We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great place!”
Review of Porta Del Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porta Del Mare
Lac Beauport
2 reviews
“Great great place!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wow! What a great place to stay in Cabarete... Just close enough to town but yet far enough so you can hang out on the beach without having too many people around! The pool is great and refreshing! Right on Kite beach, perfect spot for kite surfing. I was there mostly for surfing and the spot (Encuentro) is only 5 minutes away! I wanna go back! Try the spinning session with Claudia, the property manager, you'll get a good sweat!

AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_R448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromont, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I spent two weeks at Porta Del Mar and I just didn't want to leave the place. Our group rapidly felt at ease and safe. Claudia, the property manager, pointed us in the right direction when it was time to find a good restaurant and go out surfing. She invited us to her Spinning Studio and we had such a great work out while meeting other locals. Located on the point of the bay, we spent countless hours pool-side with a drink watching the most beautiful view: the kite boarders fly, the horses and dogs running down the beach and much more... I recommend theses apartments to a lot of people and they all agreed it was the best value and most fun in Cabarate. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We visited Porta Del Mare from February 19 - 25. Our trip was excellent. Claudia is very helpful. As you may have read in previous reviews Porta Del Mare is located right on the beach. The fact that house is located away from the hotels allows you to have a section of the beach all to yourself. However, if you want to people watch the hotels and restaurants are only a 20 minute walk (or 5 minutes by car) away. We had a one bedroom (1.5 bath), with a living room/ dining room, with a full kitchen. The accommodations are adequate. The room was clean. The bedroom could use a dresser. The shower had a little water leak and bathrooms could use better lighting fixtures. But over all we were very pleased. The grounds have 24 hour guard and we felt very safe. Furthermore, you can't beat the price. If you have a car be sure to visit the neighboring town of Sousa. I would recommend Porta Del Mare to my friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a two or three bedroom. The one bedrooms are on the side, while two and three come our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicoutimi, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Was at Porta Del Mare for a week during Xmas time and it was simply amazing. The trip was kiteboarding oriented and everybody in the group were so stoked about the perfect location of PDM for kitesurfing: right between kitebeach and Cabarete's bay. Inflate the kites on the grass just by the pool!!!!

Claudia, the place's manager was so terrific for us and our vacations...she took care of everything we need. There a lots of thing to do around even if the wind is present or not: she bring us at a perfect flat spot that we are uses to see in the movie!!! After the ride....a BBQ was setted on the beach. In the morning we went couple times, surfing.......the spot is located 5 minutes from the PDM. There're wave for pro's and beginners on this surf's break.

The nightlife is very active in Cabarete. Claudia will give you some good hints!!!

The PDM is pretty well located, really confortable, the appartements are almost brand new and well decorated. I recommand it without any hesitation for the perfect vacation in Cabarete.

Have fun at PDM!!!!

Room Tip: There all well decorated, moderns and well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent 1 month at Porta Del Mar, m'y heart is still in RD the place is very friendly,very clean the rooms are very spacious and the beds are very confortable to sleep.We had family coming over and everybody loved there vacation:) I m very glad to have meet Claudia and Annie they
Are attentive to your stay and make sure that you are completly satisfied ,This place is so beatiful ,if you look for quiet and Nice place and spectacular view of the ocean i give a 10/10.
Special thanks to Claudia,Annie,Tito .See you next year.
I recommand Porta Del Mar to everyone that is looking for a very spécial place to be on vacation...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieG992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We spent out thanksgiving weekend in this place. We were a party of 5 , 2 adults and 3 kids (ages 6,13, 16)
We had a 2 bedroom apartment, modern furniture, Wi-Fi, a/c, washer and drier, one TV. Our place had a few problems with hot water and cable TV, but Claudia (Property Manager) helps us to solve these problems. Please be aware of mosquitoes, bring some insects repellent. Also there are many dogs in the area (owners live there) so if you are not a dog person this might be a problem. The view is fantastic, quiet, is the perfect place to relax. This place has a BBQ area that all apartments share and Claudia has an employee that can assist you with your BBQ. Also Claudia can tell you the location of a good supermarket nearby so you can buy some groceries. All I can say is that I can't wait to go back...!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramtha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I spent a week at Porta del mare and I did not want to leave! The place is amazing! right on the ocean with also a pool and hot tub! The rooms are realy nice and I also really like the style of the place! It was such a fun trip! It felt like a family right from the first day!
I will defenetly come back again next year but for longer this time! ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Andree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.4 mi away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
The Crown Villas at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
0.2 mi away
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Presidential Suites A Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Del Mare

Property: Porta Del Mare
Address: Calle Principal, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del Mare is not only a place to stay, it's a place where atmosphere is a criteria. Everyone on site are super friendly and helpful. We are right in the middle of the Kitebeach action. Kitebeach area has grown a lot over the last few years and became a nice little community with where you can enjoy a nice healthy meal or a happy hour cocktail whilst enjoying the view of the Best Kiteboarder in the world. All our apartments have a balcony ocean front. We are 5 minutes away from the popular Surf Spot "Encuentro" and around 10 minutes walking distance from town. I strongly recommend our famous BBQ by the pool at sunset with fresh sea food coming from the fisherman next door... a MUST ! Our awesome staff will be happy to set it up for you so you can sit back and relax... Pleasure guaranteed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing