We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for a friends going away party.

Food: very good. I strongly recommend the seafood medley or the other seafood dishes, best seafood in Cabarete IMO. The sauce they cook it with is worth eating with bread. They tell you the portions are small but I found the portions adequate. I am 225 lbs, very athletic, and I was hungry.

Pricing: on the pricier side for Cabarete but worth it for the food. technically they claim to accept credit cards but the machine was down for that night so unknown if true.

Service: abit slow but it was a 12 person group. Waitress was friendly but did not offer any special accommodation given the lack of a credit card machine. She did warn in advance though.

Ambiance: beach front atmosphere,mon the main 'town' drag at the beach. It's perfect for a seafood restaurant.

Overall: good value given food is good and prices are not over the top given the level it is at. I would recommend it for a date or a group dinner if people are picky.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dracop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    191
    60
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service extremely bad”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went to this restaurant on August 20, 2014 after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. service was extremely bad, waiter very rude. Even went on to argue with one of us, we were a group of 8, all orders were wrong and then he started a argument. We asked for the owner and were told that he does not get there till night. very disappointed. What a waste of money!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabarete
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The smell, the fish and the ohh soo good”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is the fish place in town, and it's almost always packed. Be sure to make a reservation on a busy night or you won't get a seat. The dish of choice it the 'a la papi', with your option of shrimp, lobster or baby lobster- in an amazing cream sauce served in a big paella dish.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CabareterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Try the langostinos a la Papi, so good. And my starter was great too, kind of mixed seafood salad. Probably the best place for seafood in Cabarete, it looks always full.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheLucky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cabarete”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love Dominican Republic thanks to such restaurant like "La Casita de Papi". Fresh see food done in every way you want! Big portion (like 3 langoustine per portion), nice service! I've been here first time with my friends (12 people) and it was noone who didnt finish the food, everything has just disappeared from the table! Im still here and Ive been trying food also other restaurants but Im always back to this one!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing