We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
89
94
57
42
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
94
57
42
72
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I read all the reviews for this resort before we arrived, and nothing could have prepared me for the week I experienced.

I have been to many 3 star resorts and have always enjoyed my stay, most of them i would return to....but not this one.

Positives;
-The entertainment staff
-The grounds were lovely
-2 pools and 2 cold water jacuzzi
-lots of chairs and shelter
-There was Splenda for coffe and tea

Things that we easily overlooked;
-Snack bar was aweful and didn't open until 5pm daily
-Breakfast buffet never opened until 8am
-no hangers in the room
-showerhead popped out of the wall
-T.V not working
-uncomfortable beds
-not being able to get a towel for 2 days
-not getting the proper safe key till the next day
-having a leaking toilet that forced us to switch rooms after 3 days
-lack of fruit and dessert options at buffet

Things we couldn't overlook are;
-cockroaches in both rooms (not small ones either)

Things to bring;
-Ketchup (none on the resort)
-snacks/munchies
-travel mug (coffe/tea mugs are way too small)
-calamine lotion for the sand flea bites

**on a positive note-I have to say that the entertainment staff made this place bearable. They really do thier best to get you involved with daily activities and to get to know you. They greet you at every meal and love to laugh and joke around with you. the staff in general are really great and do make an effort to ensure you have a good experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper level to ensure rain does not leak into the room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnienclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just got back from 6 days at this hotel... but don't be fooled! It's more like a "highway motel" disguised as a beach resort!

Let me start with the good things: location to airport (POP), right on the beach, and an amazing looking pool area! We were "wowed!" when we entered the hotel. It looks REALLY good and nice! The buffet is alright - typically all-inclusive buffet.

And now to the bad: I traveled with my husband (yes, we are gay), and we greeted by a hotel employee cursing us out in Spanish ("look at these 2 girls")... not knowing that we speak Spanish! Great start to a vacation. The receptionist was the most sour girl we have ever seen. We almost felt like we were annoying her by checking in!
The room was actually OK, but things went wrong on day 2. We were initially handed 2 small bottle shampoos, but when they ran out, they were not replaced. We asked for more, and were handed a soap bar! "Shampoo is only for when you check in" was the answer.
After a few days, our towels were a little dirty, and very wet. Unfortunately they could not provide us with new, clean towels "until a couple of days"... WTF! This is a beach resort in a country where humidity is higher than normal, and towels simply don't dry.
Toilet paper was also a thing we had to ask 2-3 time about.

In general the staff either had a super good day or a really bad one; their mood was never to tell.
The animation team consisted of 10+ young guys, and they were all very nice and helpful, but sometimes they were a little too much - keep in mind that this is an adult-only resort. They acted like kids, and the evening shows/performance was a joke, and it seemed they belonged more in a kids-friendly resort.

All-in-all we had a GREAT trip, and DR is fantastic, but next time we would not chose Hotel Celuisma Cabarete, and we would NOT recommend it to anybody else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2xGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We just returned from Hotel Celuisma Cabaret and we had a wonderful time on March 2. The food was fabulous and the service perfect. Not very many people there so we had all of the staff to ourselves mostly. The rooms could be better but it was certainly clean. The beach was perfect when the you craved a cool breeze due the hot sun. The animation team who are mostly new were fabulous and their confidence became evident over the two weeks we were there. They became very entertaining and were very friendly funny. The guards were very accomadating and kept us safe as well and the maintenance staff worked very hard to try and keep the place running even though as we understand it the owner seems to have washed his hands of this place. It is a gem needing attention but not because of the staff's effort's. The owner needs to come and see what the efforts are of his staff. His apartment is absolutely gorgeous and all of the rooms should be the same. We happened to see this room because people we met were staying in it. The manager appears to be left on his own to sort out any problems and he hides it very well. He is sinking his own money in the hotel to keep it afloat
and has not got the owners support. Lovely place.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on or around the pools not near the front bar as it tends to get noisy at night as it is open until 2 in the morning. But however if we had the A/C on we could not hear all of the noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This adult only hotel was compact with 2 pool areas and well kept beach that went on for miles, surf and breeze kept it cool, not a swimming beach but great to watch or learn kite sailing, a local bus ride into Sosua or Cabarete was 100 pesos for 2, 22 people in the van , but only for a short time , staff very helpful and friendly, had a med problem and the hotel had Dr on site in 5 minutes. Food was consistently good - whole vacation was great value and TD Visa Travel insurance was easy to use for the med issue - not being in town meant quiet at night
Bring single US dollars, 100 peso notes, its hard to get change for large peso (500) and US notes

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cultureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed at over 30 All-Inclusives in the Dominican, this was one of the least favorable ones. The only silver lining was that the staff was very nice. The entire hotel needs an overhaul. The rooms were very dirty with cobwebs, hanging doors on cabinets, ceiling fans that were swaying very badly and very rusty. The food was so-so. The beer at dinner was being transported from a keg in the front of the hotel in plastic Coke containers. Overall, this place needs a complete face-lift.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking one of the two pools.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews