We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple,natural, ecofriendly, awesome food, reasonable-very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casablanca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barahona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #1 of 14 Barahona B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple,natural, ecofriendly, awesome food, reasonable-very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Our weekend was very good. Clean, basic, no AC room but two good fans. Continental breakfast ok. AWESOME dinner, excelent quality, excelent price. I really recommend to stay for dinner, better than go to a restaurant in Barahona for the same price. Susanna ( owner ) was really kind and attend to us all weekend long. 2.5 hours far from Bahia de la Aguilas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

As other reviewers mention, the food is greatest draw. All of the dinners were superb, particularlyt (but not exclusively) seafood. Reasonably priced wines are available as well.
Considering the quality of the food, the meal costs were very reasonable. The grounds were great, on a headland overlooking cliffs and water in all directions. There is a beach a short distance away (much much better than the swimming available by taking the stairs down from the property). All of the guests sit around a long table and the place draws an eclectic crowd, we ate with different people at different times during the 4 nights we ate there - some europeans, some americans and Dominicans. The rooms are pretty basic. the beds are good. The cold water showers take getting used to. I don't know if it was because we were there in late January/early February but the whole area does not seem to see many tourists, which was fine for us. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms. Suzanne, the innkeeper, can suggest the one(s) she thinks are best. She di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The room that I had was a good size. But this is not a place where you go for room amenities. Please note that there is no a/c, a curtain separating the bathroom from the other space and the shower will most likely be cold. You go here to get away and take in the breathtakingly beautiful view, peace, quiet, and listen to the waves while you sleep. Suzanna is the owner and she is an AMAZING COOK. The cost for her dinner is an extra $30 a night but it is gourmet and fresh. Breakfast is included and it is wonderful as well. Internet available on the terrace. There is a ten minute walk to a private beach,.The stone and coral block the waves so you can snorkel and enjoy calm waters. We saw very few people while there and had the beach entirely to ourselves. Ten minute car ride to San Rafael river where the waves are huge and the food is great. My experience was worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamhicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

If my rating was based purely on the hotel aspects I would have given the Hotel CasaBlanca a 3 instead of a 4. The rooms a rather small and spartan; with a queen-size bed, a night stand, a small table and an armoire. The bathroom is small and only has a cutain seperating it from the bedroom. The ceiling fan & oscillating fan make up for the lack of A/C.
The grounds are well maintained and the views are wonderful. The breakfast was filling, but not remarkable and the hotel does not serve lunch, but the dinners are great. Susanna's cooking, particularly her seafood dishes, are incredibly delicious and worthy of any fine restaurant.
The website gives directions for bus riders, but you really need a car. Barahona is 6 miles east and the closest decent beach is over 1/2 mile west (don't even consider swimming at the hotel's "beach"). You'll need to drive into Barahona for anything other than relaxation & dinner. The city is very clean and the people are very friendly. There is a wide variety of shopping and several great bars & small restaurants.

NOTE: No cell phone service. There is adequate wi-fi, but you'll have to use an iffy SKYPE connection to make any calls. If you're trying to find the hotel on Google Maps, look for Hotel El Quemaito. Casablanca is the set of buildings next to that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Casablanca hotel. A Caribbean dream come true. The hotel is on a cliff by the sea. While standing on the natural balcony (the top of the cliff where lounging chairs are placed) you can enjoy the view and sounds of the water smashing against the rocks. The locations itself is pretty out of the way and this is definitely not the place (or any place in the Dominican South for that matter) if you want to experience a happening nightlife or excitement. It's all about relaxation. Since the hotel itself is on a cliff there is no beach, however, there are great beaches nearby. San Rafael is about a ten minute drive away and is amazing. A river empties out into the ocean at that spot and you can swim in the river while on the beach.

The rooms are very basic. There is no air conditioning so the fan and the Caribbean breeze would have to do. It was an unforgettable experience to fall asleep with the waves as background.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfmirand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We arrived one Saturday evening after a long day's work, and the tranquility of Hotel Casablanca was exactly what we needed. Very friendly staff, great breakfast and drinks which makes you wanna stay for lunch as well. Sadly we couldn't.

Clean, spacey rooms, ours didn't offer AC, but it wasn't needed anyway. Even though it was a hot Caribbean summer's night, I slept like a baby cooled by the breeze and the fan.

Probably not the place to go if you're searching for discos and partying, but for couples, friends or relaxing, the ocean view straight from the natural "balcony" and/or a late night swim at the private beach will probably take the edge of just about anything.

Within apr 10 kms going westwards you'll find the Playa San Rafael. One advice: don't miss it! A beautiful beach including a series of fresh water pools from the river running down the hillside (I suppose). that way you get the combo of salty beach life and the refreshing river all in one. You can buy food or beverages and souvenirs, but you don't get bothered by anyone like you would at more "touristified" beaches. Got crowded during the early afternoon hours, but during the morning (11 -> 13 on a Sunday) it was quite quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmikomiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

wonderful personalized service - a small boutique hotel.
rooms are spatan and basic but you are here for the views and the food!
out of the way place but that is Barahona
Susanna is a great chef - worth visiting just for her meals but the location is beautiful and tranquil

Room Tip: all of the rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calbokool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barahona hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Lodge
Casa del Mar Lodge
#1 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
#3 of 6 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Quemaito
Hotel el Quemaito
#2 of 6 in Barahona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guarocuya
Hotel Guarocuya
#6 of 6 in Barahona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Larimar
Hotel Costa Larimar
#5 of 6 in Barahona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loro Tuerto
Hotel Loro Tuerto
#3 of 14 in Barahona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Campo el Suizo | Juan Esteban, km 10, Barahona, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Barahona
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Dominican Republic/Barahona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing