We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel was very clean, close access to the beach and a very friendly staff including the restaurant staff. The only complaint is that you get accosted on the beach non-stop while trying to relax. You can hardly go five minutes without being bugged to buy something.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njhassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

villa Taina is a very clean, well organized with friendly and helpful staff. The location is great because is right on the beach and a little bit out (at walking distance) of the busy and noisy center of Cabarete. The Restaurant has a nice style and the food is good at a reasonable price.
The water sports center located in front of the Hotel is very well organized.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent 14 days and nights in Villa Taina. We really enjoyed it! The rooms have enough space, air conditioning, balcony and safe. Breakfast is simple, but good with fresh fruits, a little choice of cheese, ham, bred and cake. And you can choose between boiled egg, sunny side up, omelette and pancake - everything fresh served at the beach restaurant. The little pool was for our 5 years old son the place to start and to finish the day. The hotel is well located next to the beach, restaurants and bars. The service was very good. The kite and surf center next to the hotel is perfect located and the service there is perfect!
We will come again as soon as possible...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Villa Taina is a nice hotel in the center of Cabarete. There are a lot of nice restaurants next to the hotel.
The beach is clean, but it´s impossible to stay alone for a few minutes, because there are a lot of people, who sell their stuff on the beach.
The hotel is really clean (they clean every day the rooms) and we got new towels every day, although we didn´t put them on the floor :)
The breakfast was nice (fresh fruits, yoghurt, porridge and more) and you have the beautiful beach in front of you. The other dishes of the restaurant are also good.
It´s a real pity, that the air condition and the minibar in the room was really loud, so i couldn´t sleep really well. :(

Room Tip: I think the rooms with ocean view are newer and got renovated in the last years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_i_t_n_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent one night in this hotel as I was travelling around the island with a friend.
The price was 150 USD per day, which I found expensive for the country.
I would expect 100 USD for this kind of hotel and room.

The room was in front of the beach, with air conditioning, small terrace and safe.
It was nice, not small but not big. The bed was very good.
The hotel is well located close to the beach, bars and restaurants.
The service was ok. Staff was ok but not so smiling as in other hotels of the country.
The breakfast was fine, at the beach restaurant.
I would keep this hotel as a back up due to the high price.
But next time I will look for a cheaper one.

Room Tip: the rooms in front of the beach are nicer and bigger but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

In general the hotel is not very bad, but the price is to high for what you get. You can not have a central bill, this means that everything gets charged separate: the bar, the hotel and the spa. Very annoying! The one thing that's really awesome though, is the free rental of dvd's!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I came to Cabarete for a kitesurfing holiday as a single. Lets first talk about the hotel and location.

In my opinion the hotel location on the beach is roughly in the middle of all the restaurants in the area and therefore the best place to stay. The majority of the restaurants is to the right hand side of the hotels along the beach, but there are a handful of excellent restaurants to the left but not on the beach but on the main road, e.g the Mexican place Gorditos, the sushi place, the been cafe etc. The hotel has great staff in reception and the rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable.

The kitesurfing is good but be warned, you have to be a genuine intermediate. If you are learning or beginner forget cabarete and find somewhere else like Gokova Turkey, Boracay Philippine, el Gouna Egypt, or locally Poole harbour in Dorset.

The bay is protected by a reef, but we are facing the Atlantic Ocean! So it is not flat and it is deep water. I thought I was an intermediate, but I soon realised I was a noob at this location! However as they say, if it doesn't kill you, it makes you stronger! Which is very true, after 1 week, I feel that I can now kite anywhere in the world!

I used the LEK surfing centre for lessons and storage, the people are really nice and the instructor I had was a local chap and he was great with 6 years of experience. The location the school is in my opinion the best location in he bay as it is in the middle.

Room Tip: Get one facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
371 reviews
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 40 in Puerto Plata
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#1 of 40 in Puerto Plata
7,354 reviews
15.1 mi away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing