We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This place was a lucky find, and great value for money! Friendly staff, and spacious, clean rooms (as well as Kitchen facilities). We were two couples that shared one condo. Two, large rooms each with en suite. Wifi, TV and A/C. Right on the beach, and between some great places to eat. Pretty much in the centre of Cabarete, so hard to miss and easy to travel from. Really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Several friends and I stayed in one of the Palm Beach Condos in March 2013. We stayed in a 2-bedroom/2-bath condo. What a wonderful experience! I highly recommend this hotel!

The condo was clean, with good-sized rooms and a kitchenette. The decor was fun and modern. The kitchenette is well-stocked with pots/pans, utensils, pyrex, etc. There is daily housekeeping service, and they keep the unit spotless.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The front desk staff--particularly Nelly & Milagros--were very attentive and responsive to several questions I had before we arrived. The maintenance staff works hard to keep the place in good shape - for example, constantly wiping down chairs/tables (after rain), keeping the grounds nice, etc. In addition, the manager's daughter in law made us a traditional Dominican meal one night for us in our condo. Food was delicious!

Best of all, we were only steps from the beach. Each morning, we sat on our front patio and enjoyed a nice cup of coffee while overlooking the sandy beach and blue water. (Ahh, wish I was still back there :)

The location of the condos are great. They are steps from the beach as well as walking distance to several restaurants. With only a short walk, you can go to the local grocery store, Janet's.

The condo complex is relatively small (for example, when compared to resorts) but yet there is a delightful, clean, well-maintained pool in the middle of the complex. (Note: There is no room service, no on-site gym, and no on-site restaurant but it doesn't matter, because everything you need is only a short walking distance away.)

The other guests at the hotel were also quite friendly. Several were repeat guests who had been to the hotel many times before. One couple had been coming every other year for about 10 years!

The only odd part of the hotel was the payment. We couldn't pay with a credit card. To give our deposit, we had to either wire transfer the money or send a check to a bank in NYC. We chose to send a check to the NYC bank, and it worked fine. We paid the remainder of the money with cash in person.

We had such a wonderful time at this hotel. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanNessVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have flown back and forth to the D.R. 42 times in 14 years, but the trips were for work and I never stayed more than a night in Cabarete while en route. This time, though, it was a vacation. So I wanted specific things and Palm Beach Condos had them all.

First of all, the staff are great. When making the reservation, we wrote back and forth many times, and their replies were always rapid and clear. They were just as nice in person, ready to help at any moment. Special thanks to Milagros and Griselda for helping me make this happen!

Our apartment was a few steps from the beach and had a spacious balcony from which we had a 180 degree view of the ocean. Inside, it was beautifully decorated, and we could sleep with window slats open, listening to the waves. The windows were all well-screened, keeping mosquitoes out. Lovely upgraded kitchen & bathrooms; comfy beds and sofas.

The gardens and pool were beautiful. It was lovely to just sit and listen to the variety of birds. The beach was clean, with soft sand, and it was fun to float in the waves or just sit and watch the incredible skill of kite-sailers and windsurfers.

I love the strip of restaurants and other small condo-hotels along the Cabarete beach, offering so much variety for meals and entertainment throughout the day.

What would I change, if I could? Well, since we were there in low season, there were few people on the beach, so the beach vendors were constantly coming by, trying to make a sale. They are all very polite, but if you want to be left alone to read or just 'be', you'd have to go to the pool or your room. Of course, that is no fault of the hotel. And I understand that it is a public beach and the vendors need to make a living.

Room Tip: There is a diagram on the Palm Beach Condos website that shows the room numbers. Very helpful!! I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in a 2 BR appartement for 2 weeks and it was perfect. As everyone says the location is perfect in the center of Cabarete, close to everything. The condo's are well equiped, spacious and clean and were cleaned everyday, including dishwash. The staff and all other employees are very nice people helping with everything you need or need to know. We felt very safe and welcome. The hotel next door (Tropical Club) was closed (bankruptcy I think) so no noise from that side. We used the concho's and the guagua's for traveling to Sosua and Puerto Plata. Very low price (50 pesos each to Puerto Plata in a guagua, one way) and a great experience! The Chinese has great dishes and very cheap. But all restaurants on the beach are good and very reasonable priced too (for Dutch people). Best food we had at Emerald Beach Club and best happy hours with very nice people at Kahuna. For tours or car rental go to Funtours on the main road (across Scotia Bank). We can recommend Palm Beach Condos to everyone!

Room Tip: We have seen appartement 201 and 104 and they are both very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fee050Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed in a beach front room. I probably would not advise the garden view suites as they are in a building across the street from the main complex. We were in a 2 bedroom unit. All the unit owners were required to remodel recently. This place was clean, well run, near everything. When we come back to Cabarete, there is nowhere else I would stay. There is zero road noise which is an important consideration in Cabarete. Beautiful beach, lounge chairs for guests, nice pool. Awesome.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms only!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Condo Pros:
The condos are in the center of the beach with excellent access to restaurants, a 10 minute walk to the grocery store (Janet's) & a small market directly across the street. Evening ecurity is attentive and the rooms are clean and spacious. Restaurants to the west are few and have no open air restaurants (tables on the beach) and it is area for kite & wind surfing so the beach is a maze of equipment. Condos to the east have very little beach and do not seem well maintained. Our condo (#104) had a great view and a nice patio. Twice we called the office because we needed our water replaced and both times, the water was replaced within minutes.

Condo Cons:
Management was not proactive at all. When arriving, it would have been nice to know the names of the staff and protocol for new beach towels, using the chairs on the beach (as some of them cost money and some do not), etc. Not once during our stay did management leave the office to cross the ally to the condos to check in to see how we were fairing. Our group stayed in all three of the front condos and each was stocked differently. We did not have a microwave, while the others did. One condo had a toaster, one did not, and we had a toaster - but it was broken. Day security allowed vendors to come onto the property and approach us while we swam in the pool. The last two days of our stay overlapped with Holy Week, which is a giant party for DR citizens. We were warned several times that our last night would include loud music and crowds. Knowing that we were spending 7 nights, this was not an issue and we looked forward to experiencing it. What they did NOT tell us, is that nobody is allowed to swim in the ocean! No swimming is allowed due to hazards of the party atmosphere (AKA - drunks). No swimming allowed is definitely something 3 families with kids should have been told.

Our family has vacationed in Negril, Jamaica for the last 9 years and this year we decided it was time to try another location. We loved that DR has the same laid back feel with small restaurants right on the beach, no large all inclusive compounds, and no cruise ship docking. If we were to return to Cabarete, we would stay at Palm Beach again - as most of the cons were due to it being our first trip to the DR and our first stay at Palm Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tereas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We are used to 5 star, all-inclusive resorts but because of pricing and proximity to family we thought we would try Palm Beach Condos (PBC). We were on our own for either finding restaurants or cooking at the condo. My biggest fear was getting sick as some friends of mine were in Cabarete three months prior and got VERY sick. My fears were put to rest when I saw that PBC supplies large jugs of clean water. Just remember to use the bottled water to brush your teeth and not run your tooth brush under the tap.

My wife and I, our 17 year old daughter and her friend were in unit 204, a second floor 2 bedroom with the best view in all of PBC. Were high enough to have privacy from any passers by and closer to the ocean than any of the other units. The terrace is a great place for sitting and watching people or listening to the waves pounding the shore line. I will never get bored with that sound. The bed is a double and a lot smaller than my King sized bed at home but I slept better at PBC than I have in years anywhere else (including at home).

Double French doors open up to the terrace and the breeze was wonderful. We had 2 sunny days out of 8 which is not the norm but it meant that we could be out and about more without the oppressive heat of the sun. We still got tanned. The pool is very clean and cool and a nice change from the waves of the ocean, which can knock you flat if you don't know what you're doing.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to help, responding quickly to calls for small repairs or questions.

The unit was cleaned every day, they even do your dishes. I would leave a tip (100 DR pesos, $2.50 Canadian) for the maid each day. Not sure if that's the norm or not.

One thing that PBC can't change is if you don't like Dominicans trying to sell you stuff on the beach, stay away from anything but an all-inclusive. The sellers are very nice and polite but too persistent. It gets to be annoying to say "no" to the same people 30 or 40 times.

Another thing is the main street. I was surprised that I heard none of the cacophony of noise from the street while at our condo. When you are on the main street there is the usual craziness of a country with little or no road rules. Scooters laden with 3 adults and a baby perched on the headlight. People in cars beeping there horns every 2 seconds. Dump truck drivers beeping at my daughter and her friend. People trying to sell you everything from Viagra to hair braids, to fruit and cigars. I was worried about violence at first but soon learned of the gentle and friendly nature of the Dominicans.

Also, if you have an aversion to prostitutes, stay away. It was sad to watch men of 60 and 70 years old with women in their late teens, early 20's. The looks on their faces showed how much they enjoy their profession. The town of Sosua is far worse in this regard.

The restaurants start immediately next door and we really liked the "Front Loop" restaurant. 2 eggs, bacon, home fries and toast is about $5 Canadian. The owners are Swiss and very nice. For noise reasons they close at 10:00 every night. The bars start about a 1 minute walk down the beach and there are a bunch of them. They are all restaurants as well. My wife and I are foodies. We like gourmet food. Don't get me wrong, we eat Kraft Dinner and some basic (crappy) food as well. My favorite sin food is a COSTCO hot dog. So, having said that I must say that the restaurants we ate at in Cabarete served some of the best meals we have ever eaten.

The best restaurants are;
La Casita Di Papi, on the beach 2 minutes from PBC along the beach. One of the best salads I've ever had. Great steak, fantastic shrimp. The tomato sauce for the pasta is like a rose sauce. It's good, but be warned.

Bliss, an Italian restaurant is unique in that you sit at tables surrounding a swimming pool. Excellent home made pasta dishes and steak.

Kahuna. Owned by a Quebecer so the Poutine is some of the best I've eaten. The cheese curds are imported from Quebec. The salad I had was pretty boring though. Happy hour offers 5 beers for $10, among other items such as 2 for 1 Mojitos, etc.

Janet's grocery store is a nice walk up the beach and you can get everything you need to feed yourselves there.

Would I go back? Yes.

Room Tip: Room 204, second level on the west side is best. Quiet, elevated and closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NonameDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Laguna Beach
Grand Laguna Beach
#6 of 51 in Cabarete
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarete Palm Beach Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Palm Beach Condos

Address: Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: £72 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabarete Palm Beach Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOR RENT SHORT TERM AND LONG TERM: Cabarete Palm Beach Condos and Studios offers beachfront 2-bedroom condos, penthouses, and large studios, each with an ocean view. Nestled in a quiet location in the center of Cabarete, Dominican Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabarete Palm Beach Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Condos Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing