We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel, Nice people and we will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velero Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Velero Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, Nice people and we will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Two weeks in the best atmosphere you can get. Very nice people and the best service you can get. Beaches for walking and running as long as you want. All things you can do close by. Surfing, windsurfing, kiting and sailing. You have to try the very local nice restaurant and pub (wilson) at the Bocca beach in the sunset.... We will be back, this is the place to charge your batteries
Best regards
Hans,Elin,tonje,Siri,Jone og Bendik

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    66
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
91
135
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We spent this christmas week 2012 at Velero Resort. The location is ideal. It is on the sea with spectacular views. The gardens and pool are very well maintained . They have beach beds and lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The accomodations are roomy. each is different. Breakfast , lunch and dinner are available. We only ate breakfast on the property but it was nicely preswented and delicious. The resort is secluded but within a few minutes walk of excellent retaurants on the beach and elsewhere.The staff is gracious and accomodating and the rooms are kept clean.We would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All rooms arre different.Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have been at cabarete many times and in different Hotels. Velero is the best option for me. Best spot so far . Stay in one of their elegantly appointed beach front suites that provides a direct view of the azure blue ocean waters and golden sand beach. Between you and the beach there is a manicured tropical garden, with exotic specimens just bursting with a multitude of colors. If you love water sport this is the best of Dominican Republic. Cabarete is the capital for windsurfing and Kiteboarding. Kite boarding was created at Cabarete few steps fron Velero Beach resort.

Room Tip: Beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Having been a long time regular to Cabarete I was used to having a fabulous sandy beach in front of my hotel and a quick walk to a dozen beach front restaruants. Did a last minute booking and could not get a room over Thanksgiving at my regular hotel. Booked myself at Valero. Was fine, I had a lot of design work to complete. But be aware there is no beach in front of the the hotel. You do have to climb over concrete to start the ten or fifteen minute walk to the restaruants action. But a decent hotel. No complaints other than those stated. Never stayed there again. If beach and Beach action is not that important than I assume it would be fine... But Cabarete is ALL about the beach action - kite surfing, sail boards, restaruants and clubs.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank alexzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

When in Cabarete, I always stay at the Velero Beach resort for a number of reasons.

1. The hotel is very well located. It is ocean front at the end of a street away from the main road. As such, it is absolutely peaceful -- away enough the from the buzz and noise of the main "party" scene of cabarete, but close enough that you can reach it in a 6 - 10 minute walk on the beach depending on your pace.
Restaurants and cafes 1 minute away: Great restaurant on-site, another one across the street (also ocean front), and a more casual cafe also across the street. These are 30 seconds away. There are others a couple of minutes away right off the main road.

2. The main neighborhood SuperMarket it around the corner. If you are traveling with a family, this is a great advantage of staying at Velero. The supermarket has everything you need to make a quick meal or prepare some snacks. And the rooms at Velero have a full kitchen where you can prepare anything. It's a home away from home.

3. The staff is amazing. They are very professional and helpful and always give great service with a sincere smile.

4. The rooms are not fancy, but they are comfortable, clean, and well maintained and have amazing ocean views! You are at the foot of the beach after all.

5. The grounds are perfectly maintained and beautiful. One of my favorite things to do is sit by the pool in front of the ocean at night and gaze at the stars. It's incredibly peaceful.

6. Lastly and primarily, there is Scooby, the lovable guardian of the Velero. Scooby is the sweetest, most affectionate and amazing dog in all of Cabarete, if not, The Dominican Republic. You can't help but fall in love with him. If you are lucky, you may find him at the reception when you arrive, or catch him on one of his walks around the property. He is truly special and well loved and known around Cabarete.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LenParci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stopped in the Velero on the advice of a waiter in Sosua! Boy, are we glad we listened to him. All the rooms are oceanfront and clean as a whistle. There are 2 shower heads and lots of hot water. Double sinks in the bathroom. We stayed in a deluxe with a king bed but I think the standard rooms are similar. The restaurant has wonderful food and all the staff is terrific. We have stayed in some fine hotels through the years, but none top the staff at Velero!! We actually would have stayed longer than our 3 nights if we hadn't paid for our hotel in Las Terrenas...that's how nice the area is. You can walk to beach bars and restauranats, etc. but the hotel is quiet - only the sounds of the waves to lull you to sleep. You can safely park your car too...a real plus. Don't think twice...just go here...LOL

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank auntkake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parachute, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

My family and I (18month old and 5 year old) just spent 2 weeks at Velero and could not have had a better vacation. The room was clean, ground level (easy access to pool, ect), wonderful view and frequent visits from "Scooby" made my kids smile! Diane and ALL the staff, from security to maids to front desk, were friendly and accommodating! Velero is easy access to Janets and Cabarete beach. The pool is a bit deep so if you do have small children keep them at the steps but when the tide is low you can walk to the tide pools to the east of the hotel and those are perfect for small children. Overall, awesome place and couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with small children, try lower level... you still get views but you have easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergener13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
1.0 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#8 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Property: Velero Beach Resort
Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing