We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We were here four days. The hotel is great. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the infinity pool and the great location of Cabarete. There is only one thing we recommend to this hotel: to improve the internet speed. However, we would definitely come back :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yelisamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    57
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
104
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The great:

The staff: probably the best hotel staff I have encountered anywhere in the world. Greeted by Mario who has such a genuine, warm smile. Everybody was just super friendly and caring. They also arranged for an airport pickup at an affordable price.

The pool: infinity type pool that lights up in blues and purples at night. Stunning! Looks like it just flows into the ocean.

The location: couldn't be better....5 min walk on the beach to all the restaurants, or take a motorcycle taxi on the street.

...so why the 1 star review?...

The inexcusable:

Drinking water: We were advised that the hotel water was not safe to drink! This is a 5 star hotel? I have never stayed at a 5 star hotel, anywhere in the world, whether a tent in the sahara or a Hilton in India, that did not provide drinkable water for their guests. A hotel of this caliber needs its own filtration system...but even without one, they need to provide drinkable water to their guests. We were provided with 2 bottles of water on the first day of a seven day stay, and that was it. We asked the staff and they said we can buy more from the store in the lobby.

For a hotel of this caliber this is inexcusable. They provide complimentary wifi but not complimentary potable water. Think about that for a second!?!?

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tiptopgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanCIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Millennium Cabarete. Thank you for recognizing the staff, who do work so hard to provide such wonderful service as well as all of the comforts and conveniences that you enjoyed during your stay here at Millennium.
I am sorry that one factor was enough for you to deem the resort and your entire stay as terrible. We will take your comments into consideration. You are correct, we are not an all-inclusive resort and guests must pay for what they consume, including bottles of water. We have bottles of water for sale, and unfortunately, this region has not had a 100% verified safe means of water-filtration. Once this is available, we will be one of the first hotels to offer this to our guests.
We always welcome guest-suggestions and we are constantly looking for ways to improve the services that we provide to our guests. We appreciate guests who take the time to review their experiences and hope that those reading this site will take the time to see all of the things that you enjoyed at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Millenium for a week following our wedding. Our one bedroom suite was beautiful and well-maintained, and the pool is amazing. We found the front desk staff to be helpful and attentive. For example, the TV in our room blew a fuse on the first night while we were watching a movie. They had to order a part to fix it, and said it would be fixed the following day. They ended up replacing the TV within 24 hours. Our AC worked fine and we were very happy with the room.

One thing: the word "resort" may mislead people as these are really condo-style apartments with basic services. You can get drinks delivered poolside but service is generally slow. We didn't have a problem going down to the beach restaurant Aqua (great pizza!) and having food and drinks delivered to the upper pool decks. They will also deliver to your room. Also, there is a small front lobby bar but I rarely saw anyone having a drink there. If you want nightlife, there are bars just a 10 minute walk down the beach. We spent most of our time at the sports bar Kahunas which plays great music at night and has authentic poutine served late.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michvred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was my third visit to Cabarete and compared to the other places i've stayed at and been in, the Millennium was far and away the nicest place. Given the very competitive price we were thrilled with what we found. Very clean. Very modern. Very nice furnishings. Great pool. Wonderful ambience. Very polite. Great location. The service is not 5 star, but everything else is.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Millennium Resort & Spa is more of an "apartment-style-plus" property than a "resort" -- but it delivers quite well on what it does. I very much enjoyed my stay here and would strongly recommend the Cabarete area in general, especially if you are averse to large-scale "cruise ship style" experiences common at larger resorts. I was with a group of several young couples, and would recommend this property for groups like ours, families, or serious kiteboarders. Singles looking for lots of nightlife action should understand that it's available, but not at the resort. This is not a huge U.S.-style resort and it is not a cruise ship. If you want that kind of service and experience, go elsewhere (and likely, pay much more).

I have broken this review down into categories, as I think that one's emphasis on different aspects of this resort will affect their overall perception of it.

Rooms/Finish
My wife and I stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor. The room finishes are of high quality and the rooms are kept very clean by staff. They did not replenish coffee or other items used in the room (we didn't run out of soap, so I don't know if they replace that). Beds were comfortable. Plenty of electrical outlets, comfortable chairs and deck chairs. Showers and other plumbing worked to international standard. Refrigerator, coffee maker and stove also worked well. I noted before going that other reviewers complained about the A/C, and I did find this to be an issue. While the central air unit did put out cold air, it was very weak. Thermostat was set to 15 degrees C and never got below 24 degrees C in actual temperature. It helps to keep the doors between rooms closed to maximize cold air in each room. For us, it was not severe enough that it was worth complaining about, but had it been hotter, I might have said something. I understand that other rooms have separate standalone units in them in addition to the central A/C.

We did not have any issues with noise while staying at the property.

Pool/Outdoor/Common Area
The pool, grounds and common areas are immaculately clean and very well maintained. The pool, in particular, is great-looking, but all of the grounds are in tip-top condition.

"Resort Experience"
Here is where I think the resort may mislead some people on its web site when it talks about the "lifestyle". This is a laid-back property that provides essential services, but is not particularly a "hangout". My friends and I spent long hours lounging by the pool in the comfortable and well-maintained chairs, with an up-close view of the beach. You could get drinks and food brought to you from Aqua, the restaurant, but the staff was not proactive about bringing things. Generally, we would walk down to the restaurant and ask someone to bring us something rather than somebody coming by (though this varied by the person and by the day). The towel service was close to non-existent (most of the time, we had to go into the towel closet and get them ourselves, despite the "system" in place). On the plus side, drink prices were low, and you are free to bring your own food and drinks to the pool if you want. Since your room has a fridge, that is a realistic thing to do.

During our stay (late March 2014) the crowd here were mostly fit, good-looking and primarily European couples and families. Despite the resort's web site's claims, there was not "nightlife" there (we were there on a weekend and several week days). I never saw a DJ of any kind anywhere, and the bar inside was intermittently staffed at best. The restaurant (more later) seemed to have good food but generally did not have a big crowd. All of that was fine with us, as we would take the short walk down the beach to the row of bars, clubs and restaurants there, as well as the walk along the main road to other similar places. While the beach has a dark area during maybe 2 of the 7 minutes it takes to walk from Millennium to this strip, we encountered no issues including walking back very late at night.

Staff
The staff is helpful and friendly, but there isn't a lot of it. Expect checkout and check-in to be slow as there is only one person at the desk, who will be quickly overwhelmed if more than one customer needs something at the same time. Concierge staff is helpful and may offer the assist in times of need (as they did for me) but again, this is not the staffing level of a cruise ship or a big resort. That's part of why it costs much less.

Leave extra time for check-out. Do not wait until "the last minute" or you will find yourself getting upset.

Also, BRING CASH. It cannot be emphasized enough that cash is kind everywhere in Cabarete, including at checkout. USD are accepted equally with Pesos. Usually there is also a discount for using cash.

Town/Surrounding Area:
Cabarete is a great area for families, couples or singles. It seems to be primarily a kiteboarding community, so there is a stable group of ex-pats (mostly Canadian) who hang out there for months at a time or even year-round. The beach bars and restaurants are fun, and there are larger nightclubs (at least 2) that are pretty good. Food in the area is heavily weighted toward tourists and their taste, meaning a search for "authentic" food will be a tougher slog than if you want Italian, which seems to be the de facto cuisine of choice. The area seemed quite safe. There are some hawkers and various other types who will accost you, but they will go away if you politely decline their services.

If you have time, kiteboarding is something that's not available everywhere and looks to be a real thrill. It does require at least two hours of on-land lessons before you get in the water, so plan accordingly if you want to do it. We did not, but all agreed we would make time on a repeat visit.

Spa
My wife used the spa and spoke very highly of the massage and the manicure. It was easy to make an appointment and pricing was very fair.

Overall
I would stay at Millennium again and was overall very impressed with it, especially for the price. Knowing some of its quirks and those of Cabarete in general would make a future stay even more pleasant. I highly recommend reading others' reviews as well. They contain a wealth of useful information that will make your stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean-facing and see if your room has its own A/C vs central A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was VERY disappointed in our stay at this "5 star quality" resort. When we arrived the lady at the desk was on the phone and didn't really recognize us for a few minutes in spite of standing right in front of her. The floor in the lobby was very dirty. Throughout the weekend they did have people mopping the floor though. We were offered a welcome beverage at the bar which was a nice gesture. The facilities are very nice, new, and modern. Our room was very nice as well. The air condition worked well. We really liked the bathroom although the shower leaked under the glass wall to the sink area so we had to have towels down all of the time. The pool was beautiful and the location is very good as well. The restaurant was decent nothing super special (Italian-pizza etc). We didn't use the spa. The weather was rainy and we had to be in our room for a lot of the time and we wanted to relax in our room and use the internet. Unfortunately we were unable to because it didn't work in our room. I asked and she said it should work in our room. There was another guest complaining of the same thing. I brought it to their attention at least 3 times and I was told try sitting in the corner, maybe it's the weather, and somebody will look at it. Nothing happened. We were away without our kids and our babysitters were contacting us through FB if something happened so, this was a huge inconvenience for us to go to the lobby every time we wanted to check the internet. I am ok with a hotel not having internet but when they offer it and it's not available, that's unacceptable. The other issue was with the dogs barking IN the hotel early in the morning and dogs barking in the lobby while I was stuck there using the internet. A relaxing get a way for us does not includes dogs in our "upscale" hotel. A disappointing stay to say the least. There are other places that I would stay in Cabarete with a better location with similar price before I would go back here.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view and a room that is NOT by the dog rooms…wherever that is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanCIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Millennium. Our apologies that the internet speed did not match the quality of the rest of the resort. Our technicians have worked to correct the internet and prevent service disruptions when an influx of users are logged on. We do hope you will return to enjoy the comforts of the hotel, and the improved signal strength of the internet.
We will work with the owners of the dog to ensure that she does not disrupt our guests. I have spoken with her myself and she seemed very remorseful that she created a disturbance.
We do hope you will return the next time you are in Cabarete and wish you and your family wonderful travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent 5 weeks in the two bedroom deluxe. Absolutely stunning with everything one could ask for. This was our second stay at Millenium.
As usual, the housekeeping staff were fabulous and kept the rooms spotless? The front desk staff were very helpful when you needed anything. The gardener keeps the place in tip top shape.
Meghan - as usual, was efficient and got things done. Mario, the night front desk clerk is the best, always with a smile on his face and very helpful. Can't say enough nice things about all the staff at Millenium. Can't wait to come back next year again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort & Spa

Property: Millennium Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Cabarete-Sosua, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabarete
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cabarete, Dominican Republic – one of the hottest vacation destinations in the world. As one of the most beautiful properties in the Dominican Republic, Millennium Resort offers one, two and three bedroom condominiums providing an exclusive, ultra-modern and luxe environment. At Millennium, experience the best in style, the best in comfort and the most spectacular ocean views in Cabarete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millennium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cabarete
Millennium Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing