We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value / Robbed in Cabarete on last night of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Belmont, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value / Robbed in Cabarete on last night of stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Having travelled the Caribbean extensively and sampled a myriad of resort chains and ratings , we knew our expectations should not be too high for the price we paid. Our goal was to go AI at Viva and dine nightly at the Cabarete beach bars for more choice/quality. As others note, the resort grounds are well maintained and the staff do a great job and work hard but it is quite dated and in need of some attention throughout, but again, we knew this and would say it really is a good value for those accepting of a three star property. I did write a quick post about our robbery occurance last night and you can find that in the forums. Here are some plus/delta's in addition to other area feedback.
Plus - some select service champions reside at this resort ( notably - Hector/Julio )
Expansive pool area
Adequate lounge chairs
Adequate shade
4 star spa
Security and bell hops
Snack & beverage availability all hours
Waves and kite boarding locale
Delta's - Towel Boy's rules and regulations - different policy every day that was hard to decipher
Demeanor of Towel employee's - presented like it was bothersome to approach booth
Quantity of buffet
Entertainment staff - sporadic structure & cultural favouritism.
Daily Beach vendor onslaughts
Time share team solicitations
Lack of managerial rounding
Again, good value for money but don't expect "wow" service or anything more than the appropriate rating. Would certainly go back as it meets the AI needs.
Paradise Island is a must. Renting a car and scooter is fine but avoid Puerto Plata unless you are an offensive driver and have a co-pilot. Sosua beach is a nice day trip for a more calmer day at the beach with a lack of vendors. Night time discos are fun , but recommend as part of a group.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2600 block of rooms as it borders the nightly entertainment complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine; we appreciate you took the time to write such detailed review, and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant vacation at our Resort. We consider your comments very interesting and they will help us to improve our services and facilities.

We are very sorry that you were robbed in Cabarete Town, please be aware that our management will pass your comments to the local authorities so they can take care of it.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    584
    308
    129
    122
See reviews for
393
507
69
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I just got back from a two-week stay at the Tangerine. There were some good features about this resort, but overall we left disappointed.

The good: The resort is right on Cabarete beach, and is an easy walk into town - either along the beach or on the main street through town. The staff (with one notable exception I'll get to later), were all very friendly and helpful. The pool is very clean and there are usually plenty of loungers there and on the beach. The buffet restaurant had very good food - both in terms of quality and selections. The a la carte restaurants - while very slow - also had good food & service.

The bad: When we arrived we were assigned a ground floor room in building 21. Ice cold A/C, spotlessly clean, and we were quite happy until we went to bed that night. The mattresses were so hard neither one of us could sleep, and we both woke up with sore hips and shoulders, and my husbands back was aching. The room also overlooked the undeveloped land next to the resort and at 5:30am we were woken by the resident rooster. The shower worked well, but the bracket for the shower wand was broken off and had been replaced by one at waist level, meaning it had to be hand held for hair washing, etc. After the second night we realized we had to move if we were going to get any rest. The front desk staff were very accommodating and booked us into a third floor room in building 24. While the beds and pillows were of a slightly better quality, the A/C was terrible. As long as we were on city power, the A/C worked fine, but when the power went out and the resort generators were running, there simply wasn't enough power to run the A/C effectively, and we spend many nights with the room too hot for sleeping. While the room was hot, the water most definitely wasn't. Our first room had unlimited amounts of hot water, while the best we got in building 24 was tepid. We debated moving rooms - again - but decided we risked going from bad to worse and simply put up with it. I should also note that the resort is very poorly soundproofed. While in building 21 we were woken by roosters, and in building 24 we were kept up at night by the evening show. Building 24 is about halfway back from the theater, so I can only imagine the din for those in buildings closer to the pool/beach.

The rooms, and the resort in general, are in need of an overhaul. Our shower leaked on the floor, there was a piece of the shower door broken out, and due to the fact that the pipes were not insulated in the ceiling, we faced puddles on the floor and constant drips from the bathroom ceiling from constant condensation buildup. There was also some sort of short-circuit in the wiring as I was woken more than once (it seemed to correspond with heavy rain) by loud bangs and sparks shooting from the A/C vent and once from the TV.

As well, there are advertised amenities that are simply not there. The website claims free WiFi in public areas, and this is not so. The only WiFi / internet access is for pay. You can get WiFi in your room, but it costs an exorbitant amount, as does the internet "cafe" in the main public area. There was no coffee/tea maker in our room (either of them) and our second room didn't even come with a "please clean/do not disturb" tag. While not an issue for us, it was just one more sign that the resort is poorly run.

The resort also advertises free local calls, which is not the case. We have friends in Cabarete as we lived there for 3 years, and when we tried to call them, we were told that we would have to come to the front desk and pay for the phone calls - even AFTER we carefully explained that this was indeed a local call.

The fitness center was very disappointing. When we lived in Cabarete we paid a membership to the resort to use their fitness center, and after 3 years away we were shocked to see that it had only gone downhill. Aside from a bit of much-needed re-upholstery to some of the weight benches, all the equipment was even more broken down than when we were there. Everything was in need of oiling, and the cardio equipment was barely functional. The stair-master is useless as the battery-operated display has no batteries and is so rusted I doubt fresh ones would work anyway, and the two spin bikes are so old and poorly maintained that they creak and groan and squeak with every pedal. The dumbbells are loose and wobbly and I hesitated to do any exercise involving lifting them over my head.

The resort advertises access to the gym, along with the sauna & hot tub in the same area. The gym is indeed free, but other than the Turkish bath and wet sauna, no other facilities are available, unless you pay for services in the Spa. I saw one very disgruntled lady walk out of the gym after being told that what was advertised as included was for-pay. I don't blame her.

The spa is VERY overpriced. Basically you are looking at the same costs for massage, facial, etc. as you would pay in the US or Canada. Considering how inexpensive the same services are off-resort (Magic Hands Massage across the street and a block toward town is fantastic & I will review it as well) it is rather insulting.

The gift shop is stocked with the usual assortment of souvenirs, clothes, and basic essentials, and is also ridiculously over-priced. There are far too many shops, pharmacies, and grocery stores in Cabarete to waste your money in the resort shops.

Finally I want to bring attention to the one member of the staff who obviously should not be there. He works most days at the egg station in the buffet restaurant and he is at best surly and at worst rude. He never smiles, glares at guests as they put in their order, and is extremely impatient with anyone taking more than 10 seconds to make a choice of what they would like in their omelette. Even when there is only one person in line he is very rude and impatient. He seems to have very definite ideas as to how omelettes/eggs should be cooked, and gets very annoyed if guests ask for anything different. He was extremely rude to my husband on more than one morning, and I saw the same behavior repeated with other guests. Hardly conducive to a pleasant breakfast.

Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday, but we will definitely not be returning to the Tangerine. If this is an example of the quality of Viva resorts in general, I would be hesitant to book a stay at any of them in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We are deeply sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations.

We truly regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations. Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your recent stay in Dominican Republic.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were at the Tangerine in October for a week. It is a clean resort our room was nice but basic. For an all inclusive the food was pretty good...the A la Cartes were okay but not spectacular. The staff are okay but they definitely don't go out of their way for you. The beach vendors are beyond annoying and it ultimately makes you want to avoid the beach altogether. Get ready to say "No Gracias" !!
We are heading down there to celebrate our wedding in February 2014 , the hotel does not really have a nice spot for a wedding. We have decided to get married at the restaurant beside the resort the Maraja which is incredible. We are bringing 70 guests with us in February and I am really hoping they will step up their game a bit for our guests. The impression we got from the Hotel was that they did not feel a need to go out of their way for us. Pretty sure despite the 70 bookings they are getting because of our wedding they won't be providing any upgrades since we are not doing the wedding with them. I am a bit unimpressed but am planning to make the most of our week there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen our property to spend your holidays along with your wedding party. We will try our best to make you and your guests to feel comfortable in our property.

We apologize if in any moment we made you feel that we didn’t care about your needs. We wish you all the best with your wedding plans and please count on us for anything you need regarding your and your guest accommodation.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed 4 days in Viva Tangerine, after a week in Bahia Principe El Portillo in Samana. The price difference was only around 25 usd per person per day, but Bahia Principe El Portillo is WAY better.

First room we got at Viva Wyndham was in the older building above the restaurant. It had not been renovated, had a musty smell and very loud air conditioning, smelly pillows... (I will pass all the details). The hotel was very understanding and changed us to a much better room.

Food is average (especially coming from Principe El Portillo). Windsurf equipment very old. They do not have enough towels for the pool.

We went to Cabarete as we wanted to windsurf or kite surf. The beach is great for that.

Customer service is ok at Viva Wyndham, but they really need to upgrade the quality of their buffet and the rooms. They can also make the jacuzzi warmer…


I would recommend Bahia Principe El Portillo.

Room Tip: definitely not in the older building above the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shareinfo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and that you have taken the time to write about your experience in our viva Wyndham Tangerine in Cabarete Dominican Republic. We regret the parts that you did not like and we will try our best to make it better for our future customers. And maybe if you decide to come back you will feel better and see things in a different way. .

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A second stay ,one year later.We were given the very same room,so our comparisons are valid for the one room only. We noticed a few diferences, the shower doors had been replaced with new . The air conditioner control was fully functional.
The cleaning ladies do a wonderful job every day!
Food was a bit better than last year, lots of choices,well presented.
The restaurant staff is well above average , very friendly and always helpful.
My husband uses a mobility scooter,and was always treated with courtesy and respect.
We know this is a smaller resort but he can go everywhere with his scooter,excepth the gym which is in the basment.
The only complaint we have would be the lack of a hand rail leading down into the pool at the main stairs, as well as the missing stair on one pool ladder,and the wobbly steps on another.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Madam,

We are happy to know you chose our property, Viva Wyndham Tangerine, to spend your holidays for a 2nd time. We are glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us; I wanted to mention that our Management has read your comments and we have taken care of the missing stair on the pool, thank you for using this tool to keep us up dated about your stay.

Thank you for your remarks which are very important to us please be sure that they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I recently went there for a destination wedding. It was a great place for kids since we had children >2. There are plenty of places to sit and entertainment at all times. The all inclusive food was ok/ not great, but it was decent when you were hungry and I suppose that's all that matters! The drinks on the other hand were tasty, but small and watered down in my opinion. I noticed the difference when I went out in the town one night and felt a significant difference just after my first piña colada vs 6 cocktails at the resort. I feel like I could have drank heavily all day and not have felt any sort of affect. Though I think I would be too full to do anything if I did that.

This is really an ok place to stay if you plan on spending time outside, but for the price you'd have to sacrifice the quality of the room. The rooms were clean but the comforter was questionable like most hotels and the sink and toilet seemed clean. My only setback was the shower. There was buildup that should have been avoided if it was properly cleaned after each guest especially sine my building was only a few years old. I also had friends in the wedding party who were without hot water the majority of the vacation only to find out that they need to give the front desk a call 10 minutes before they plan to shower so they can turn on the water heater. They were never notified of this rule. The sliding doors were also rusted and did not make a perfect seal.

I would recommend this place to someone who wants to be frugal and who is willing to sacrifice the cleanliness of their bathroom. The resort area was nice and clean and the staff was fun and energetic!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank littlemiss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in our viva Wyndham Tangerine. Please be aware that your observations are very important to us and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, and remember that we will always be pleased to welcome you in our property.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A little late but definitely a good resort that deserves a review. I'm not a picky vacationer as I research all my destinations thoroughly before heading over and always pay the right price. So i never regret my choice. Please don't mind the grammar as I'm not editing this. Also I'm 24 years old and went with a girlfriend who was 23 for demographics comparing.

Food
i'm not picky about food, but people rave about how food is so much better than food in Cuba so i was looking forward to like extreme 5 star quality as i did not find food in cuba that bad. However to me the food was the same as Cuba. I dont know if that's a good thing or bad but to me the food was good. Lots of variety and the freshly made food bars always help. They have 2 a la carte restaurants and it was no hassle booking appointments at both and we enjoyed the food at both of them.

Room service
I barely got to meet the maids as we were always out but they cleaned the rooms very nicely. Not too much towel art but after travelling so much i've seen them all lol. there was still something with some flowers so it wasn't too bad. if I did bump into them they had great customer service. always smiling.

Service
In all the service was amazing! They are such happy and friendly people. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Receptionist, food servers, maids, entertainers, security guards! everyone! We made friends that we still keep in touch with through facebook. Especially the entertainers. I still remember a few names - Baby, Betty, Sweety! And the guys at the towel shack! Amazing bunch of people! I hope i didnt forget anyone else i was really close with but seriously they were all so much fun!

Value
I paid around 800 for this trip and would say i got my moneys worth. Sometimes it's the people you're among that make your trip.

Location
Ok so out of everything the only thing I have complaints about and this is completely out of the resorts hand is it's windy! but that's just that part of the DR apparently. It is very windy. The first day we got there we thought it was just that day but it stayed windy throughout the week. it can get annoying but since you're there for a week you get used to it. The beach is beautiful but the wind ruins the tanning experience unless you face a certain way to ensure no sand flies in your face when you move your feet that have sand on them haha. also it's an open beach so you'll see locals walking by. They don't bother you at all. The local sales people will but you just ignore them and either keep walking by or if they come up to you, you just say you don't want anything. however if you ARE interested in buying something from them i've heard you can bargain VERYYYY low with them. So give it a shot.

Tips:

Do go into the city. You can walk along the beach and get to it or walk from the front of the hotel on the road but their driving is crazy and it's not too scenic so i recommend the beach walk.

If you need to make a call back home, buy a calling card at the gift shop which is like 100 pesos and you can always get the person you're calling to call you back as it's probably cheaper.

Take lots of sunscreen as if you run out it might be a little expensive down there. We ran out..Twice -_- we didn't think we'd need that much until we realized the sun was starting to burn us. I've never gotten burned before so this was not a fun experience.

There is no 24 hr bar but the disco is open till 2 so you can always grab drinks from there to last you through the night if you're planning on staying up.


All in all it was a fun experience. Alot of people from Germany there, a lot were on honeymoons. Few families, mainly couples. The entertainers were a great bunch. Made my trip really.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wondaful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for such a detail review about your experience in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine… we’ve seen that you had fun and we are so happy to know that. We hope to keep your preference for your next holidays in the Caribbean.

Thank you…

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
15.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
14.7 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
15.9 mi away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Property: Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing