We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Otra Cosa

Otra Cosa
Ranked #37 of 132 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Food, service and location...all exceptional...Located on beach, in a very quaint setting... Have never had better French food ever...Good wine list...Great cappucino...We were in Cabarete 3 nights, ate there twice!!! The staff ... first class. Loved it!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kgsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visby, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only place for fine-dining in Cabarete”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner at Otra Cosa. The prices are rather high, compared to other DR-places, but it's worth it! This is the only place we found on our two-week stay in Cabarete that can be called fine-dining. The restaurant is beautifully set by the beach and has a relaxed but also exclusive feel to it. The staff is very professional and the food is excellent, compared to it's local competitors. If you wish to dine in a quiet area and spoil yourself with a very nice restaurant experience, this is the place to visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Incredible atmosphere...but”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The setting at Otra Cosa is spectacular. Right on the water, tastefully decorated, a dreamy setting. The prices are comparable to NYC restaurants and they don't take credit cards (not customer-friendly), so you will need fist-fulls of cash. The food ranged between decent and very good, and given the ambiance, its definitely worth a visit. The most disappointing part of the visit was when I paid in a mix of pesos and dollars, they chased me down to get an extra $3 only because they were using an inferior exchange rate to EVERYONE else in town, and the $3 represented less than 1.5% of the total tab. Talk about nickle and diming your customers! Left a bad taste in my mouth.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Thankfully someone who lives in Cabarete clued us into this spot. The food is delicious, the space is beautiful, and our waiter could not have been friendly. I wanted to offer him a seat at our table he was so nice and chatty.

Compared to other spots in town, this place is on the higher end of prices - but nothing too crazy (especially compared to NYC dining prices). They don't take credit cards, so come prepared with cash - that is the only watch out.

This spot needs to be higher on Trip Advisor for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Melt-in-your-mouth French-Dominican fusion deliciousness!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Otra Cosa was recommended to us by a local business owner as her favorite restaurant in town, so we knew we had to check it out. It was our most expensive dinner during our week-long trip, but living in NYC it was affordable for the meal we enjoyed. The staff was wonderful, our waiter was so sweet and attentive, and the owner took the time to visit our table to ask how everything was. We asked what the top items on their menu was and ordered most of his recommendations - starting with a ceviche app and entrees of steak tips in a port wine and chili sauce and the mahi mahi in an amazing coconut curry sauce; all fantastic! It's super secluded, you likely wouldn't find it unless you were directed to it - walk down the path for the Supermercado Janet parking lot and it's down by the beach on the right. If you're looking for a romantic, relaxing, impeccable meal I would highly recommend you give them a visit (and bring a fair amount of cash, no cc accepted)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otra Cosa also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Otra Cosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing