We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Cabarete - perfect for families with young children!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Fredericton NB
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Cabarete - perfect for families with young children!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is hand down my favorite place to stay in Cabarete. Forget the large and impersonal condos and book here. Nanny Estates is tucked away from the main road just before the busy part of the town. Once you enter, you are struck with how calm the location is. You can hear the ocean from the parking lot - it's that close to the beach!

Since each condo is privately owned, each has its own decor - so be sure to take that into account when you rent. There is no "bad" condo here. Each has a great view of the water, thanks to the roof top decks each house has. The courtyard and pool are kept in immaculate order, the condo itself is kept very clean with daily cleaning. The layout of the condo is good, with bedrooms on the second floor with each room having its own air conditioning - a must! One drawback was there was no bathtub, only a shower, but a very minor inconvenience. Each condo also has a little front courtard overlooking the main courtyard with patio furniture.

Each condo has a well equipped kitchen with a BBQ, so cooking meals is easy. However, the Cabarete Coffee Company is steps away from the complex and I guarantee you will not have a better cup of coffee in your life. There is a very well equipped grocery store (Janet's) on the other end of the beach strip - an easy walk but you can easily grab a cab back. If going out it what you want do to for meals, the main beach strip with restauraunts and pubs is a short 15 minute walk down the beach. Some retaurants also deliver to you here.

The beach in front of the complex is amazing, though watch out for the kiteboarders if the afternoon wind is ideal for kiteboarding. There has been a lot of erosion on the other end of the beach, but the sand in front of Nanny Estates is wide and perfect.

The staff at this place are simply amazing - they are warm, friendly and very helpful- very typical of these locals. Anything you want, they will bend backwards to make happen.

I travelled here with my two kids (a toddler and an infant) and this place was ideal for a family: the courtyard offered green spaces for the kids to run around in safely and had lots of shade. The pool also had some good shade. Cribs are available, all you need to do is ask. The condo was roomy and had lots of space for my toddler to run around in, however the steps to the upper floors could be a bit hazardous for younger kids. There was also no danger of kids wandering out of sight - everything is so wide and open, and there is only one guarded access to the beach from Nanny Estates.

This is a great bang-for-buck vacation rental. I felt safe at all times, all of the spaces were very clean and well maintained, and the staff was amazing. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our group, 5 adults+1 child rented a big villa in the middle of this development for 1 week ending on July 4. It was huge - a former restaurant. A swimming pool right in front, 50 steps to the beach. Daily cleaning included in the price. Excellent value.
Super-clean throughout, good AC in bedrooms, plenty of room for your kiteboarding/windsurfing/beach gear. I'm not sure if the beach if enticing enough if you're not into wind sports (probably the other side of the island would be better then) but if you want to try kiting or windsurfing, this is an excellent, and relatively inexpensive place to learn.
We also had local stuff come and cook for us, and we loved the dinner.
The only complaints was a barely functional grill, and the kitchen that got extremely hot when we cooked - but these were tiny details compared to the whole fantastic experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

We spent a week end in the Cabarate area. First time after having visited all main beach locations in the DR over the past 18 months. We traveled as a family along with another family. Cabarete has a different feel than other beach locations in the DR and although there are nicer beaches in other parts of the country we did enjoy the area. Lots of eating options on the beach. Seems a number of new condo and other developments underway. Lots of tourists but not crowded. We stayed at Nanny Estates upon the recommendation of a friend. We were pleasantly surprised. For under $100 a night we got a decent size condo with all the amenities, including roof top terrasse. The place is right on the beach, has a nice size pool and nice grounds. Not luxurious but nice and tastefully decorated. Nothing to complain about. Best to come prepared to prepare meals or go into town, a mere 5 minutes away by car. Overall we found the place to be the better value for money hotel / condo place in the DR to date. A must see is the monkey jungle which is outside of town on the way to Sosua. Would we go back to the Nanny Estates. Yes for sure.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were met at the airport by the cab with a sign from Cabarete Beach Houses with our name on it. This made getting there so easy. This was our 1st trip to the Dominican Republic, on the drive to the condo, the cab driver stopped at the grocery store so we could get the things we would need. The location is AMAZING, my wife and i walked into town via the beach (5 minutes) for lunch and dinner almost every day. The staff was amazing, friendly and very helpful. Maria the manager, made sure we had everything we wanted or needed to make our trip special. The have an open area to set up you kite / windsurf gear. If you are a kiter and need to land you kite, the staff will give you a hand. We always felt as if the staff enjoyed having us there as much as we loved being there. Cabarete Beach Houses has become our vacation spot, we will be there at least once a year. It was very hard to leave, my wife and i had to fight back tears on our last night. If you want to have the experience of a lifetime, then you must visit this place. We are counting down the days until we can return. This is a great place for couples or families.

Room Tip: We stayed in C1. The view is breath taking and the sound of the ocean is so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We live in Santo Domingo and have stayed at Nannie Estates many times. It is one of our first choice destinations for a long weekend or for a more extended holiday when friends and family come to visit. The Puerto Plata airport is conveniently located 20 minutes away. The condos are roomy and well appointed and most have ocean views. The grounds are well kept, the staff is exceptional and there is security 24/7. Condos are privately owned and a friendly sense of community prevails, but privacy is respected. There is no on-site bar with loud extended happy hours to interrupt your afternoon siesta. Most guests enjoy their own cocktail hour watching the sunset and kite boarders. The walk-on beach is clean with very few vendors. The water is cleaner than at the town beach, which is a 10-minute walk down the beach where many good restaurants/discos and shops are located. It's safe to walk at night. The surf is good for body surfing but can be rough in the afternoon when the wind picks up and the kite boarders come out. Occasional rip tides all along the north shore should be respected. I rated sleep quality "very good" instead of excellent only because Friday and Saturday nights the loud music from town can be irritating if the wind is blowing in the right direction. You can always close the windows and turn on the A/C. We highly recommend Nanny Estates and will continue to return there ourselves.

Room Tip: Units closer to the water have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We arrived late at Cabarete Beach House and were immediately met by a security guard who was aware of our arrival and immediately assisted us with our luggare and entry into our accomodations. We remained there for thirty (30) days and can not say enought about the welcome and sevice provided by Maria and her staff. Each request for assistance was met with a cheerful smile and action, wether it was for extra household items, taxis, information, or co-ordination of a tour or activity. The grounds / property and beach in front were very well maintained by Primo who definately took pride in his work, with 24 hr security both to/from the beach and highway. Our unit was very clean and remained so as Christina appeared to take an interest in our well being, and with whom my 2 yr. old grand daughter fell in love with. We were close to everything, yet far enough away to at time feel we had a private beach. 29 days of bliss and sunshine. We have previously stayed at two other locations in Cabarete in 2004 & 2008, and would definately stay here again. It is excellent for families of all ages.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Manon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Nanny Estates for the first time last spring to kitesurf with family. Beautiful grounds, well kept, quiet, friendly and diligent staff. We loved it and are going back several times in the future again. The beach is right on the property and is more quiet for swimmers, kids and recreation than other areas where there are lots of kite schools and the water is busy with kites. The location for kiting is tops, with several hundred meters of flat chop water and one of the best wavekiting spots in Cabarete is straight out past the flat stuff. The pool is nice for end of day post kiting relaxation. The units are 2 bedroom with one bathroom, and fit 4 people. There was a shower on the roof for evening rinsing with a view. This is half way between Cabarete and Kite Beach, so quite a convenient spot. Far enough from Cabarete for quiet nights if thats what you like, yet close enough for a short walk to the restaurants etc... I think it would be good also for groups of families or friends travelling together or reunions. They rent full on houses too by the way for larger groups. They all have kitchens. No bar on the premises but not far from bars and stores. Good place to meet friends.

Room Tip: I would look at the photos of each unit on theri web siet. Its pretty accurate. They are all pertt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAKALAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

Property: Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Address: Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean two story two bedroom townhouses are surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping on private oceanfront property overlooking Cabarete Bay . Our property offers a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarete Beach House At Nanny Estates Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing