We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AndyL30
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand

So-so

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Dec 2011
This hotel was not too bad really. The location is excellent, at the beach but also not too far from the main town. There is a decent pool, the restaurant seemed nice enough and there is a nice lounge.

The main problem with this hotel however is that it is so tired and worn looking and feeling. This is not Bangkok, or anywhere near the tourist trail, but even just a little bit of effort regarding maintenance would make a difference. The room was OK, bed comfortable enough, but the large stains on the curtains and the floor? I don't doubt it was cleaned regularly, but that little bit of effort to remove the stains would create such a better impression. This sort of thing seems to apply throughout.

Another major point is no wi-fi, or internet of any kind, in the rooms. This is not what you expect from a sizeable hotel in this day and age. There is wi-fi in the lobby, but the signal is pretty poor. No kettle in room either.

The staff were fine and pleasant, and the food was pretty good. It was a pity though that everything seemed so worn and that there was no effort on the maintenance and upkeep of the place. It seems that the bare minimum is spent here. I find the rooms at the Green World (as long as you get a new one) to be considerably better, and they have wi-fi.
Date of stay: November 2011
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£38
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£31
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £31
1.4 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£37
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
16.7 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free parking
Breakfast included
£27
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£14
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
17.2 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Singora Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £33
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
entrance and reception area
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £39
  • Trip.com
4.3 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £25
  • Lol.travel
0.9 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £23
  • Lol.travel
6.5 miles from BP Samila Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Songkhla
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
15
55
54
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
55
54
17
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Yes this hotel is old and has been run down, and the service is not up to internaitonal hotel chain standards, but the location is fantastic. It is on a small headland right where the broze mermaid is, From the restaurant there are nice views over the water to the islands and the ships and fishing boats. The sea was abit cloudy buts we could still swm there and follow that up with a nice dip in the huge hotel pool. Most of the guests seemed to be Thai military or police and the hotel seems to cater for them above foreign guests,=None the less, a pool overlooking the pool and beach was only 1500 baht.

Breakfast was included and although the range seemed large, most was very pedestrian food. We did not eat lunch or diner in the hotel. A few minutes walk away is ahuge collecitn of seafood restaurants right onthe beach. Great value there.

All up the BP Samilla offered value. It is a long walk to the shops of Songkla, but a few minutes in a tuk tuk or on a motor cycle. Along the coast at night lots of locals eat picnic dinners and there were youiths showing off souped up cars, which was quite funny.

Songkla is a fun town. Great pockets of old buildings and loads of seafood.

Room tip: Go for ther beach side rooms. A little more expensive but worth it.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived in early July 2011, for I think our 7th stay at this hotel, and instead of witnessing its continuing decline, we were delighted to see that an investment was being made in the hotel in the form of renovations to the swimming pool. Now we were only in town for about 5 days so didn't see the end result, but were heartened that finally some money was being spent on improvements. It has the potential to be such a wonderful place to stay, but years of neglect are taking their toll and unfortunately the hotel is in need of a significant makeover. Notheless we continue to rebook year after year as it is the best of what is available on the Songkhla coast. On the plus side the position is magnificent, the rates for a seafront room are extremely reasonable at around $50 a night with breakfast, and it provides a very convenient base to explore an area of Thailand that is vastly unspoilt by tourism and serves up a great slice of Thai life in all its glory.

Room tip: Sea view rooms provide wonderful views over the beach and sea.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archter2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel is only a few steps away from samila beach. It's quite a nice view and good location if you want to stay in Songkhla.

I stayed in many hotels around this area before and have to admit that this hotel is pretty nice and a lot cleaner than the others. However, it's definitely need a renovation. It has an impressive swimming pool and the view from 7th floor's really beautiful.

The only thing that I don't like about this hotel is that it doesn't have wifi in the room. It's only available in the lobby area. I expected a wifi included for this price!

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I chosed this hotel because of its close proximity to the starting point of the annual Songkhla marathon. Apart from the location, there is nothing to boast about this aging hotel. Poor maintenance, hygeine and not to mention its appaling service does not make this hotel a worthwhile stay.

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepenangite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Not a bad hotel by local standards. A bit run down and would benefit from refurbishment. Facilities like bar restaurant etc a bit lacking but a pleasant enough spot directly on the beach. if you have to be in Songhkla then there are worse places to stay. Stayed here many times over past 5 years.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank footloose_farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews