We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We just came back from Cabarete where we rented a condo at Nanny Estate. This is a really good place where to stay with a family for the following reasons:

- Excellent and friendly staff, although it helps to speak Spanish.
- Safe area for little children.
- Quiet place at night.
- Lots of knowledgeable people living here for years.
- Charming area.
- Nice condos.

The condo was clean, the sofa was brand new, the kitchen well furnished, and all the electronics were working. Our bed was very comfortable and there was ample storage room. There is a safe for your valuable in the main room.
We missed a little more of "personal touch" in the decoration, but that did not alter our stay! One should also beware with the stairs, as children may easily fall. The room facing Cabarete (not the beach) was not dark enough at night, because of a light right outside the house. It's also a little noisy, because there's a Dominican bar not too far away. This did not affect our son's sleep by any mean :-)

Some kiteboarding comments:
- One can inflate its kite right in front of the house, on the lawn (awesome!). The staff knows how to rig, start and land kites (really awesome!).
- Cabarete kite school is about 5 min walking down the beach.
- The beach in front of the condo is mainly used by beginners and there can be (too) many kites in the air when the wind is good.
- The water is choppy this time of the year.
- The location is about 5-10 min away from Kitebeach...

Other comments:
- Major restaurants are "downtown". This means a 15 min walk by the beach or a 25-50 pesos moto ride, or a 30 pesos 'guagua' ride or finally a 200 pesos taxi ride. There's a good Japanese about half way between the condo and Cabarete center. There's a delicious restaurant about 2 min away by the beach.
- Supermercado Rosa is good compared to others and not far away (5 min walking along the main street). The Pharmacy is right next to it and it has a lot of goods.
- The walk at night along the beach seemed safe (although people tend not to recommend it). There are armed guards (yes armed with shotguns!) in front of the Ocean Dream resort and in front of the Tangerine (ie: 2/3 of the walk). Furthermore you will meet a lot of other tourists.
- The whole condo is very secure too. The staff runs after any unauthorized person, whether this person is a Dominican or a tourist. So beware if you bring any friends!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will probably come back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikotttin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-petersburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

Very nice condos. Very stylish and cosy. Just some steps from the beach. Good security. Very pleasant emploers. They speak ENGLISH! Good: every day expt sunday they cleaned the condo. Bad: in the 2-nd bedroom the aircondition worked only 1 day from 7. Every day they tried to fix it - but it was working after repair only a few hours. But when we was leaving the condo they promised to change the conditioner. For unconvinience they've made a discount.

  • Liked — stylish
  • Disliked — too loud conditioner, too far from the center - 1-2 km, little pool, no tea spot
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_ars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

Nanny continues to be the best place you can stay in Cabarete. I've spent ALOT of time in Cabarete and nothing beats Nanny in my mind. It is just gorgeous and the staff is incredible. We got married April 19 and almost everyone stayed at Nanny and had nothing but great things to say.

The 2 bedroom condos are designed perfectly, roof-top terrances, funky furniture and the gardens and pool are precious. Maria and her staff were wonderful in helping guests with airport transport, stocking the kitchen (beer too!) and just generally making everyone feel welcomed. Nanny is in the perfect spot- just a 10 minute walk from the center of town (along the beach) so you feel close to the action, but also with some quiet space too. And then 5 minute walk to kite beach too! In beach in front is beautiful and again, the pool is great too.

We and all 26+ guests we had would go back for sure. I don't think anything can beat it in Cabarete. Check it out!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

Our last stay at Cabarete Beach Houses was our fourth, and we will be returning many more times. We rented one of the condo units for a week, and each visit has been the most relaxing, beautiful, tropical holiday. Flying into the airport at Puerto Plata means that within a 30 minute taxi ride (for approx. $35US), we are being greeted by the friendly staff at Nanny's Estates. We're immediately shown to our condo, which, like all the others, has 2 bedrooms - one with a king bed and a balcony facing the ocean, a fully-equipped kitchen, a patio, and a roof deck. We love it there! There's even daily maid service! Every morning, we walk the gorgeous beach, take a swim, and wait for the wind to pick up so that we can watch the kite- and windsurfers color the sky. (We're not brave enough to try it yet!) It's an easy 10-15 minute walk on the beach into the small town of Cabarete, where you have many choices of restaurants with fresh sea food and more. I'd highly recommend staying at Cabarete Beach Houses, especially if you're not the loud partying type, but enjoy the peace and quiet of soaking in the sun and listening to the waves.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scardbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

My husband, daugher, and i stayed at Nanny Estates in February based on wonderful reviews hat we had read on Trip Advisor. Upon arriving, we were shown to our beautiful oceanside condo.We were robbed within the first five minutes of being there. A man crowbarred the bars on the kitchen window, climbed through the window and stole my husbands bag with computer and all of his cash while we were being shown the upstairs by the management.The thief was found down the beach shortly after..but we never retrieved our money. My husband spent the first few days of our vacation shuttling between the police station and court. We will never know if it was an inside job...it seemed very odd that the person who robbed us knew that we were upstairs at the time. The lax security made for a horrible vacation. beautiful setting, nice beach....but certainly not a feeling of safety.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank paulamHampton_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful time! Maria and her staff helped us before we arrived, arranging for a taxi to pick up up in the airport and stocking or kitchen with the essentials. The condo itself was clean, airy, and bright. There was a lot of space and tons of windows. The staff is vigilant about keeping all areas of the complex, inside and out, clean. Security was also ever present, to keep away the less desirable elements. The people were friendly and welcoming and the location was great: about a 15 minute walk to the more "commercial" section, which put a nice buffer of quiet between home and evening activities.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

Hail to Maria and her crew

We got married at the Nanny estates November 17, 2007. This was no easy task to take on from Canada, but Maria made it as easy as one could ask for.

She was excellent at making arrangements picking up all of our guests from the airport. The property boasted a newly renovated pool.
Our villas were immaculate and cleaned daily, minus Sunday (Dominicans don't work Sundays)

All our special requests were taken care of willingly. Maria went above and beyond her call of duty when attending our horrific family emergency. We thank her for being there for us and being flexible in allowing us to host our rehearsal dinner at a new location.

We also thank her for the little things, our wedding fell on a tropical storm and we saw a lot of rain. Maria, without asking, provided our entire party with Umbrella's. WoW!

Thank you, you have gained some new friends and most likely some return guests. Watch out for Aunt Lorna and Uncle Danielle, to mention just two.

We will attach some photos,

Besos,

Marvin and Jackie Goldbloom

  • Liked — The view, places were big for entertaining and they have fridges and air conditioning.
  • Disliked — For people who don't like to walk it is a bit far to most of the restaurants (10min on beach)
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marvstercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#8 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

Property: Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Address: Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean two story two bedroom townhouses are surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping on private oceanfront property overlooking Cabarete Bay . Our property offers a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and free parking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabarete Beach House At Nanny Estates Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing