We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location in Cabarete”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Location in Cabarete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

This hotel was perfect for our laid back family vacation ... we stayed 2 nights here and 2 at an all inclusive and prefered this place over the other. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom and small balcony. The hotel loby and all facilities were nicely decorated and clean. The pool was small, but who cares when you have such a great beach on the back of the property. The breakfast was nice- right off the beach-- made to order omlettes, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee, fresh juices, yogurt, breads for toast, deli meats and cheeses ... we enjoyed our beachside breakfast each morning, and seeing how its included in the price it really makes the place a bargin! We payed about $70 per night ...the beachside bar wasnt included, but they did have buy one get one free drinks during happy hour from 5-7 each day .... even though we had all meals and drinks included at our all inclusive later in the week, this place is located right next to about 20 or more great little restaruant/bar/cafes on the beach and we spent no more than $10-$20 a day on our food and drinks (excluding breakfast) ...the beach chairs were also free to use and as a hotel guest you get a free 1 hour windsurfing lesson if you choose to do it. The also send you off with a very nicely packaged Dominican Cocoa gift- a great little somthing to take back to a friend!

The atmosphere of Cabarete is so relaxing, fun and laid back ...we would love to go back to this hotel and this little surf town with friends in the near future! The hotel is definitely a good find!

  • Liked — Location, beachside breakfast buffet and beachside bar ... best spot on the beach!
  • Disliked — windsurf center guy was a jerk ... all of the dominican staff was great though
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmusalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    115
    37
    9
    12
See reviews for
81
136
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

We checked the hotel out of curiosity while driving thru Cabarete.
The Staff was very helpful and showed us the rooms and we decided to stay for one night. The rooms were very clean and everything looked new. The bathroom was one of the nicest we ever saw during our trip. The hotel restaurant is located at the beach and we had a wonderful breakfast the next morning.
We will come back to this place

  • Liked — Shower and the breakfast at the beach
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DANYSTYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

Stayed at Villa Taina for about 4 days in April 2007. You couldn't ask for a better location on the beach in Cabarete. It is in the mix of shops on the street side and restaurants on the beach side. Location is the crowning jewel of this hotel. Unfortunately, everything else is just average. The staff is pretty indifferent. The breakfast is forgettable and the beds are just a thin mattress atop a slight frame. The cleaning staff are ghostlike. But, a trip to the D.R. for me is not so much about accommodations as it is about the country. I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lstaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2007

We stayed four nights in the hotel in February booking directly by phone from Santo Domingo two days before. The rate was about £55 a night with breakfast - good value.

Our stay was enjoyable, the staff were pleasant without exception, the beach was excellent with plenty of good quality sunbeds and shade, free internet, very clean, there were activities but no pressure, pleasant small pool. Breakfast was good, although a little cramped at times. Guests seemed to be mainly German and Scandinavian on package tour while we were there. There is no car park, but there was no problem parking on the street. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the pool with a partial view of the sea. The room was quiet and spacious with good room service.

Excellent position in the centre of the bay with many bars and restaurants within walking distance, accessable both from the beach and the main road.

The only adverse comments are some design issues with the room - storage space was poor, despite the room being a good size, the plastic shower tray must have been the cheapest ever, two decent sized double beds but only one small bedside light (Aghh!!), no soap or shampoo.

Both the bar and the restaurant were cash only.

None of this spoilt our stay, and I would recommend this hotel for the independent traveller.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2007

Villa Taina Hotel can be summarized simply: good (not great but certainly not bad) quality rooms, good food (though no room service, which would be so easy to do given cheap labor costs), and good service, but the pricing is set for "great" vs. good in all of these categories. Also, the breakfast buffet has gotten stingier, with small things like raisons and cinnamon for the oatmeal now gone vs. prior years.

The manager Franz is a good mannered host, and he seems to hire well. However, much of the staff has gone from very friendly years ago to robotic (at best). The guy making omlettes every morning seemed angry, never smiling and somewhat resentful that we had come to him for something to eat. The waiters were somewhat better, though at times the "standing around doing nothing" routine (vs. checking on tables) got old.

The rooms were so/so to good (for DR standards; bad if you are used to international hotels with non-plastic, flimsy toilet seats and cheap fixtures like at the Taina). It really depends on your standards. However, will tell you for sure that the price/room is way above what the average quality/room delivers. Taina has raised prices (in US$ and Euros) mightily over the past five years, where now a $40-50 room from a few years ago goes for $80-90/night. I must note that this is not due to the devaluation of the peso here, as the hotel prices everything in dollars but probably pays the staff in pesos (making a case for their prices being even more excessive given the devaluation of the peso).

For business travelers, one saving grace is the Internet connection. Broadband speeds and on 24/7, including in the room price. This alone made the hotel worth our staying as we were working on/off during our stay. However, the Agualina Kite Resort reportedly has similar pricing, great Internet and amazing new rooms. I'll be staying there the next time just so I get quality facilities for the money. When Franz decides to spend some of his massive profits refurbishing the rooms, especially the "penthouse" rooms (all three should be combined into two penthouses as they are too small for the money), I'll be back.

TFO

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LilJeeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2007

I stayed here about 2 years ago.. we had two days of solid rain, so much that our room was completely flooded. The staff were great - they moved us to another room and by the next morning, our original room was completely dried and clean!
The location is ideal - close to the beach and other restaurants. Get a massage! They're good and inexpensive.
If you don't care much about extra amenities but want a clean, decent room close to the beach, then this is a fantastic value.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — Pool was dirty, initially unresponsive to our room flooding
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

I stayed 4 nights at Villa Taina in April 2006. The hotel is in an excellent location, one of the best in Cabarete, far from the noise but at the same time close enough from all restaurants and shops. The breakfast was served by the beach in a great location beachfront with plenty of fruits and juice. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a small nice pool near the bar and the beach.
However, I didn't like the rooms. We tryed 2 rooms and they smell bad, I think beacuse they stay closed too much. Also, the bed was a little small and not that confortable and the air conditioning thermostat had the room too hot and then too cold. Overall it was a good experience and I recommend it for the location and good service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Febrazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,831 reviews
24.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#14 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Property: Hotel Villa Taina
Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing