We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, poor location for shopping.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Amherst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort, poor location for shopping.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have no complaints about this resort. We were there April 19 2014 to April 26 2014. The staff were friendly and the food was not that bad.( I have had worse and a lot better) We did not go to any a la cartes. The main buffet was not bad, there was usually something there to munch on and sometimes something pretty good. The resort is very clean but avoid the gift shop. Either go to the larger communities to look for your gifts or wait till you go to the air port and get your gifts at the duty free shops which have a larger selection and better prices. A nice relaxing resort if you want to re charge your batteries while on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Average E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sir;

Thank you for Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time our Hotel. We do have ion side a gift shop and a jewelry but maybe here you can not find as much variety as you could in bigger shops, however, our location gives our customers the option to walk to Cabarete and enjoy the local shops and restaurants

Well, we are glad you had a nice experience despite the poor shopping. It is good to know that you took advantage of this place and enjoyed the most of everything.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    566
    304
    128
    118
See reviews for
383
490
69
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the resort in April 16 thru the 23 . 2014 to start we did not get the rooms we booked , front desk not helpful at all . No a c in the room it took 5 hours to get it fixed and several calls to the front desk , no mini fridge , the t v was from the 70 s as well as the rooms decor , no room service as advertised , wifi sucks , if you want to use the safe you have to pay for it . If you want good drinks you have to pay for them at the maraja restaurant witch it's NOT part of the all inclusive . The buffet was not good at all my kid got food poisoned and we needed to get medicine from the farmacia outside the resort . The elevator was not working. We got a third floor room . They told us it was going to get fixed in a few days but it was never fixed and in fact was abandoned and covered by sheet rock and painted over like it was never an elevator in the ground floor ( I got the pictures to prove it ) the bed covers were not clean. Roaches in the room , the bathroom was leaking from the ceiling , there was .over the weekend escorts on the grounds , the restaurants needed reservations for the Italian and Mexican nights. But some nights were canceled and we had to eat at the buffet ( not the best food ) very simple If you need to eat there look for rolando The best in all the resort more of the staff should follow his lead , he knows how to service the guest Over all it was not an enjoyable place to be on vacation . Whom ever gave this place 3 stars clearly has not been at this resort lately WE WILL NEVER RETURN TO THIS PLACE

Room Tip: Get a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinktoes246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent family vacation at Viva Wyndham Tangerine

We truly regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations. Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you and your family might have experienced during your recent stay in Dominican Republic.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Best Regards,


Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Wife and friends just got back from this resort. This is a average resort, You pay for what you get. The grounds are kept very nice and clean, the rooms are dated, When we first arrived the lock on our room would not let us in , we even had two workers trying to get into the room but they gave up and gave us another room, My buddy's step son and daughter had to be moved because they said there room was disgusting. But the food is okay but the alcohol is terrible. They can't make the same drink twice and they use very very low quality of booze, but if you are a non drinker you will be fine. Also it is very true that the sellers on the beach will drive you crazy , they really are bothersome, they will hound you and tell you it's cheapie cheapie day and they start there prices very high, if you want something from them you have to haggle for a while, I bought a shark tooth necklace that they wanted $60 u.s. I finally got it for ten bucks . The weather was great but very windy, the mornings are really nice but by 2pm the windy has really picked up. overall the resort is okay, also the resort is very small. There is only one main bar ( no swim up bar ) and there is a pay bar but I heard the drinks there are terrible as well, and they only have one type of beer ( presendente) and they serve it in dirty plastic glasses. I think you can get a Corona at the pay bar. I would not go back to this resort I because of the sellers on the beach and the liquor and because it is such a small resort. You can get the Internet but it really sucks, every day I was only able to send max 4 messages and forget about trying to get up a web page, I was using there wifi in the front lobby but it was crap, I noticed they have a wifi room where you can purchase Internet $4.00 for 15min. but I heard that was no good either. If you want to sit in the lobby and use the free wifi I suggest you do it at a quite time because the road in front of the resort is extremely loud and noisy. Over all the resort is okay, sorry we didn't see any of the shows in the evening so I can't comment on them.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 15 block just behind the buffet restaurant, nice and quite and private there. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadians127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sr.

Thank you for having chosen our Viva Wyndham Tangerine to spend your holidays. We appreciate you took the time to express your experience in www.tripadviser.com. We are deeply sorry that your experience was not as good as you expected and that you were not completely satisfied with our service.

We wish to assure you that here at Viva Wyndham Tangerine we take any comments as a constructive criticism. Our management will take note of your comments to evaluate how we can improve.

We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this resort April 10-17, we upgraded our room when we got there, ended up with a beautiful Oceanview Suite, very nice! The staff was great, very accommodating and helpful. Beautiful pool and awesome beach, too windy for me but it was beautiful. We wouldn't travel there with Sunwing again as their Customer Service is terrible along with the Sunwing Rep at the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Madam,

It is amazing what a smile and a great staff can do for us, thank you so much for having been part of us and our smile. We are grateful to know that your stay with us was that much fun and we hope your next visit to Dominican Republic to be once again in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Thank you…

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Traveled with husband & 3 teen’s 15-1 7 yrs old.
We’ve been to DP 5 times, 1 – La Romana, 2 – Punta Cana, 2 – Puerto Plata.
Different hotels each time.

Pros: Housekeeping kept the room clean. We always had 2 bottles of water and 2 towels (for myself & daughter) Husband and boys were in a separate room. Grounds are kept clean. There’s a guy who’s constantly circling the beach & pool picking up empty glasses from the bar. No birds – this was nice…

Food is decent. We liked the snackbar – the pizza is very good. The Chef is a bit surly – but he’ll make you fries or a burger if you ask – just don’t expect hospitality – unless you speak spanish. Cheese for the nacho’s would be a plus – most day’s they only had salsa.

Lots of loungers – we never had a hard time finding one in the am. But note – the resort fills up with locals on the weekend – and then it can become a problem.

Cons: No swim up bar. There’s one bar in the main area and it’s quite small.
Animation team was the worst of any resort we’ve been to. They did next to nothing during the day. This was a huge disappointment for my kids. Wind in the afternoon on the beach is terrible – in the am it’s not bad – pleasant in fact. But in the afternoon it picks up and is unbearable. It’s not much better by the pool either – we would head to the room by 3 at the latest every day.

Rooms are small and very basic. Don’t expect anything extra. We had a coffee maker but never any coffee. There was a space for a fridge – but no fridge. No dressers either. In the bathroom they have this multi-head shower insert & a hand held option – in our room only the hand held part worked. There’s no rubber strip on the shower door – so if you’re not very careful you’ll flood the entire bathroom floor – and that makes it very slippery.

We did have a problem with the rooms – I had requested no ground floor rooms & we needed non-smoking rooms. When we checked in we got one ground floor room & one first floor room. After a short conversation they agreed to move the ground floor room the next day – but we had to come down to reception at 2 to get the new keys. I asked the guy at the desk if the rooms were non-smoking – he assured me that yes they are. What a lie. The ground floor one wasn’t bad. But the first floor room stunk to the high heavens. I asked the Bell Boy if the rooms are non-smoking when he took us to our room – and he said yes but they can’t prevent people from smoking in them. Ok – I guess – but then we went in to the bathroom and low and behold there’s an ashtray and matches. We decided to suck it up and open the sliding glass door to air out the room. FYI – it didn’t help – but since they were going to move our other room to next door we decided it wasn’t going to help to complain. (but just so you know our pj’s stunk from sleeping in the room one night – it was that bad). So next day at 2 pm hubby heads to reception to get keys for new room right next to our room. Bell boy shows him the room – all is good. He goes to reception signs new paper for the new room – we get their stuff and go to that room…and what do you know – they’ve already given the room to someone else. In the 10 minutes between the bell boy showing him the room – him getting the keys & luggage – they put someone else in the room. Wow! So back to reception we go – and now I’m fired up. Guy at desk says come back tomorrow at 2 and we’ll move both rooms. I say – absolutely not – that is unacceptable. How the heck does this happen? Of course they have no answer – perfecto. So after standing for about a half hour at reception they find 2 rooms next to each other on the 2nd floor of the same building. We moved both rooms.

Just a note – I attempted to contact both the hotel directly and the Wyndham co. – to request rooms on the same floor, non-smoking and not on the ground floor ahead of time – and I got responses from both groups saying they’d do their best to accommodate us. I guess not. So don’t bother with emails ahead of time.

The vendors on the beach are very annoying. They will bother you multiple times a day. We always just say ‘no thank you’ – but it is a bother.

We won’t be back to this resort – and I wouldn’t recommend it. If you’re already booked – go and have a good time. If you aren’t – look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyTravelsAlot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in our viva Wyndham Tangerine.

We are truly sorry that you experienced some technical issues with the room and that our service was not what you expected. Please be aware that your observations are very important to us, and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Once again we thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

22-29TH OF APRIL! looking for a fun,exciting...crazy vacation. Look for us canadians coming to have a great time! see you guys soon.Came last year with a group around november. Great service great time in domincan. Also its dominicans (single) week out there 20-27th.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are any room away from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir;

Thank your for recommending us. We are glad you had fun enough to tell others to come to Dominican Republic and visit our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We hope you can visits us once again in the near future. Our dream tem will be here waiting for you…

Thank you,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at resort in March 2014. We stayed first night in main building, room was smaller than bungalow rooms and because it was open from bottom u cd hear noise from dining room early in morning. Bungalows were great. We stayed on second floor but stairs were curved and easy to go up. Property very clean. Food is good, Buffet had lots of choices. Pool was spotless and well laid out. Lots of chairs, towels, etc. nice palm trees in pool an d beach area. Beach is rough. I liked the winds as it helped with heat. Resort is small and easy to get around. There were only two things wrong with this resort and if they were corrected I.d go back in a sec, first we couldn't.t enjoy the beach because vendors continually are in your face, one after the other and they keep coming back. Very invasive. The resort would be smart to limit them to one area of beach as others have complained I noticed. The second problem. Was that they allowed escorts on resort. We saw them coming in and getting rooms and then saw them with men around pool etc. one of the guys in our group was propositioned at bar area by one of them. I was surprised they would allow this in a family resort. It was obvious.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sylviach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your sharing your opinion with trip advisor’s readers about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine; we appreciate you took the time to write about your experience in our property, and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant vacation at our Resort.

We consider your comments very interesting and they will help us to improve our services and facilities, we wish your friend had reported the inconvenient in the bar at the very moment when it happened for us to be able to immediately take the proper action, nevertheless we appreciate you are telling, we can assure you we will keep our eyes open to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.


Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
15.0 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
Viva Wyndham V Heavens
#6 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
15.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
14.6 mi away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
23.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
ClubHotel Riu Merengue
#13 of 41 in Puerto Plata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Property: Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing