We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Cabarete” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cabarete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I came to Cabarete for a kitesurfing holiday as a single. Lets first talk about the hotel and location.

In my opinion the hotel location on the beach is roughly in the middle of all the restaurants in the area and therefore the best place to stay. The majority of the restaurants is to the right hand side of the hotels along the beach, but there are a handful of excellent restaurants to the left but not on the beach but on the main road, e.g the Mexican place Gorditos, the sushi place, the been cafe etc. The hotel has great staff in reception and the rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable.

The kitesurfing is good but be warned, you have to be a genuine intermediate. If you are learning or beginner forget cabarete and find somewhere else like Gokova Turkey, Boracay Philippine, el Gouna Egypt, or locally Poole harbour in Dorset.

The bay is protected by a reef, but we are facing the Atlantic Ocean! So it is not flat and it is deep water. I thought I was an intermediate, but I soon realised I was a noob at this location! However as they say, if it doesn't kill you, it makes you stronger! Which is very true, after 1 week, I feel that I can now kite anywhere in the world!

I used the LEK surfing centre for lessons and storage, the people are really nice and the instructor I had was a local chap and he was great with 6 years of experience. The location the school is in my opinion the best location in he bay as it is in the middle.

Room Tip: Get one facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    108
    36
    9
    12
See reviews for
77
130
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon ct
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms reminded me of a Greek beach hotel tile floors basic but comfortable breakfast on the beach included. omelettes, fruit, coffee
Windsurfing and kite surfing school right there 20 yards away.
Bar also on the beach for later and comfy rattan furniture
It's not the Ritz Carlton but set the bar high as a standard bearer for an independent beach hotel. 8/10.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peebles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Once I read the bad review from ztagirl on March 24, I knew this was the place for us! We found the beach bar to be extremely fun! We met kite surfers from all over the world. The locals were so nice, we made friends we will have forever, even Facebook friends now. We met them for drinks and danced all night at one of the many restaurants turned Discos at night on the beach next to our hotel. The next night she arranged some motos to pick us up and take us to the Surf Camp hotel for dinner. We laughed the whole way! Dinner was amazing, may I suggest the house specialty the Flank Steak, like nothing I've ever tasted.

The hotel upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite on the top floor, the view was beautiful with our own private patio. Our room was spacious, clean, modern, and the air conditioner worked great. The beach is nice and shady with lots of palm trees to keep you cool, and lots of loungers to choose from. There were a few venders on the beach, I found them very nice, all had identification badges, and they are just trying to make a living. I bought a necklace made from the native Dominican stone. Our daughter had a thread woven into her hair and my husband got a "beaded tail" added onto his hat, which he wore proudly!

One of the highlights was watching the hundreds of kite surfers, so beautiful and exciting. Our daughter wanted to learn, but you need a least a week, next time we will stay longer.

There are many inviting restaurants on the beach next to the hotel to choose from. We ate dinner at Papi's on the beach. The Lobster ala Papi was the best we ever had, so much we could barely finish it. Breakfast at Voy Voy was delicious and I made a friend with a local pup wearing a collar embellished with sea shells, and had a nice conversation with one of the wind surfing instructors who recently quit his high pressure white collar job in South Africa to live in Cabarete!

We can't wait to come back! Maybe next summer if we are lucky. Thank you Hotel Villa Taina and ztagirl too! Haha :)

Room Tip: The Penthouse is beautiful if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My BF and I had a wonderful three day stay at Hotel Villa Taina in May. The staff are friendly and many of them speak several languages. The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean. We had stayed at two other hotels during our trip to DR and the water pressure in the shower at Villa Taina was definitely the best. The other places it was really weak. The hotel is located centrally on the beach in Cabarete within a short walk to all the area bars, restaurants and shopping. They also have their own restaurant and bar on site. We had a nice lunch on the day we arrived and the bartenders were very friendly through out our stay. They have decent happy hour specials. The pool is nice and there is a spa onsite but we didn't have any treatments. We also didn't kite board this time, but conveniently there is an outfitter collocated onsite at the hotel. The only minor con is that the breakfast buffet is a little boring. I do think I may have been sick of breakfast buffets by the time I arrived at Villa Taina. Overall, we had a great time and we hope to be back for a visit soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smpowell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed 6 nights at Villa Taina. It is situated on the beach on the west edge of the town so you can walk down the beach to all of the restaurants and bars. They have an on site surf school, owned by Franz, a German ex pat. His teachers are all Dominicans. The bar/beach has a nice vibe as the locals hang w the tourist and there is great interaction. The bar food was wonderful, great seafood. Rooms were clean and kept up. Not a luxury hotel, but well kept and very secure. Many security personnel on site and lots of cameras. Only problem for me, as single guy, very strict with guest policies.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had an overnight mini vacation on April 26-29, 2013. The hotel is truly charming with an excellent location right on the beautiful Cabarete beach with shops and Restaurants The hotel room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff on premise gave us a warm welcome on arrival and were very courteous. Hotel services were excellent. This hotel is one special getaway not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hotel Villa Taina is located right in the heart of the bustling beach front area of Cabarete. Many of the staff members are multilingual, which makes communication very easy. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and fairly comfortable. The on site restaurant, Serenade, is very nice-we had several tasty meals there. They serve breakfast (buffet style, with an Omelette station), lunch and dinner. The bar area is lively, and you can generally find people from all over the world to chat with. There are couches and chairs dotted about, in sun and shade, so you can enjoy watching the Kite surfing in comfort. There are also beach loungers (free) for hotel guests. Located in a courtyard just off the restaurant/bar area, the small pool, complete with water feature, is the perfect spot to relax with a beverage. There are loungers placed strategically, for those in need of siesta....

Everything one might need is located within walking distance: groceries, liquor, souvenirs, taxis, tours,great restaurants, live music, active nightlife and more. Cabarete is vibrant little town, with a great atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit (this is our second!) and love the area. We will definitely return, and will certainly stay at Villa Taina again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,684 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing