We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
sandy utah
Level Contributor
217 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The rooms were clean, and tidy. But there is no parking, only 4 slots for the whole hotel, and no where else to park within 2 blocks. The location was perfect on the beach. We had 5 rooms in our group and the quality varied for the same prices. I would go again but check which room to have

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    115
    37
    9
    12
See reviews for
81
136
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think that my rating is closer to 3.5/5 but the fact that the our room was too noisy causes me to round down.
The positives first:
1. it's reasonably priced by Cabarete standards
2. Close to center
3. Has good wi-fi
4. Has a free library of DVD's
5. Spacious rooms

The negatives:
1. The hotel is spread across 2 buildings. The lower priced rooms are located in a building that's away from the beach.
2. The building that's away from the beach has windows facing the back road where noisy people and vehicles tend to be at odd hours.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yk13_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I make yearly trips to DR for Carnaval & visits to friends/family with a few days where we try to escape out to Cabarete to relax. Over the past years we have tried out a variety of other accommodations on the beach/area with Villa Taina being our favorite. Location is perfect for some quiet but also close enough to the action that a quick walk down the beach has you in the middle of things. The staff was always super helpful and more then accommodating when our room was delayed in being ready. Out of all the places we have stayed, our room 209 in the front ocean view building was really nice with modern amenities and look. (my only negative was for me, the bed was a little hard - but hey i'll take it over a positive experience with everything else!) The other guests were a nice mix of couples & families -Americans and also from all over Europe. My husband really enjoyed his sports massage in the spa while i took full advantage of the sunny beach and shady of the palms. The price was definitely right for room and if anything a steal! We will be visiting again very soon and hopefully bringing friends with us. :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for an ocean view room in the front building! We were on the second floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

GREAT BANG FOR YOUR BUCK at Villa Taina. Staff is REALLY great - the restaurant food yummy and the beach fantastic! Rooms are kinda sparse, but we were rarely in it so no biggy. They have a really nice upper floor suite though that I would have booked if it were available. Perfectly placed on the end of the beach, so kind of quieter and relaxing. Fun to watch kite surfers doing their thing. Eat on the main street too - some awesome french and believe it or not, really good wood fired pizza joints (and that's from a Chicagoan Pizza fan). Eat breakfast at "Dicks" or at the French place "Friends" - just an awesome place to chill. Cabarete!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor level so you can have a balcony with a view of the ocean. Make sure you are in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmckenna9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

As is the case with all the beach front hotels in cabarete, Villa Taina is situated right on the main north coast road. There are only 3 parking spaces outside so if you're driving you have to take your chances with the on street parking.This necessitated a prolonged manouvere into a small space guided by a passing local- more reserved parking offsite nearby would be a plus point for the hotel.

We were shown to our room which is in a separate block to reception, facing the beach with glimpsed sea view through the palm trees. The room was small , with not much storage for bags but well appointed and clean . It had a balcony overlooking the small pool. It's popular with watersports enthusiasts and has a relaxed bar and restaurant right on the beach. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and was ok though nothing to get too excited over. The hotel is at the quieter west end of the beach but about 5 minutes walk from most of the bars and restaurants .The receptionist was friendly and spoke passable English and helped us book bus tickets to Haiti. I was surprised however when she charged us for the call she made to the bus company in Santiago. In summary, it's clean and laid back and on the beach. Drawbacks are smallish rooms for the price and limited parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Villa Taina for Christmas vacation 2013. The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of chairs put out daily for hotel guest use. We went in the ocean every day. The water is warm and the waves are fun. We could sit for hours and watch the hundred or so kite surfers directly in front of the hotel. The beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles. There are several restaurants and bars walking distance. We ate mostly at the hotel because the food was better than any of the restaurants we tried. We only went to other restaurants to watch football or to Gorditos for lunch (like Chipotle). You have to try the Mongolian night at Villa Taina. I think it is on Wednesday. It is all you can eat. You pick your meat, vegetables, sauce and the chef cooks it right there for you. Our kids loved it. The dessert was great. We tried every one. The staff was friendly and attentive. I also went to the spa three times. A facial, massage and manicure is only $90 US dollars. I wanted to take the mass home with me. She was so wonderful. We would go back for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cloud, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our trip started out rocky when we realized our Comfort Room (Room 41) was located on the street side of the Reception Building. Cabarete is very loud at night....lots of scooters, horns honking, and loud music till late at night. My husband is a very light sleeper so after the first night we knew the room was not going to work and even considered staying at another hotel when we were still awake at 4 a.m. We talked to the front desk and the reservation manager offered to move us to an apartment (Room 45) also in the Reception Building but further away from the street. It was wonderful!!!!! We really liked the cook top and larger refrigerator. This allowed us to buy groceries at the supermarket and have lunches on our patio.....a real treat!

We will definitely stay there again...great location to bars and restaurants...great beach too. Next time I would request a room in the Beach Building. The Banana Mama is a great drink at the bar. We didn't eat at the restaurant, so I can't rate it.

Room Tip: Room 41 is very loud at night....right on the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corpy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,833 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing