We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had known”
Review of Watermark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watermark
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First of all, if you are lucky enough to spend time at the Watermark, you are blessed. It is gorgeous with glass walls looking out onto spectacular scenery and a frenzy of kite boarding. All you have to do is melt into the good looking lounges on the wide, deep verandas and settle into total bliss. The staff is lovely and very helpful (more later). Some tweeks to make you experience better. They do have hair dryers but the 220 wattage does not fit the 110 outlets, so bring adapters or your own American voltage hair dryer. Bring shower thongs as the lovely marble floors are slippery when wet. We only managed to get one faint, spanish TV channel. Bring rubber door stoppers as the beautiful breezes traveling though the apartment will slam shut any door left open. We jammed magazines under the doors, but not a very elegant solution. Watch out if you are tall and leave interior windows open; ugly sharp corners will leave a nasty gash on your precious skull. Bring a little clothes line you could string across your balconey so that you can dry of your bathing suit and wet clothes. Their is a nice outdoor show and hose for rinsing sand off. There is no restaurant on site but we give VERY HIGH MARKS to Vacabar and Kite Club Cafe which are steps away on the right and left. Also bring a hoodie and spend sometime at night sitting up on the roof stargazing; either from the hot tub (lukewarm) or the chaises up there. WIFI was only intermittent and very slow, so you should bring your own WIFI or ethernet cable. The inside of these apartments are HUGE, baths are huge. Our joy was to sleep with the balconey doors wide open to let the sounds of the ocean rock us to sleep each night. Balconeys are huge and adjoining, so respect your neighbors privacy and noise tolerance in the early morning or late night. There are guards around the property at night, so it seemed quite safe.
Water was tepid the whole time and there are outages, but that is life in the DR, so deal with it. Now to the staff ...Patricia at the front desk was (filling in for Andie) and was on-the-spot accomodating and intrepid when I stupidly left my passport in a cab and did not realize it for a day and a half. Patricia tracked down Tony Tavarez (cab driver) who brought back my passport and an envelope full of cash in the same folder just as soon as he was able. On Sunday I awoke to find our JetBlue flights had been cancelled; Patricia stayed on the phone for 40 minutes to put me thru on a land line to JB and get us rebooked that day out of Santiago. She roused Tony Taverez on very short notice to drive us the 1.5 hours over the mountains to Santiago to make an early afternoon flight (otherwise we could not be rebooked for five days by JB). Tony drove like crazy over the mountains on a rainy morning to get us there on time and we are SO GRATEFUL!! I will post photos when I get sorted out, just wanted to be sure to thank Patrizcia and Tony for gallantry above and beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: all apartments are the same. Higher floors have better views. Lower flowers are better for children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We originally booked a hotel room a block down the street (Kite Beach Hotel), but for reasons you can read in my review of that hotel I walked out of that place ... fortunately with a plan "B", because I remembered reading about the Watermark hotel on Tripadvisor when we passed it earlier, so I drove over and thought it's worth trying to get a room as walk-in - best choice ever! It's entrance hall is very modern with lots of glass and doesn't feel like a hotel reception - more like a real estate agency, so I first was skeptical if we could afford a night at this place ... but sure enough the night was only 20$ more than what we would have paid for the room at the other place and here we had an entire condominium for us!!! Elevator, kitchen with all you need, dining area, comfy couch/TV area, Wifi, 2 bedrooms (one double bed, two singles), each bedroom with its own bathroom, decor was modern and stylish, nice balcony with comfy furniture - view out to the ocean and pool area. The roof deck has 2 jacuzzis and a wonderful 360 degree view of the ocean one way and jungle the other way. The staff was very nice ... a pitty we could stay only one night!

Room Tip: We like privacy, so I was happy that we didn't have one of the two top-floor condos, because peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danibaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Cabarate is all about kitsurfing and there is no better place to watch the blue sky filled with amazing colors than the watermark.
On top of the amazing location and fantastic views , it is modern, clean and efficient. The staff are wonderful- highly recomend the Watermark

Room Tip: take the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulORH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Watermark was the perfect spot from the sunsets to the view of the Kite boarders on Kite beach. The roof top view was even better. Every condo had a spectacular view of the beach. The condos decor was modern and clean. Wifi was easy to obtain. The town was a little bit of a walk but worth it. The hot water did turn off rather abruptly when you touched the wrong button. We have stayed in numerous spots in Cabarete and the staff and owner were helpful and friendly. Of course we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice condos right of the main road (Hwy 5). It is pretty private (no more than 8 families) and right on the beach. The room decore was moder and pretty clean; however, the hot water is easy to turn off (don ttouch the red button), an occasional tropical visitor (spider, grass hopper, etc.) showed up, and the Jacuzzi on the roof must be pre-heated 20mn prior to jumping in. They also need steps to the beach from the pool, I presume the steps (used to be there), but they disappeared due to water erosion. I would caution those looking for a resort this is not it (no restaurant, room service, or fitness centers) ! It is all self service...but Jessica and Ana the hotel managers are extremely helpful and the cleaning staff will wash and fold your clothers for a minimal fee.

Room Tip: Choose floor 3 or higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Came here for a girls trip and loved it! The condo was immaculate and very spacious. The decor was modern and clean. Every suite has a spectacular view as it faces the beautiful turquoise water and is right on the beach. The pool was very nice as were the lounging chairs. I liked the fact that it is not right in down town Cabarete as it made for peaceful evenings just listening to the surf. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed 7 nights in March and it was great!! There were only 2 other condos filled at the time we were there so we basically had the place all to ourselves. The top patio was a great place to grill and hot tub after our long touristy days. Our penthouse was awesome and the ladies cleaned our place daily. They were very nice as we tipped them a few $ at the beginning of the week and they were great! The Watermark is in great shape and we had no complaints with anything. The hottubs on top were a little cool at the beginning of the week, but they fixed that immediately when we asked.
Be sure to go next door to the Vacabar to visit Cami and Jents!! Food is great!! Tell them the "Buen-moso" sent you!!
After your first few rides on the moto-conchos into town, you'll be fine.
Will definitely be back sooon!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank j00az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
0 mi away
Sea Horse Ranch
Sea Horse Ranch
#8 of 19 in Cabarete
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
263 reviews
0 mi away
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark

Address: Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: £98 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermark 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Watermark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing