We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive with good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel rooms are large and comfortable. The free internet service is fast and the restaurant serves a very inexpensive and good breakfast. All staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and the bathroom good. The mattress on my bed needed to be replaced, however. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Mayan Museum on the main street of the town. You really can't beat the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Weerobbie,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Positive points - Rooms were large and clean, breakfast good. Comfortable bed.
Negative points- some of electrics in room unintelligible. TV system was so complex that few in the group got it to work - there were NO INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE IDIOTIC SYSTEM.
A coffee making machine was provided, but on use it sprayed boiling water all over the table top,
and scolded your hands- the only way to stop it was to pull out the plug since the stop switch did not work.
The evening meal in the restaurant was mediocre.
Although only a transit town, you could do better Holiday Inn! Interesting to see if you respond.

Room Tip: Don't expect electrics in room to work-they don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear malholme,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive comments on our room accommodations, breakfast quality and comfortable beds. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry about the issues you may have experienced in your room in particular the coffee machine and electric outlets. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

While not much curb appeal, once you enter the front door, very nice property. In a good central location. Staff members were very professional, helpful, warm and welcoming. Rooms and property in general were very clean and well maintained. We had a first floor room only 2 steps outside the sliding door to the pool. Initially was concerned it might be noisy but was not at all. Once the door is closed we did not hear anything - even with a child's birthday party taking place. Of note, as Chetumal is not a big tourist destination, if you do not speak Spanish, expect some language barriers. We struggled through a few things, but the computer translator got us through the rough spots.

Room Tip: We had room 106 right at the pool and were very happy with it. Noise was not an issue as we thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for one night, two couples in two rooms. One was fine, a good room with no problem. The other was bad - air condioning didn't work at first. After two visits from maintenance it worked but sent out the most noxious smell so we had to move rooms. In the second room the tv didn't work - a minor thing but when you pay for the advertised services you expect them. Also we were ripped off by the barman who added tips to our bill!
The swimming pool is lovely, beautifully clean and shaded. Location is good - right opposite the museum.
We would probably go back but only because there are few alternatives, but we did email our complaints through to the Holiday Inn customer services.
We had coffee and toast for breakfast so can't really comment on the food. It was okay, nothing more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear G E H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This has been the best hotel I have been to in Chetumal. The rooms are a little smaller and the hotel is a bit more expensive than others but the facilities make up for it. Ice Machine available. Hotel is right downtown. Great buffet on sundays. Pool is almost never crowded which is good if you don't want to deal with overcrowded pools. Interconnecting rooms on multiple floors. Private Parking and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't get connecting rooms 202 and 203. The A/C always gives us trouble and we have been in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A nice comfortingly familiar choice, close to the town centre and opposite the museum of Mayan Life. The kids enjoyed the pool, gown ups enjoyed sitting outside in the little courtyard. After several months of roughing it we enjoyed the feeling of a little luxury - in hindsight maybe more a reflection on our travels than Holiday Inn ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoiseH550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Palenque, just for the night. This was our second stay. Our first stay was about a year and a half, or so. I was not happy about our room. But this time things were a bit different. The rooms were clean and tidy, the air worked great. We had internet service and a secure parking area. And the staff from the bell boy to the check in person was just great, oh so friendly...The pool was wonderful. And the secure parking was a plus. We will be back..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chetumal hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#7 of 20 in Chetumal
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#5 of 20 in Chetumal
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Cocos
Hotel Los Cocos
#3 of 20 in Chetumal
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marlon
Hotel Marlon
#11 of 20 in Chetumal
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noor
Hotel Noor
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Heroes 171-A | Colonia Centro, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chetumal's capital hotel. Where your comfort is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing