We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major changes Abrewing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Major changes Abrewing!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I just got home from a week long stay at the hotel Celuisma Cabarete. We were very concerned about booking here because of the reviews we read here. But, because everyone said the staff made it worthwhile, we took a chance.

The rooms are tired. They need refurbishment. Our bathroom door was warped and would not close, dresser drawers were the same. The ceiling fan was on its last legs. Our airconditioner was only spitting out cool air when it felt like it. We notified reception who was more than happy to resolve the issue - but when they sent maintenance, because it was a teeny tiny bit cold, they claimed it was working. Three separate times we had to ask for someone to look at it. 3 times in one week is a lot.

Speaking of reception, make sure you ask for Christopher. The girl they have working the front desk was definitlely not hired for her customer service skills! Her negative attitude and selective English comprehension was not at all appreciated. Heaven forbid we interrupt her, at work, from spending time on youtube.

The food was what scared me most of all. I`m a food inspector here in Canada and was appalled at how lukewarm everything in the buffet was. Sure there was a variety of foods, but due to the low temperatures I was very concerned about bacterial growth. Recognizing that the buffet is an open air establishment, having birds flying around while you`re eating, and cats begging for food underneath the table is not enjoyable. Also, I`m not used to staying at a resort and being hungry!!! You ONLY eat at specific times, and if you miss it, too bad!

The cleaning ladies were pretty amazing. Vivianne in particular stands out as someone who loves her job and goes out of her way to make the guests feel at home.

And now, what everyone raved about and the whole reason we chose this hotel: the entertainment staff! Upon arrival, we were greeted and welcomed by everyone on the team. We were able to partipate in games and activities throughout the day, and were treated to fantastic shows at night. Johan, the entertainment manager, was the star of every show. He was a chameleon, able to be the athlete, who is constantly mingling and getting to know hotel guests during the day, to being able to showcase his talents in the shows at night. Claudia is the other standout. She is this little bitty lady with a smile the size of Montreal. She is full of enthusiasm, and makes you feel so welcome. And just watch her on the stage dancing and you’ll know she’s way more than just a pretty face. Reviewers were right. Thanks to the Entertainment staff, you forget how bad the hotel is. You forget the beds are as hard as rocks. You forget the beach is so choppy that you can’t even swim there (we had to take a 10 dollar US taxi ride into Cabarete to be able to swim in the ocean). You forget that this hotel is so isolated, with no amenities around it. You forget that this hotel stinks as you walk in between buildings (septic issues?). You forget all that. BUT, changes are abrewing! While we were there, all the girls, including our beloved Claudia, quit and so did Johan, the entertainment manager. All of a sudden everything good about this hotel was gone. Of course, everyone was talking about it and we were told that Johan wanted a change and that all 3 girls quit to spend more time with their children. Seems pretty odd to me that 50% of their entertainment staff would suddenly need time to spend with their families, during the busiest time of year for the hotel. Especially since Johan and Claudia had apparently worked at this hotel for more than 5 years! So, the second half of our trip was TERRIBLE! It was quiet. It was tense. It was talent-less. And it certainly doesn’t bode well for the future of this hotel.

So my recommendation is, I’m sorry you missed out on such a great spot. But now, with the end of their entertainment, you’re too late. It’s not such a gem anymore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    95
    57
    42
    73
See reviews for
62
148
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The thing we remember best is the staff, they are the best we have ever encountered anywhere. They really make you feel welcome and do not expect tips for what they do.
The hotel was built as a great hotel many years ago, they have done a reasonable job of maintaining the rooms in the buildings . There are rooms over the lobby that need work but they are not in use.
The food is ok and there is an omelet chef in the morning that will make one to your order, this is a pasta bar for lunch and roast meat sliced for you at dinner.
The beach is kept cleaner than some 5 star places I've seen. The ocean always has waves but it is safe to body surf and splash about in the waves. The kite surfers love the constant breeze, it is interesting to see them in action.
Cabarette is in decline, it was open for tourists before many other areas of the country and there is a lot of vacant hotels around. Everyone in the area can speak at least some English.
We wandered over to a large closed hotel next door [Paraiso del Sol] , we met the security guards and they let us tour the place. It was a great hotel in it's day. Now there are fish in the swimming pools. Scotiabank re-possessed this place 4 years ago.
Hotel Celuisma is a great value because it is not being filled near it's capacity, you get lots of personal attention from staff and you never have to worry about finding lounge chairs at the beach or pools.
The bars give great service but are only stocked with Dominican liquor that is a fairly good imitation of wiskey, amaretto, tequila etc.
There are brief shortages of everything but the staff will help you through those times.
The quality of the guests is way above average, they get caught up in the friendly atmosphere, expect to meet some new friends.
Anyone that has any specific questions that I may be able to answer is welcome to contact me barry1fitzgerald@gmail.com

Room Tip: The evening activities move around so you will have at least 1 night of music from the show until 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryWelland_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown ontario canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

just spent the best holiday season of my life at THE CELUISMA~~~~~~The best staff from the beautiful entrance of this building all the way to the beach where you can find the two best kite-surfing instructors in the Dominican Republic ( hello Javier & Miguel----thanks so much)---this place is so great that i almost do not want to tell people about it so that it will stay the exact same as it is~~~~i read some of the reviews that were negative and have realized that the people who wrote them just do not know how to have fun------this is not meant to be the Ritz ~~~it is the true Dominican experience where you can walk the beach for a mile either way and see what the pirates saw hundreds of years ago----a few locals--a few animals and thousands of coconut trees-----the food is great and the staff prove day in and day out that you have chosen the right place to vacation----the hotel is a peaceful paradise yet a two minute ride away you are in the middle of Cabarette where you can party your face off all night long----the best of both worlds---the animation crew will amaze you with there entertainment skills( great shows at night) the bartenders will seem like family the kitchen staff will spoil you the reception staff will inform you of everything you need to know--the grounds crew will provide you with the piece of heaven that is THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC and the security staff will watch you have fun as well as have fun with you wherever you go------if you love to enjoy life then go to THE CELUISMA-----if you do not then stay away and do not ruin this atmosphere--------a giant thank-you to everyone at the hotel----i will see you again in 2012-------patrick from canada

Room Tip: ask to see what is available and settle in for a great vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patty013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I didn't expect much after reading the reviews so I was pleasantly surprised.
Went on a package tour at $900 including taxes from Toronto which is a great deal for flight, hotel and meals.
A week isn't long enough. Most everyone I met there was a repeat customer who were spending 3 to 4 weeks at a time there.
Food was good. Prices at nearby restaurants and grocery store were comparable to prices in Toronto.
Animation dance team was fun to watch each night. Don't expect high production values.
Excellent bar tenders, I was impressed with how well they remembered names.
Walking into Cabarete Kite Beach takes about an hour along the beach. Taxi ride into town should not be more than $5, watch out for those that will charge you more.
Hair shampoo is not supplied.

Room Tip: There were a few things wrong with my first room, ceailing fan looked like it would spin off the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

holes in floor boards, public seat areas waterlogged and filthy, shower too hot to stand under, toilet flush faulty, sink taps clogged and slow flowing, tap top missing, plug missing, food bland and lukewarm - I've been home a week and still running for the loo, toaster caught fire in my wifes face, plug socket simply blew up next to where we were eating, ran out of red wine, restaurant has holes in roof, aircon packed up, karaoke machine packed up, film night dvd wouldnt work, fire extinguishers out of pressure, outside and common area lighting faulty in too many areas, hedges need cutting back away from paths. Only about 15 people in the place, big hotel next door closed down, security warned us it was a bad area to go out in. Couldnt wait to leave but had to take immodium to be able to travel. We have travelled all over the world including many times in the Dominican and this is the WORST we have experienced

Room Tip: only have 1st floor, rain flows in the doors of ground floor. Better still go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunworkinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I went for the first time in july and within 2 days I was so relaxed, the staff are top quality and make you feel a million dollars, the rooms are not fantastic but your only sleeping in them they clean and tidy and sufficient for your needs, theres so much going on, the animation team are out of this world and if you join in your holiday will be one in a life time, all the staff just cant do enough for you. And if anything breaks down they are quick to fix it. Foods good and they put alot of effort into providing a variety not a vast amount but enough choice. I've been 4 and 5 stars hotels but I have never at the end of my holiday felt so relax and fulfilled then when I have been on this one, when it was time to come home normally I'm ready and willing to come home not this one I'm back at christmas and will go many more times god willing. GOOD ON YOU HOTEL CELIUSMA CABARETE YOUR THE BEST

Room Tip: You can change when you get there they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for two weeks Sept/Oct. The hotel is a little way outside of Cabarete but there is a shuttle bus which runs every morning. It's well worth going as it is a busy bustling place with lots to see. Regarding the hotel, we would agree with the other good reviews which this hotel has been given. Ok it's a little tired and could be done with a spruce up but it is spotlessly clean, our pretty room and bathroom were thoroughly cleaned every day and the public areas are all very clean. Because it was quiet when we were there, we counted around 30 guests in total, the pools and beach are lovely and peaceful - no fighting for sun loungers here ! A special mention must be given to the animation team - they do a fabulous job without being pushy. The only downside for us was the food - we had upset tummys which, it can be argued, could be due to the heat, a little more alcohol than usual ! and different ways of cooking. However, having said that the food was never hot enough for our liking and we ate several times in Cabarete where there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants. All in all though, we had a lovely relaxing holiday. Look beyond the peeling paint and hopefully you will see how lovely this place is. Go on - I dare you - you'll have a fabulous time.

Room Tip: We had room 301 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celuisma Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Property: Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Address: 2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celuisma Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Paraiso Tropical
Paraiso Tropical Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing