We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a FUN place to stay !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a FUN place to stay !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I knew nothing about Cabarete but had a great time at the Villa Taina .... front desk and staff were personable and friendly. Especially Alison working at the beach bar and restaurant - I think she was having more fun than me! ... also Alberto, on the security staff - both gave me good info on the local community.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbsurfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    109
    37
    9
    12
See reviews for
77
132
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My boyfriend and I were visiting his family who live in San Jose de Las Matas for the week. We wanted to take a break from the country and get in some snorkeling/scuba diving before we returned to the States.

In preparation of our trip we wanted to look for some place nice but inexpensive. We read ratings for a few places and when we found this place, there was nothing but postive feedback so we booked it.

I've been back in the states for a week and I'm longing to be back at this place. Not only was it beautiful (tiled interior, ethnic design, CLEAN!), it provided a quietly, serene atmosphere that we were overjoyed about. (neighboring locations down the beach were loud and overcrowded)

The restaurant/bar area is open and inviting and I found myself mentally planning a trip back to share this experience with my Mom who'd certainly love it.

It's located right in the heart of town so we parked the car and walked up and down the strip (btw - there's a supermarket about an 8min walk up the street) to experience what the rest of the neighborhood had to offer.

All in all - this was a great experience and we're keeping this place on our list of where to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street provide private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The female staff in the bar and reception areas were incredibly friendly and courteous and went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of immediately. Same with the security staff.
All others were either aloof (which is fine) or just rude (Isaac the bartender).
The rooms were very clean, the beds and sheets not so great, the TV was tiny and old, and the breakfast buffet was limited and expensive. All in all, the hotel was clean but way overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My boyfriend and I only spent 3 nights here--but it was the perfect place to enjoy the night life of Cabarete and the fun day tie activities at the beach- like kite surfing, volleyball, surf ect. The room was very affordable simple but had a homey feel. Staff is very nice, bar service was a little slow and not great for getting drink orders on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We went to Cabarete from Wed - Saturday and really enjoyed staying at Villa Taina! It was in a perfect location in town, beach front towards the end of the "strip" of restaurants/bar/clubs - which was nice after we were done dining or drinking, we could easily stroll back to our room under the stars while listening to the sound of the waves...

The room was perfect for us! Very clean, i mean very clean. The beds were pretty comfortable, the balcony faced the ocean that had a nice view day & night. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay... the breakfast was inclued in our price and it had many good options, including fresh juices and omlette/egg station :)

We recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel the local flavor, doesn't want to be in a busy resort, but wants the ease of being in a hotel.

ENJOY CABARETE @ Villa Taina!

Room Tip: it's worth a few extra bucks to get the beach view - its truly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frizy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bklynyoga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on November and had a great time. The hotel is in the middle of town but if you stay on the ocean side, then the rooms face the ocean and you cannot hear the town. The room was on the third floor and we had a balcony overlooking the pool and looking out to sea. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I have been to most of the Caribbean, all over Asia, to many many beaches and I would definitely come back here. We did not eat so much at the restaurant or the bar but both looked fine. The staff here is super sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: We loved being on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This Hotel is perfectly situated on Caberete beach if you are looking for Waves and wind to surf, Kite and paddle board. It is owned by a German family, who are very friendly and all spoke perfect English. The bar and Restaurant staff were absolutely amazing and seemed to be locals, most had good English. It was my husbands 50th when we were there and they secretly decorated the table with flowers and balloons, plus the Chef baked a massive Birthday cake.The head waitor, Mario, organised for some musicians to play"Happy Birthday". I have Coeliac's disease and also Lactose intollerant, but the restaurant catered for me really well as each night the food is cooked to order, no stale buffets in sight! Make sure you book a standard ocean view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Air con worked very well. Mozzies come out in force at night so cover the legs. Vendors on the beach were a bit of a pain, but a stern "No" usually worked. Most were very friendly and every day at 2pm we had fresh Mango for lunch. We would definately book this Hotel again, missing them all already!!

Room Tip: Standard Ocean View room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,218 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing