We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in room 10!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Tres Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hostal is amazing! The rooms are so clean and there are so many electrical outlets! The rooftop is the best part though. We can't wait to come back when the bar/restaurant opens. It is sure to be the hottest spot in Tuxtla. In the meantime, the hammocks are the perfect place to relax after a day of sight seeing.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JocSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTresCentral, Gerente at Hostal Tres Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013
Google Translation

Vamos lento con lo del café y el bar...PERO PRONTO. Gracias por tu comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in Tuxtla Gutierrez and were glad we chose Hostal Tres Central. I communicated by email to book a room in advance- we booked a Hotel Doble (queen bed, private bathroom) for 500 MXN all in- great value. The hostel is really close to Civic Square at the centre of town. The building and room seemed brand new- minimalist (in a good way! All mod cons) and spotless. Small balcony, flat screen TV and air-conditioning, fast Wi-Fi for free. Drinking water available for refills at all times downstairs, and secure left luggage facilities.

On arrival we tried to pay in USD (having just come from the east coast) and realised they're not accepted round here. They let us check in anyway, and we later went to change money- FYI there is a chain called 'Elektra' (seems to be combined location with Aztec Banks, plus white goods shop?!), there's one very close on the Civic Sq, and another just past 'the Park' west on the main avenue. You need your passport to change money, 300 USD maximum in one transaction- rates seem okay and open past 5pm.

Anyway, back to the hostel- when we arrived there was no one at reception who spoke English, but this hindered nothing. It was a very friendly interaction regardless (with a bit of Google translate audio from the PC to aid us!), and I actually relish these experiences when travelling- that's what it's all about, right?! The onus is on me to learn Spanish. In fact, a reason we chose to stay in Tuxtla (rather than straight to San Cristobal for example) was exactly because it's not so touristy, but rather a more typical Mexican/ Chiapas city. Indeed no one spoke (or at least volunteered to speak) English in town at all, which I loved- including in the tourist information booth (Civic Sq) or the Las Pinchachas restaurant, where I would have expected foreigners to frequent. (As an aside I highly recommend this restaurant- great value, chance to try local food, printed menu in English, walking distance from Hostal Tres Central.)

ANYWAY, to turn that on its head, the next day the lovely Malena (Magdalena?) was at the front desk of the hostel, and she had impeccable English and was extremely smart, friendly and helpful to boot. All of which was especially appreciated as I went through a lost passport scare for a few hours. (Luckily I'd stupidly left it at the 'Elektra' counter when changing money the previous day and they kept it there for me- all's well that ends well.)

Conclusion to my rambles- lovely, immaculate hostel, double rooms are hotel standard. Stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck0york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTresCentral, Manager at Hostal Tres Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi! Thank you so much for your review! You are our second. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed it and happy that you found your passport! We hope you keep enjoying Mexico and its sweet sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cesia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Felipe de Jesús A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z3301OXdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hay habitaciones para 3-4 personas con baño privado y aire acondicionado, muy lindas y cómodas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marhuanta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTresCentral, Gerente at Hostal Tres Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilindrinaMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuxtla Gutierrez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#13 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
12 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#11 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#6 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Granda Inn
Granda Inn
#19 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
10 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palapa Palace
Palapa Palace
#12 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tres Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tres Central

Address: Calle Central Norte 393 | Colonia Centro-, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME! We are Tuxtla's premier travel hostal. With free Wi-Fi and our patented siesta zone, we've got you covered whether you're taking care of business or just taking a nap. At Hostal Tres Central, we've made sure that every part of your stay is comfortable, affordable and beautiful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Tres Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tres Central Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing