We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel...Literally.”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Roach Motel...Literally.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Alegria a couple months back. I was with a group, and four of us were placed in room 15. I'm unsure what the other rooms are like, but this one was awful. Four twin beds, all in one room, no air conditioning (which I can handle), very old style bedding and decor. The vanity in the bathroom was falling apart. The drawers were all broken. The shower was dirty. I flipped on the bathroom light in the middle of the night, and 3 roaches were on the bathroom floor. I could hardly stand to sleep in this room, and wore flip-flops in the shower. Luckily, I had all of my belongings separated in zip-lock bags within my luggage. I suggest you do the same, if you stay here, to avoid bringing any "friends" back home with you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LKRbsn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Well that review certainly stung, but it did point out a couple of things we had overlooked in the large studio where the group stayed. We recently replaced 3 bathroom vanities where the drawers were not working properly due to warping from the humidity with custom made mahogany vanities. We evidently missed the vanity in the large studio and will remedy that right away. The report of the roaches in the bathroom was so unique in our experience or the experience of our guests, we investigated and found that the shower drain in that ground floor room was missing a trap that would prevent an insect from entering through the drain. That is being remedied as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    60
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
58
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel Alegria is perfectly located- just a few minutes beach walk from all of the restaurants and bars on Cabarete beach (and right next door to Janet's supermarket). The hotel's private courtyard, 24/7 concierege (always very friendly and helpful), and wood burning grill give it a very quiet, private, and relaxing atmosphere.

The furniture in the rooms is slightly outdated, but we thought it added to the charm of the hotel. This is a perfect hotel for a fun trip for people looking for great location and not looking for a sleek/shiny resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TL862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Again I spent a great time in Hotel Alegria. Friendly people, proper and calm room made my stay relaxing. Te Hotel is very well situated, a very little walk outside the center of Cabarete, in a calm corner not directly on the street and close to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised how disparate my experience is than other TripAdvisor posts. I wonder if my room was outside the norm. I've stayed at other laid back, budget, mom and pop type inns and think I had realistic expectations of modest and maybe a little worn room, but my room was far worse. I also know that beachfront places don't age well and expected some rust, mildew, etc, but not to the extent I had.

At first impression, and I was here early morning for an afternoon check-in, I found the place charming. The staff was incredibly helpful, and although they couldn't offer me an early room, took me to near hotels at 4 am to check for immediate availability before letting me settle on the rooftop terrace where there was a common shower and bathroom I could use after a long travel day.

I then enjoyed my time in the common areas of the hotel, which have that charming, make-do vibe. Staff and guest scene was enjoyable.

I then received my room. The main part of the room was fine, with a decent view and balcony. The floor was still wet from mopping, but it appears they don't do much other cleaning otherwise. Inside all the pieces of furniture (like the armoire, which is the only clothing storage) was dirty, as were most other pieces of furniture, include cobwebs and dust bunnies on the walls. Now that I think about it, I never heard or saw a vacuum the whole time I was there.

Although I was on the third floor, there was no way for me to shut and secure my balcony doors. Not that one could easily get to my balcony, but you would not have to be a professional to do so. It did take away from my sense of security and the soundness of my sleep.

The bathroom was really bad, both in terms of surface cleanliness and from series after series of quick and sloppy fixes that compound layer after later and provide an extra sense lack of cleanliness. There were thick layers of sloppy and dirty caulk and touch up paint everywhere. Every grout line was black with mildew. The sink rested loose on the vanity, it's cracked caulk having loosened. The drain cover in the shower was missing and replaced with caulk with sharp metal sticking out. The room needed a thorough update of new tile, door, window, etc. beyond 1 hour fixes between guests.

I'm not even going to spend more time mentioning cheap and uncomfortable mattress/linens, beat up furniture, and water stains, as I think those are reasonable expectations for a cheap beach town inn.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Krivenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Our reviewer writes in a review of another hotel the following " I stay at Hiltons 50-100 nights a year, mostly for business, but with 2-3 weeks of vacation, usually at beach resorts. I can say this was the poorest experience I have ever had at any hotel, EVER, in my entire life". He gives this 4 star hotel run by Waldorf Astoria a rating of one, terrible. At least he gave Hotel Alegria a arating of two. I guess it is tough to satisfy a guest who spends a hundred nights a year sleeping in Hiltons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I had a great time. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. The rooms are in pretty good shape. Keep in mind its a 2 or 3 star hotel. So the rooms have everything you need. The hotel its self is very well situated. A super-market, the beach, dozens and dozens of restaurants, bars and shops are all walking distance. Most within a few minutes. The Alegria Café Lounge is a agreat addition to the Hotel! The lounge staff is very fun to hangout with. I would recomend this place to anyone and everyone. I would go back for sure:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just returned from the Hotel Alegria and stayed in the Two bedroom apartment. We had booked the large studio but found it a bit musty and opted to upgrade to the apartment. The apartment had a lot more room and came with A/C units in each of the bedrooms. Note that not all rooms come with A/C. At this time of year (November), it's not really needed.

Like others have said, we found the hotel very comfortable. People in the reception area and restaurant were very friendly. If you like to sit and chat with other travelers, you will like this hotel. But they also gave you your space. We needed some family time and really enjoyed time to ourselves.

We were a little concerned that the hotel would be noisy, being close to the heart of Cabarette but found the hotel to be very quiet. We really liked being so close to Janet's Supermarket. It's the biggest supermarket in town and was just a 2-3 minute walk away. Very convenient! And with the kitchen, we prepared most of our food.

The apartment itself isn't fancy. Furniture is worn but everything is clean. The kitchen had the basics. We wished it had a microwave. It's not 5 star but you aren't paying 5 star prices.

Finally, the staff was great. They were friendly and quick to help when we had a question. We didn't eat at the restaurant.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBBEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel Alegria is a very nice place with a familiar atmosphere. The owner and staff are very friendly and always helpful. Our room (with ocean view) was beautiful and clean. The Hotel has direct beach access but as it is a few minutes walk to the next discothek it is really quiet there.
If I go back to Cabarete I will stay there again for sure :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
342 reviews
93.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
368 reviews
149.7 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing