We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect conditions for kitesurfing!”
Review of Kite Club Cabarete

Kite Club Cabarete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kite Club Cabarete is the home of kiteboarding in Cabarete. We offer Beginner Lessons, 1 week Intensive Clinics and IKO Instructor Courses at any level. We pride ourselves on our reputation as the most professional Kiteschool in Cabarete while maintaining an open and friendly atmosphere. The Kite Club Team is led by Cabarete veteran and IKO Training Master Jon Dodds, bringing years of experience to the hand picked Instructor team.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect conditions for kitesurfing!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

When been wanting to learn kitesurfing for such a long time, the intensive kite course at Kite Club was definitely a perfect choice! Even if my stay was during the rainy season in beginning of December, I was lucky enough to get many good days with great wind and sun! Wilson is a really cool teacher, and the whole vibe you get from the school is very chill and relaxed. Everybody who works at Kite Club are friendly and helpful, and a great plus is the Kite Club Café where you can buy delicious breakfasts and lunches, as well as fresh smoothies and coconuts!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank yeahvligt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    14
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Refresher lesson + supervision”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went down for a week and a half at the end of 2013 to do some refresher lessons and then practice alone with supervision from the staff. Out overall experience was very good. Our instructor was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing they could improve, would be to buy a little bit more gear so that all the students could have harnesses, helmets, etc. that fit. Also, the club is a great spot to hang out and the fish tacos and eggy sandwich are great!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great teachers, great hangout spot”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Teachers really wanted you to learn how to kite. If doing a two person class, I would recommend going for the 2 kite, instructor + assistant.

You'll notice by the end of your stay that you'll want to get here early and stay late after your class. The people around the club are a pretty cool bunch, the food and drink in the cafe is great, and they have kittens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Encoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ready for more!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We scoped out several places before deciding on Kite Club. Our sway factors in choosing this group - positive atmosphere, personable instructors, great vibe to just hangout and watch other kiteboarders, and they accept credit cards - for 1st timers to DR, this is actually a big deal. They also have a safety boat if necessary (this never launched). We stayed on the other end of Cabarete and asked a few kite boarders that unanimously told us to 'also' check out Kite Club - it wasn't on our initial list.

We did 6 hours of instruction over 2 days each. My wife, who has no wakeboarding or 4-string kite flying experience was not ready to get up on a board in 6 hours. She would have if we returned for a 3rd day. And, they had her very comfortable flying the kite and body dragging through the water (she ended the 6 hours ready for the board). We just decided to try kiteboarding too late in our stay so we ran out of time.

For me... I do have wakeboarding and stunt kite flying experience and I am a sailor (but that doesn't mean the skills transfer). My wife and I spent the first day together before we separated into private instructors to accommodate our different learning curve. By end of day 1, I had the kite down and was body dragging. I started on the board in day 2.

So our experience... they did a great job adjusting to our individual learning styles and backgrounds. That really helped both of us enjoy learning this exciting sport. We are looking forward to a return trip to Cabarete and Kite Club... They have us hooked!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knowonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

3 single girls on a journey to learn to kite. We had combo packages with the hotel next door..kit club inn.
Our instructors were really awesome, Carlos and Wilson. They were great at the sport and patient teachers. All
3 of us got up on boards. I thought it was going to be impossible. Thanks for a great time!!

Helpful?
Thank hcoops7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kite Club Cabarete also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Kite Club Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing