We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
110
62
22
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
62
22
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful long beachhome away from homeair conditioningbang for your bucksmall hotelpetersupermarketnightlifebreeze
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very quiet place!. A little far away to walk to discos at night.
At restaurant the should have a place for smokers.
Staff very gently and helpful.
Clean rooms and hot water.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Location can be an important factor in choosing accomodations in Cabarete. The jurisdiction of Cabarete is 14km long with the town of Cabarete in the center. So many accomodations that are located in Cabarete may be several kilometers from the center of town where the discos and night life are concentrated. Hotel Alegria is located on the beach about 350m from the night life strip in the center of town. There are accomodations closer to the center, but they would not be characterized as quiet places for a good night's sleep. Most of our guests consider that Hotel Alegria has an ideal location. Close to the center, but still quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not fancy - old furnishings, noisy AC, and small room. BUT...............hot showers! clean room, and really helpful staff. We spent our first night in the DR here and didn't realise what a little gem it was. The WiFi worked nicely, the AC worked well and those hot showers - nothing to be scoffed at in this country. Quiet, easy to walk around, off the sex tourist route in town, reasonably priced food and close to a nice beach. We paid $40/noc for 2 with AC - $35 without. If we return to the DR - this will be a place to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

We are pleased to provide our guests with a range of room options. For the most budget conscious we have the standard rooms which this guest chose where you get the same amenities as in our more upscale rooms in a smaller size and without the view and balconies afforded by our ocean view rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was a very chill end of the road quite little place, the only thing I didn't like is I could tell the person before me had smoked in the room

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Alegria a few times over the years and love its location. It is located a quick 5 minute walk down the beach from the busy downtown area. The staff is very helpful and friendly and our room was cleaned promptly each day. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a/c since some of the upstairs rooms only have fans.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

What you see is what you get. I spent $32 U.S. a night for a standard room. The room was fine. Just like in the picture. It was not on the ocean which I could not for the most part hear and sadly it was a little loud with the noise of a/c units etc., but outside of that was just great. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly. I didn't get to use the hot tub on the roof because of a 17 minute timer you have to keep running up to get it to warm up. I did use the elliptical machine and the weights and had a pretty good work out. While the machine is not in the best of shape it is usable and I was glad to have it. It is the best location in Cabarete in my opinion. A quiet beach right outside and a very short walk to town central. I had a lovely time. Cabarete is beautiful, idyllic caribbean get away and Hotel Alegria and it's staff are wonderful. Thanks -

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews