We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly little spot: Surf's Up” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A friendly little spot: Surf's Up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a great vacation at the Tangerine last April. Great waves and lots of fun in the sun and surf. The room was simple and clean and he service was very good. food was fine and the staff very friendly. The little town has lots of stores and places to visit but the beach is the place to be. Enjoyed the week and will return in the future for sure.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the front of the resort near the beach and above the restaurants for easy movement an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybishop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you… It was really nice to read you point of view of our destiny. We are glad you had fun with us, we are in deep satisfy that your stay was memorable enough that you are already considering to come back, we will keep working to make sure that every time you visit us to be as good as the first time you stayed with us.

Thank you so much, our door will be always open for you.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    566
    304
    128
    118
See reviews for
383
490
69
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed March 18 to 25th,first trip to Dominican. Nice clean resort, very well kept grounds. I will note a few pros and cons.
Pros: Beautiful, kept spotless clean. Rooms always cleaned daily and beds very comfortable. Nice beach, a bit too windy and waves a bit dangerous. Nice clean pools, but smaller pool is to be over 16 and we had days when it was full of kids. Quiet older crowd for the most part.
Cons: Our elevator didn't work in our building and we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs. Never did get fixed. Food was so so. Got sick of the same food daily at the buffet. Very bland, bring your own salt and pepper. Italian a la carte ok, Mexican one much better. Couldn't eat the deserts found they had an odd taste to all of them. Couldn't drink any mixed drinks because they used cheap alcohol and the beer was always warm. Ask for ice or you won't get it. Staff not friendly, just doing there jobs, seldom smile. One server Ronaldo, served us breakfast and lunch and was awesome. Hostesses only seemed to flirt with single men, didn't talk to anyone that was a couple. Girl at Guest Services a real B***h, didn't give info needed. She was miserable. WE asked if it was safe to walk into Cabarete and she said your choice, something might happen but I can't tell you. Beach vendors a real pain in the but and very aggressive. Just say no or you'll be ripped off and tipping people all the time. The locals are always asking for money if you go off the resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room not in the main building because it is always noisy stuff going on at night. Tip to V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madam,

We are glad you have a nice vacation in our property Viva Wyndham Tangerine, thank you for sharing your experience with us and the readers of trip advisor…

We deeply regret if there were some issues with our Hotel Staff, please notice that we encourage our Staff to offer the best of them and give all our customers a personalize service treating our customers as royalty, nevertheless we deeply regret if we couldn’t make you feel that way.

We are truly sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Please be aware that your observations are very important to us and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I went here for my spring break last week. I didn't plan the vacation so the hotel wasn't my first choice. After arriving, we had a few issues at check-in but the staff was pretty helpful. I am a wyndham rewards member so i went to customer service to make sure i was getting my points and the woman was extremely rude and completely not helpful. Our room was fine in size but we looked at a brick wall and it was very noisy. There were four girls in our room and every day they only brought us two towels, we constantly called the front desk and asked maintenance to leave 4 towels for us and they never did unless we bothered them at least 3 times. I was really looking forward to relaxing on the beach with a drink, but after having my first drink, I didn't want anymore. The drinks were TERRIBLE. I am a college student so I'm not always used to topshelf liquor, but even I couldn't handle the alcohol they had. We even asked if we could pay for better alcohol and they said that was all they had. We didn't drink anything the rest of the trip. The only plus I have about this resort is that it is such a close walk to Cabarete's beach front bars and restaurants which were awesome! We went there every night because the hotel was that bad. I will not be returning here, I wouldn't go here, i didn't think the staff was very friendly or helpful either, even though other reviews all rave about them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alc331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madam,

We appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, it is also a shame to know that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

We want to assure you that observations are very important to us and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

We thank you again for your feedback; we hope to regain your trust in our product and in if you give us the honor to have you back we will try harder and harder to amaze you.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

So after reading several reviews I was a bit iffy about going here. Nonetheless we booked it. When we got there, check in was a breeze. We got to our room 1401 and it was cute not huge but we werent going to be spending time in the room either way. The bar staff is AMAZING. Let me rephrase that, the ENTIRE staff is AMAZING. From the security to bar to the entertainment we had a great time. We loved Peke and Adonis! The shows were fun and entertaining. We ended up going to Cabarete to the discos and had a great time! Spent about 20 including tip for a bottle of liquor at the club and we were fine. The vendors on the beach can get annoying quickly. They really try to rip you off with the bracelets, rings etc. I would personally not buy anything from them or if you do haggle. We ended up going on the 27 charcos excursion aka the 27 waterfalls. We paid about 60.00 per person which included liquor, a guided tour, buffet and we went to a cigar rolling place and a sculpture place.. It was really worth more than the 60 but I think that we got a good deal because we spoke spanish. We never had an issue with towels since we packed our own. The cleaning staff was great. Our shower was clogged once and they immediately fixed it before we got back to the room.

Oh FYI they serve mama juana aka the dominican viagra at the bar... let me tell you dont underestimate that drink. Its powerful!

I will be back in the fall with the kids. Oh also, there tends to be a TON of European tourists. here.

Staff that we loved and can remember their names: Jose Alberto (snack bar), Adonis & Peke (entertainment)


Overall, we had an AMAZING experience! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, Front Office Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

We are so happy to know you had a great time in our property; it is lovely when you go on vacation and get to meet more people to start a friendship. It was a pleasure for us to be the location for you to meet friends and spend relaxing and satisfactory stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trip advisers’ readers. We hope to see you in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel had ups and downs. An up was the absolutely amazing location, right on the water, and you never have to worry about grabbing a spot on the beach! Unfortunately, the vendors will come up to you no matter what, even if you are sleeping. My advice is to just play oppossum or say no gracias and look away. If you do find the need to buy something, DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR PRICES. Haggle, haggle, haggle. The pool is also quite nice, very refreshing after a long day in the sun and they have great little cabanas to take a break from the sun in. The cleaning service was so sweet and always did a great job. Unfortunately the fabled "amazingly friendly staff ended there." If you do not return your towel PROMPLTY at 5:30 pm every day prepare for a nasty look. We forgot to return them one day and brought them down about 11 am the next day and the person working the desk was very rude. Also, trying to get a ride on the catermaran boat was also impossible. The bar staff was excellent, minus the one older gentleman who looked as though you were a nuisance for ordering a drink. DO NOT ORDER THE ZOMBIE DRINK. It is pure, cheap alcohol. The beer was okay, presidente. Moving on to the food...the buffet was ok. I would stick to butter noodles and STAY AWAY FROM THE MEAT. They have some cold salads and they are okay. My roommate and I ended up walking 4 minutes down the beach and getting Gordito's for our meals (picture a chipotle-esque burrito for around 4 dollars). To make a reservation at the restraunts, you have to go between a certain time each day..very odd. As for town, we only made it in to town one night. We heard mixed reviews about traveling with just two of us. One person got robbed on the beach and his wrist was broken. Other people had absolutely no problem. However, I recommend just making some friends and walking together because town is awesome! IF THERE IS SOMETHING I CAN RECOMMEND THE MOST IT IS DO NOT DRINK THE WATER/ICE/ANYTHING NOT BOTTLED PREVIOUSLY. The water will make you VERY VERY SICK. Also attributed this to the food and cheap liquor. All in all, not too bad, but the food could be VERY much improved on...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, Front Office Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments on your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

I can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.

Again thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Marta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My stay at the Viva Wyndham was very pleasant. The food is excellent, even at the regular buffet. The staff is extremely friendly, from the security guards to the bar tenders to the cleaning staff. The rooms are comfortable, although a little small, and the common space is generally well designed so that you feel comfortable everywhere you are. The Internet access (only free in the lobby) is slow but usable.

Please remember, however, that Cabarete (the beach in front of the hotel) is a kite and wind surf paradise. On the plus side, this means that there are excellent bars and restaurants all along the beach and there are lots of kite and wind surfers to watch. The downside is that there's strong wind in the afternoon. I think this is the most fun part of the Dominican Republic. If you don't mind wind, you will have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting a note about your experience in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we really appreciate it, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feed back, please keep in mind that it will be an honor to have you back.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had a great time on my trip to Cabarete with my two best friends.

Cabarete is a beautiful beach - whether it's morning, afternoon, or night (at night, it's best to walk in 3s, and I would say it's very reminiscent of Beyonce's 'Drunk In Love' music video). Yes, it gets really windy and the waves might consume you (lost my sunglasses (it's ok, they were $5)), but compared to the current frigid temperatures in New York, we all didn't really give a sh.

Anyway, the resort..

Wifi:
The resort lobby sometimes has wifi, sometimes doesn't.
Front Desk: "maybe tomorrow."
We shared the 10 hour wifi for $15.

Notable food observations:
We craved the pizza every day - had it as a snack, had it with dinner. Always.
Good salads with a nice variety.
Orange-colored icecream = supposed to be creamsicle-flavored? = tastes like medicine
From the dessert section, it was always a hit or miss. Mostly miss.
Fruit isn't that sweet. It's okay.
..Overall, it does the job if you're hungry.

Bar:
We made the bad choice in drinking too much at the beach bars our first night (they're so much fun! Great great music to dance to) so we never really experimented with the alcoholic drinks at the resort.
However, I can say that if you are a religious coffee drinker like I am, order the cafe con leche at the bar.

Room:
The interior design definitely needs an upgrade - but it was fine.
Hot shower? Ha. The one time I got a warmer-than-lukewarm (not hot) shower was at 9AM one morning. It was glorious at the time, but I was yet again disappointed the following evening. So..so cold.
There were always mosquitos in our room. One kept biting my friend while she was sleeping one night. It kind of sucked we had to sleep with insect repellant on.
On our last day there, there was a centipede that crawled onto a towel. Awesome times.
Weak toilet (tmi, but seriously..).
2 large towels for 3 people. You do the math.

Misc:
Dude at the towel desk definitely gives you the stink-eye if you don't bring it by 5:30PM. Seriously?
The other staff are very friendly and always smiling.
Resort is mostly targeted for families/kids.
Don't get anything at the souvenir tables near the pool at night. They tried to sell me 5 magnets for $65. Oh, these magnets aren't made of gold?

All in all, I would say this resort does the minimum.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for having chosen our Viva Wyndham Tangerine to spend your holidays. We appreciate you took the time to express your experience in www.tripadviser.com. We are deeply sorry that your experience was not as good as we would wish you to.

We wish to assure you that here at Viva Wyndham Tangerine we take any comments as a constructive criticism. Our management will take note of your comments to evaluate how we can improve. We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we wish to restore your confidence in our product and hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
15.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
14.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,245 reviews
23.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Property: Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing