We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Super hospitality ,clean ,reasonably priced and save .seconds to the beach and the market, all together a great experience .will definatly return.Peter the owner kind reasonable .Raphael ,Joseph and Edrin are the hosts and around the clock security and are always there to help you with any questions you have about the area.Can't wait to return

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronnyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    59
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
57
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neepawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Did I mention the location was great?
This is a perfect place for the budget minded traveler which we are. It's a nice,quiet and clean hotel very close to the beach and to the big supermarket on the main road through Cabarete. We stayed in Studio #12 which has a small kitchen and AC and was perfect for us. The hotel staff and owner were very friendly and helpful and the maid did a great job with our room.
I expected a drip coffee maker in the room but they only had a stove-top espresso maker but after the first cup of coffee from it I was glad that we didn't have to drink the drip coffee after all.(be careful what you ask for, you may get it!)
A short walk on the street or the beach will put you in the middle of some of the great restaurants and shops that make dining here part of the Cabarete experience.
We'll be back....

Room Tip: Studio #12 and 13 on the ground floor both have AC and kitchenettes and a view of the beach through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week with two friends for a destination wedding. This place has a great location. The staff is very helpful they will get you anything you want. Peter is very knowlegable about area and will point you in right direction along with giving you helpful tips. Very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthgirlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Everyone here from owner to the women that cleans your room are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are clean, we had kitchen so if we would want to cook we could.
We came down for a wedding and err supposed to stay in an expensive hotel, we opted out and glad we did. We paid one tenth and service a hundred times better. Everyone here like to socialize with each other.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying here. Save your money for having fun.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

It's a lil place located behind hotel sans souci, yesterday was my 4th times in 2 months in this hotel .
Highly recommended my dear travelers ?
Over there you gonna meet the friendly guy by the name of John :) .

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Soumaho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

It's close to the supermarket and the Cabarete bay beach, which you can access through an alley behind a property next door. It's very close to the main road but my friend and i had an ocean view room so noise from outside to sleep was never a problem. AC worked, the small fridge worked and tv worked. hot water was reliable except one time. The furniture was worn out but whatever i was expecting that. What really bothered me was that on the first day the water from the toilet, sink and shower was coming out yellow with dirt. I didn't complain but it was fixed by evening though I hated that!!! Talked a bit with some of the staff and they were friendly, didn't talk much with the owner. Over all it was alright staying there for a couple of nights, not sure if I would come back but who knows...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
We apologize to the guests who experienced muddy water that day. The water company made a major repair on the main water line that day, and we and all the other establishments effected had to put up with a lot of sediment until it cleared out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have been to Cabarete the whole August 2012. I spent 4 weeks at Hotel Alegria and it was a really good decision: nice, clean and cool rooms, a friendly and quiet atmosphere. During my vacation I had to do some computer work, which was no problem at all because the hotel really has a great wifi connection there. Beautiful beach directly in front of the hotel. I also had luck with the hotel's kite school, called "Waterpassion". I took lessons there and I must really say that I have hardly seen a more engaged instructor anywhere else than Giuseppe from Waterpassion. He still gets wet instead of just instructing from the dry sands...

To put it into a nutshell: Perfect place for a vacation and especially for those who need a quiet place where they can do some internet work if needed.

Greetings to my bros Pepi and John, looking forward to see you guys again!

Chris

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmf900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kite Dreem Hotel
Kite Dreem Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing