We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in a draggy city”
Review of Hotel Los Cocos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Los Cocos
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in a draggy city”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just stayed there one night (late check-in and early check-out) on our way from Cancun to Belize City in this rather draggy city.

Got a rather small room in this modern hotel next to the swimming pool for a fair price of EUR 63 per night. Free WIFI but only worked well close to reception. It takes a 10 minutes walk to the marina, but there is really nothing exciting to see there.

Reception recommended a restaurant close to the marina, that was closed when we arrived. Finally, we had dinner at „Las Arracheras de Jose“ a rather unspectacular BBQ restaurant.

Front-desk organized a driver + car that drove us 70km to Orange Walk for a pricey 100 EUR. Plus, we had massive problems at the border, as the Belizean inspectors tried to oblige us to take a Belize cab to get to Orange Walk (we guess they receive a nice commission for that). However, the Lamanai boat trip (starting form Orange Walk) is spectacular and should not be missed when touring Belize.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    118
    72
    14
    11
See reviews for
71
92
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The hotel is much nicer looking than the pictures on the website. It is also located in great location two blocks south of the Mayan Museum and the Mercado. The front desk staff was very professional, warm and attentive and made our stay as enjoyable as possible. We got a great room towards the back that was very clean and incredibly quiet. They also provide a mini refrigerator, safe and wi-fi in each room.

We tried the restaurant for lunch and ordered the lima soup which was the BEST I had in all of Yucatan! The food is very good. The restaurant staff was again very courteous and friendly. I would definitely come back and stay here. The pool and intercourt grounds are nice and the 'free' parking lot in the back is gated. They have professional security guards.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

It was my second stay at this Hotel, and I must say that the service keeps getting better and better. The price is reasonable, and far cheaper than that of The Holiday Inn, with basically the same location and services.

The Hotel's staffs were very pleasant, and they greeted us with a very delicious non alcoholic beverage. We were escorted to our room, and were shown the different commodities the Hotel has to offer to its guests.

I will definitely recommend this Hotel to my friends, especially with those with small children as it is much safer than other Hotels we’ve visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappytourist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We only stayed one night here and got a room based on a walk-in rate. It was expensive but at this point we were unable to find another hotel with room.

The room itself was reasonable, did have a slight mold smell but that appears to be everywhere. It has a small TV with cable and the bathroom is very small but it does the job. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and they were comfortable.

The pool and gardens surrounding the hotel are very nice. A lot of people were enjoying the pool and spa which looked lovely. the lobby is also very nice and has free internet and computers to use which was excellent!

The cafe attached to the hotel however was very disappointing. It was overpriced and the food was terrible. I ordered the club sandwich and it was soggy and had a very terrible taste. They are apparently very good at local cuisine so avoid anything international if you eat here. it is also very expensive food for the quality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We enjoyed our stay and the room was very quiet. The area is great but coffee in the morning by the pool was $80 pesos.............. The price of the room did not include tax and so that was extra too. On the other side the staff were very friendly. There are better prices for almost the same quality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyCanuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Los Cocos is in the heart of Chetumal and is a modern hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights upon our arrival in Chetumal.
The hotel and grounds are very well looked after. A few staff have some very limited English. We managed to get the advertised discount for a standard room, as we had noted at the Municipal Pier when we arrived - although we had to ask for this.
We attempted to negotiate a discount to stay for a month here, however, the hotel would not even honor the discount rate we had checked in on. So we left and got a similar room for one third of the price at the Hotel Suite Arges just round the corner. Equivalent price of £16 per night, payable per night for a long-term stay.
We went back round to Los Cocos to sit in their pleasant outdoor area, with the intention of having lunch and using the bar, whilst we sat and did a little work. We were asked to leave by a grumpy member of staff. We then complained at the reception but were told it was "hotel policy" that only guests could sit in the outdoor area, although we could eat in the restaurant or drink at the bar.
Final note to travellers: there were thousands of small ant-like mites in the bedroom. Just make sure you do not leave anything open.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saramarsdenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Now I haven´t actually stayed at the Chetumal Holiday Inn (I did walk by the front and peek in); I base my title on the price differential alone. As for Los Cocos, I was impressed with the amenities. Theres a pool, a raffle for a new 2010 Jetta in the lobby (the car is in the middle), clean and modern facilities, and best of all, the full service restaurant attached. My meal there was good, and the service was as well.

As I was checking in a bell hop handed me a cup of cold juice. That´s a touch I haven´t seen at any hotel I can recall. It was welcomed after the 7+ hour bus ride from Cancun (another truck bumped our buses mirror and the driver wouldn´t move for over an hour until the Policia took pictures and debated for a half hour).

Back to Los Cocos, you will not go wrong with a standard room unless you are expecting upscale accommodations. The standard room is clean, but bare bones, yet with all the necesities (fridge, AC, etc., etc.). I have not seen the Premier or Suite rooms, aside from from the pictures on their Flash-heavy web site.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank think3mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marlon
Hotel Marlon
#10 of 20 in Chetumal
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fontana
Hotel Villa Fontana
#14 of 20 in Chetumal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Cocos

Property: Hotel Los Cocos
Address: Avenida Heroes 134 | Center, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Cocos 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cocos Hotel Chetumal
Los Cocos Chetumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing