We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting; average food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Arsenio

Chez Arsenio
Ranked #26 of 127 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting; average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I was taken here by a friend recently, because I really needed a break from the same 8 restaurants in Sosua that I eat at on a rotating basis. (I don't have a car here.)

It's a very pretty setting, a circular building with a thatched roof, and a great view of the water. It is very pleasant to take your drinks on a walk on the beach while waiting for food to be prepared.

My friend had the salmon, with which she was very pleased, and I had the pasta puttanesca, and was pleasantly surprised to find it actually had a spicy kick. The portions, in Dominican style, are huge. It certainly wasn't knock-your-socks off food, but it was very good, attractively presented, and very tasty.

And quiet. Very, very quiet, which is a premium in the Sosua/Cabarete area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollybloom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“Did I go to the right place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

After living in the DR for a month, a few of my neighbors had told me that Chez Arsenio is a good place to eat with cheap prices and specials, and the mango cheesecake is God's gift to earth. When I finally found my way out there however, I did not see ANY of the things my neighbors or any of these other reviews said.
First of all, unless there is another Chez Arsenio's somewhere, those pictures are NOT of the same restaurant. Although there is a good view of the ocean and peaceful palm trees, there were peacocks wandering the property and literally CIRCLING my table as we ate. The charm and beauty of the peacock was lost after about 3 minutes as he stalked around our table, clicking, and getting dangerously close to our food.
Secondly, the service was horrible. We were the only ones in the entire place and it took ages for the waiter to do anything. Mostly because he would go back behind the bar to text or talk to his friends that kept materializing out of the woods nearby. We asked about specials and got a bunch of mumbles, we asked about certain menu items, he said they didn't have them or he didn't know what they are. And of course they did not have the famed cheesecake.
The food was mediocre. The hamburger bun was stale and the fries were obviously cooked with some VERY re-used oil. They were greasy and not crunchy. The salad was obviously frozen beforehand. On top of that, the prices were not even that cheap. I could name countless other places I'd rather go with better food, cheaper prices, and just as good of scenery.
I don't know if this was just a fluke incident for me, but I would never give this place a second chance, and I wish someone had warned me so I didn't give it a first chance!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

The food is five star ...the service is outstanding..the view is breath taking .company perfect... price reasonable.would select this restaurant to be one of the best in the Dominican..

Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were recommended here by several people: yes, the mango cheesecake is excellent. But the food was not good, in 2 visits.
Three years ago we came for lunch: the tuna was slightly spoiled. Never again, we said!
We came again, based on more recommendations: The tempura was dripping in oil. As I bit into it, the oil squirted out, mixed with raw fish water (or something). The rice tasted like old coffee. The fish kabob tasted faintly of sewers. The mashed potatoes were okay; not good, but average.
As I said: the cheese cake is excellent, but don't eat the food.
(BTW, other reviewers said the prices were good for Cabarete: We can point them to several much cheaper restaurants with much better food.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seelcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best food and ocean view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

we alway eat at arsenio,s when we stay in the dominican the food and the prices can not be beat
right on the ocean at hideaway beach, food all made to order weather hamburgs or lobster great for lunch or dinner with that special somone make sure u try the mango cheesecake it,s the best
the staff will take care of you i suggest lunch or dinner early and stay for drinks

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Arsenio also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Chez Arsenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing