tourism".

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rainmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I have been to Mae Sot perhaps a dozen times and almost always stay at Porn Thep.I can't understand the previous traveller paying 900B.I was there 6 months ago and only paid 430B for a/c room.Fan rooms are even cheaper.Rooms are old but clean.Staff are friendly and helpful (limited English).If you have a vehicle you can park out the back where they have 24 hour security guard.(good idea for border town).Good central location near market.You can always go to Mae Sot Hill Hotel for a swim (80B)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CruiserPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

For up to 450 baht a night, you get a mildew stained room that's damp and really cheap office carpeting. The lighting is dim, the hallways are dim, and the hotel looks about 30 years past its prime, and decayed to that amount. There are half a dozen better alternatives in Mae Sot for that amount of money. Room had a tiny and barely working TV, no internet, a non-functioning AC, broken bathroom tiles, and the bed smelled slightly. This hotel forms a part of Mae Sot's unfortunate underground sex trade - so unless that's your kind of thing, you'd better avoid it. Prepare to be offered all manner of young boys, girls, or women, typically by hotel employees right in the hotel lobby itself. Within walking distance is the much better DK Hotel, which costs the same, and was wifi. I left after a night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Sot hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

This hotel never seems to get a mention, but there are few real hotels in Mae Sot, although over the past few years more and more backpacker guest houses have been appearing. This is an older style, basic commercial hotel; nothing special about it, but you can always get in; English is spoken; it is just off one of the two main streets and convenient for everywhere. It cost 900 baht a night, a bit expensive for what it is, but you are not going to stay in Mae Sot for more than a day or two anyway. Recommended as a second choice for central Mae Sot if you want a hotel rather than a guest house.

  • Liked — Convenient location.
  • Disliked — No problems.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Sot hotels
0.4 mi away
J2 hotel
J2 hotel
#2 of 16 in Mae Sot
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mae Sot
Hop Inn Mae Sot
#1 of 16 in Mae Sot
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#5 of 16 in Mae Sot
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wattana Village Resort
Wattana Village Resort
#3 of 16 in Mae Sot
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fortune D Mae Sot
Fortune D Mae Sot
#6 of 16 in Mae Sot
3 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Mae Sot Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porn-Thep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porn-Thep Hotel

Property: Porn-Thep Hotel
Address: 25/4 Soi Srivieng Prasartviti Road, Mae Sot 63110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Tak Province > Mae Sot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Mae Sot
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing