We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place, very cool people”
Review of Kite Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kite Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“wonderful place, very cool people”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

First time in Cabarete, got to the Kite Beach Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and I have to say I was not disappointed. The Inn is super clean, right on the beach and everybody there seems to be extremely friendly and helpful. The owners Lucy and Jimmy are always around to be sure everything is OK and Danilo and Giovanna (help with managing the place) are really great people. The small bar is really nice and cool, excellent place to hang out after a day on the water.
Overall a really great place. Will be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
24
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

It was our first trip to Cabarete and based on other tripadvisor reviews we chose Kite Beach Inn-- and it was exactly what we were looking for! We were there for a week and couldn't have been happier! It's small, friendly hotel, right on Kite Beach, tucked away from the more touristy part of Cabarete and is filled with kiteboarders. We were taking lessons at Laurel Eastman Kiteboarding school, about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach, which is how long it takes to get to the town of Cabarete in general from KBI. From Kite Beach Inn it's a 20 minute drive to Puerto Plata airport as well.

The hotel itself is clean, well-kept, nicely and recently renovated, new bathrooms, free wi-fi, has a comfortable bed and very affordable. Owners Lucy and Jim were friendly and very helpful and made you feel right at home. You can literally walk out of your room, have breakfast or lunch, and then launch your kite right off the beach!

Kite Beach Inn's courtyard opens up to a cozy beach bar, Coco Loco, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. (It's owned and run by very friendly Polish folks, so the menu has some surprising items for the Caribbean-- like pierogies!) Right next door is Kite Beach Club, which serves a great breakfast and is also a kiting school.

If you don't want a crowded all-inclusive resort or a big, nameless trying-to-be fancy hotel, Kite Beach Inn is the best place to stay in Cabarete!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heddache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Friendly people, great vibes, friendly dogs, beautiful views—a bit of paradise that makes you want to extend your stay for another month.

We just finished a week stay at Kite Beach inn and were extremely pleased! Jim and Lucy were super nice and accommodating, there was defiantly a welcoming community vibe around the area that you didn't feel so much down at Bozo beach.

If you are going to Cabarete to kite board, or just need a place to chill out, then this is the place for you. Very affordable rates and great service/help when needed. Plus, they have AC and hot water, which surprisingly extreme and some other hotels do not.

The restaurant/bar on the property, Coco Loco was full of friendly vibes and a great spot to hang out at after a nice day on the beach. Plus there are a couple other spots to eat/have a drink during the day, full of more, friendly people.

Stay at this hotel when you head over to Kite Beach, it was our best vacation ever, you will not regret it :)

Room Tip: Just write Lucy and she will help you make your stay worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon HIlls,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We love the Kite Beach Inn. The rooms are modern, clean and have all the amenities you need including a luxury walk-in shower, frig, cooking surface and free wi-fi. The Inn is right on the beach, close to the kite surfing school next door. The owners, Jim and Lucy, do everything they can to make your stay amazing. They arranged perfect weather :), a scuba trip, zip lining, a visit to a monkey park, and a canyoning trip to 27 Waterfalls, the highlight of our visit. We couldn't ask for better hosts.We will definitely be coming back for the best in Cabaete.

Room Tip: The KBI has rooms with different amenies, to fit your needs and budget. Be sure to share your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

What a great place to stay! The location is tough to beat and the accommodations are spacious, comfortable and well kept! Financially, it is a great value! However, even more importantly, the hospitality is outstanding! Jim, Lucy, Danilo and Gio went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable and convenient. Even the night security guard went out of his way to help us! We looked at other hotels during our stay, with thoughts of returning soon. We found one or two that might be a little higher end (with much higher prices), but quickly came to the conclusion that we will definitely stay at Kite Beach Inn on our next visit! Bottom line: You can’t beat the value, location and hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flyzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Kite Beach Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to say a big "Thank You" to all our guests who wrote a review for Kite Beach Inn. We added 15 new units, renovated all 10 existing units and just re-opened at the end of March, 2012. My husband and I and our staff try very hard to take good care of our guests and provide them with a wonderful vacation experience when they stay at Kite Beach Inn. We are very proud and grateful that our guests had a great time here and felt that they are being well taken care of. Many of our guests have become friends and we can't wait to see you back.

A big "Thank You" from the Kite Beach Inn Management Team

Lucy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I run health care mission trips to Haiti and the Dominican Republic several times per year. Many of our doctors stay at the Kite Beach Inn and like myself, love it. The owners, Jim and Lucy are amazingly helpful. Danilo and Jo were so accomidating and couldn't do enough to help our group. The vibe around the property is relaxing and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed there now at least 7 or 8 times and I keep going back as it feels like I am visiting old friends and always making new ones. Also, it probably is best value in Cabarete. Don't hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiroc1c2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

What a fantastic vacation. My 3rd visit here and I’ll definitely be back!

I generally enjoy vacations that combine activity and relaxing, good food and nice people. This one fit the bill. If you're looking for a vacation that combines some exercise, some excitement, with plenty of relaxation and/or kitting time - look no further than Kite Beach Inn, Cabarete.
If you are going to the Dominican Republic this is by far the best place to stay. First and foremost, everyone is super nice, down to earth, willing to give you genuine advice on excursions, and not trying to rip you off.

Owners Jim and Lucy are wonderful and always looking for your best interest. Dani and Gio – hotel managers - are the sweetest and most helpful people I’ve ever met. We planned a surprise Bday party and nothing could have been done w/out their kind and generous help. THANK YOU!!!

The property is distinctive and beautifully maintained, bathrooms are neat, the rooms have AC, are clean, modestly furnished but very inviting and relaxing after a hot day under the sun. Your hardest decision will be whether to kite surf all afternoon, relax by the poolside lounge chair, and have a drink and yummy food at the oceanfront Coco Loco Bar or to explore Cabarete and surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for room 400 and 401 – big and small “penthouse”! Quite affordable and what a treat for mind, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniela424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.5 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Cabarete
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agualina Kite Resort
Agualina Kite Resort
#7 of 47 in Cabarete
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kite Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kite Beach Inn

Property: Kite Beach Inn
Address: 5, Cabarete | Kite Beach, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kite Beach Inn is a 25-room ocean front hotel located right on Kite Beach in Cabarete, on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. We cater to kiteboarders and vacationers looking for a beach vacation. We have the best valued rooms right on Kite Beach. Our amenities include: free high speed internet, beach front restaurant/bar, swimming pool, 24/7 electricity with large backup generator, on-site security, maid service, concierge service, communal kitchen plus more. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to make your stay as pleasant and as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kite Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing