We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tapachula
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

It was a whole aventure to go up the in the middle of the night, with a Jetta car. We started driving up at midnight and arrived at 2am... there was no light anywhere and it was definitely the most long and winding road indeed.
But next day we woke up to confirm we were in PARADISE!!! . It is s very beautiful place. A definitely must go! :) (During the day would be much better hehe... )

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pamelalunatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We heard of Finca Hamburgo from a friend's past stay there and decided to try it out. The views of the mountains and volcano was breathtaking. Just relaxing and sipping coffee surrounded by lovely gardens and incredible views was enough to call it a successful trip but with Edgar who was happy to guide us on a hike through the plantation and tell us about the daily operation makes you appreciate your "morning fuel" that much more. We also enjoyed the coffee plant tour which is complimentary.

The restaurant on-site had quite a good variety of selections. My favorite dinner entree was the fettuccini alfredo with local mushrooms.

The entire staff was extremely warm and hospitable. Beathy the Manager on-site, left us a note with our coffee each morning and was eager to make our stay perfect. So many small touches made our visit there very memorable.

I did not mind being without a TV or internet but the only thing that could be improved is a softer bed. One night we were without hot water which made our evening spa visit a little less perfect but other than that, our suite was beautiful and very clean. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was very nice. Keep in mind, there is limited mobile signals, no internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcCorporateEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I especially loved the view. The restaurant offers a good choice of food and delicious coffee. The service is friendly and you can enjoy a complimentary coffee on the terrace in the morning. The rooms are pretty and comfortable but are not very well insulated, which can mean good or bad luck, depending on your neighboors... For us it was bad luck, which spoiled in a way this nice stop in a coffee plantation on our Chiapas tour...

Room Tip: It is difficult to say since it depends on your direct neighboor and their respect of the others aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finebouche11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juarez
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My family and I stayed at Finca for two nights, excellent choice if you are planning to take a trip to Chiapas. The rooms/cabins are very clean, great food in the restaurant and the people that works in the Finca is very kind and helpful Manuel, Neftaly, Edgar always ready to help. We will be back up there soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Finca Hamburgo for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. This is a working coffee plantation that is located at the top of some mountains and offers more than just seeing the plantation and trying coffee, which is excellent by the way. You can go hiking throughout the region known as the Ruta de Cafe and also go bird watching, ride a zip line, go white water rafting, tours of other coffee and/or flower plantations, etc. The accommodations are excellent with each chalet offering views of the surrounding countryside from atop the mountains. The restaurant offers excellent food with some items influenced by the owner's German heritage. The entire staff of the plantation from the coffee workers, plantation owners, tour guides, restaurant and hotel personnel are friendly, helpful and a joy to talk to. I would recommend this facility to anyone and my wife and I plan to return to this place one day soon.

Room Tip: Every chalet room has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The accommodation exceeded our expectations; it was very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The location itself is simply beautiful.

But it takes some finding and the last 10kms from Tapachula were on very rough unmade roads. So it is not for the faint-hearted.

The welcome and care from Bertha and her colleagues was exceptional. As an example, the Finca even arranged for an English-speaking interpreter to accompany us for the duration of our stay.

The food, however, was mixed. Breakfasts were very good. Dinner, however, was mediocre. Suggest you stay away from the grills which were over-cooked and stick to local dishes if you can stomach them. Otherwise the pasta was OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A gorgeous place. Didn't spend the night but had a meal there. Definitely challenging to get there - the road is pretty rough - but the staff went out of their way to make it easier. They met us just before the road got bad and drove us up. The meal was great but the view and the setting was best of all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tapachula hotels
3.8 mi away
Argovia Finca Resort, Ruta del cafe
17.9 mi away
Hotel Loma Real
Hotel Loma Real
#7 of 16 in Tapachula
71 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Cervantino
Hotel Cervantino
#3 of 16 in Tapachula
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Casona Maya Mexicana Hotel Boutique
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tapachula
36.0 mi away
Playa Linda Hotel
Playa Linda Hotel
#9 of 16 in Tapachula
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe

Property: Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe
Address: Carretera Nueva Alemania Km. 54 | entre Finca Genova y Finca Irlanda, Tapachula 30700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tapachula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tapachula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finca Hamburgo La Ruta del Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing