We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
89
94
57
42
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
94
57
42
72
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for two weeks Sept/Oct. The hotel is a little way outside of Cabarete but there is a shuttle bus which runs every morning. It's well worth going as it is a busy bustling place with lots to see. Regarding the hotel, we would agree with the other good reviews which this hotel has been given. Ok it's a little tired and could be done with a spruce up but it is spotlessly clean, our pretty room and bathroom were thoroughly cleaned every day and the public areas are all very clean. Because it was quiet when we were there, we counted around 30 guests in total, the pools and beach are lovely and peaceful - no fighting for sun loungers here ! A special mention must be given to the animation team - they do a fabulous job without being pushy. The only downside for us was the food - we had upset tummys which, it can be argued, could be due to the heat, a little more alcohol than usual ! and different ways of cooking. However, having said that the food was never hot enough for our liking and we ate several times in Cabarete where there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants. All in all though, we had a lovely relaxing holiday. Look beyond the peeling paint and hopefully you will see how lovely this place is. Go on - I dare you - you'll have a fabulous time.

Room Tip: We had room 301 and loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

when we first checked out the reviews on here about this hotel we were horrified at some but we had been to other hotels with bad reviews but still it was worrying,anyway all those bad review was nothing that we found infact we had a great 2 wks at the celuisma.no screaming kids,blow up beds in pool & very quite so nice & relaxing.we picked the best time of year cos there can`t have been more than 25 guests in the whole place so plenty of room by the pool didn`t even need to put towels on sun beds to save them & there were even germans at the hotel.
The hotel does need some doing up it is tired looking but what does it matter,in our room same again abit tired but everything worked the air con worked so well it was like the arctic in the morning,the ceiling fan squeeked but it worked,the fridge was nice n cold to put our water in.we always had water in the bathroom & plenty of hot water .the room was good for what you need it for to sleep in.
the food was ok some of it was abit too long under the heat lamps but over all you won`t starve,O & if you like us have been to other places where you dressed for dinner this hotel you don`t or no one bothered to anyway.
the entertainment team where really good they had so much energy it tired you out just watching them.
the trips we went on were really good,monster truck safari,pleasure island,the cable car,river boat safari.we did the blue lagoon which was rubbish it isn`t a lagoon its a cave thats collapsed then filled with water which i do have to admit was blue don`t bother with it.

if you scuba dive then go with DIVE CABARETE they are english i had a great 3 days diving with them & if you can do the zingara wreck its deep 36m but well worth it one of the best dives i did.

So in conclusion the hotel the food & the staff was all very good the advice i`d give show the staff some respect & you will have great fun hope this helps.

Room Tip: there basically the same except the apartments.by the pools are nice we had our room nr the resturant nice n quite
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc19669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have just returned from two weeks holiday at the Celuisma in Cabarete. The rooms are dated and could do with a major overhaul, however what the rooms lacked in charm and modern facilities the staff at the hotel made up for. We were treated with respect and courtesy from the maintence staff, right through to the animation team. What can we say....Jessica and Yajaira never gave us a minutes peace but we loved them, we felt we were treated as part of the family, the boys Bearra [jose] Pacherro, Cappuchino and Juan were all wonderful....we had the most amazing time thankyou for making our hoilday so special..Other staff too many to mention were all lovely, Maria we miss your smile. You are all such lovely freindly people....
A word of advice to any one going there find Louisa and Carolina, the massages were wonderful, they are geniune lovely special people, we miss you all and cant wait to save enough pennies to come back.
Anne and Philip

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Honestly don’t know where all these bad reviews are coming from, this was one of the best holidays I have been on. Was there at the start of June, only a dozen or so ppl there which was great had the front whole pool to ourselves, very quiet and peaceful. The food was excellent Italian and Mexican especially, fresh pancakes every morning, fair enough the buffet wasn’t great but most nights the restaurant was open. The room was adequate, noisy aircon and rickety fan but it cooled the room down to freezing. Always hot water in the shower. The staff were great, playing table tennis and volleyball in the pool without being pushy. Overall a great holiday, would return just remember its only 3 star so don’t expect 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weebarra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

It's been about a month since we have returned from the Celuisma in Cabarete and it appears we may have been there at the same time as some of the other reviewers! Hurricane Irene did her best to dampen our spirits - lots of wind, some flooding, and a power outtage! But, thanks to the wonderful staff at this hotel, it didn't dampen the holiday! It gave us a Carribean experience that we weren't looking for, but we felt safe and secure the entire time, even with the minor inconveniences that Irene brought with her!

This hotel is a remarkable little hideaway just outside of Cabarete (a short taxi ride into town, or there is a shuttle that leaves from the hotel every morning). It has 2 very well maintained pools, a beach that is a little on the rough side but still very beautiful and jumping into the waves was a work out we took advantage of daily! It is very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was working in top form in our room every day (well, except for Hurricane night!) and while the rooms could use a little updating, in my opinion, it'd just be for aesthetic purposes!

Our housekeeping staff were so incredible!! Rooms scoured every single day, and often left behind some sort of towel art or flowers. The food was remarkable! Not only did we have the main buffet restaurant where there was always a wide variety of choices, there were 2 a la carte restaurants. The Thai is located right on the beach, in a very romantic setting, with the food prepared right in front of you! And the Windows restaurant is overlooking one of the pools, and each time this was open there was a different theme. One night was Italian, one night Dominican, etc. We always had a fantastic meal, and waiters/waitresses were very prompt!

The entertainment staff really makes this hotel from a 'good one' into a "great one". They do their best to get to know everyone at the entire resort. They try to come up with games and activities geared towards the guests. And they put on nightly entertainment as well! Sometimes it was just dominoes and cards in the sports bar, but other nights there was a fantastic magic show, and the water show that they put on is beyond words. Something you just must see!

We don't speak Spanish, but that was not an issue in this hotel - as management, entertainment staff and reception staff all spoke English. Sometimes housekeeping or bar staff would have a little difficulty understanding, but some charades helped and they were always aiming to please!

We could see that there is ongoing repairs/construction taking place in the different lodging buildings, so we took that as a sign that they were continuously upgrading the hotel, which is always a bonus!

We met people at the resort who had been there multiple times, and who keep going back every year. I think that speaks for itself and look forward to going back myself! I know there are terrible reviews on here, really terrible. But that was not at all my experience and I have stayed at many many hotels throughout the world. So, don't be afraid to book it. You won't regret finding your own little tropical hideaway!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms that we could see! Just be friendly and I'm sure the reception staff will take care of you nicely!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSgalHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews