We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy at The Coconut Palms Resort - Cabarete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy at The Coconut Palms Resort - Cabarete”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Not a 5 star hotel but it is clean even if the bathrooms could use a remodel and the kitchens could also be updated but are adequate. But in a country like this, who stays in their room all day! The bedding is clean and maids sweep and do your dishes and anything else you may want every day.

Luis makes the days so fun - he is the activities director. He speaks Spanish and English and can help you with anything you want or need to know. He loves the children and being a part of all the activities. He loves to dance from Salsa to country "Six Days on the Road."

All the employees were very friendly - the food was good in the attached restaurant if you didn't want to cook or go to downtown Cabarete.

The beach is about a ten minute walk and is where the surfboard school is. Very fun there or you can continue to walk down the pristine beach for miles.

I would stay here again because it gave you a chance to be with either guests there from other countries or mingle with the local people.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, stay away from rooms in front of the stairs, second and third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clseyfert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    65
    55
    23
    34
See reviews for
68
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Coconut Palms was not luxury 5 star, but the service was amazing they worked hard to ensure a special time, even folding our laundry and doing our dishes. Surfing access is close, but getting to any nearby towns or resorts it a hassle. Also it is a $ 30 cab ride from the airport. The excursions were pretty great, I would recommend the waterfall slide tour. The food was decent, but the resort was older and the penthouse even lacked air conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at this resort for a week. It was wonderful. Great access to the beach unless you had a wheelchair. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We wished for a few more kitchen gadgets i.e. a pizza cutter etc. because we cooked a lot, but otherwise it was great! Very happy with the staff and the accomodations!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for an ocean-front room. Ours was an ocean-view and though we could see the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Coconut Palms is a very tired, rundown and noisy place but it does have good food. We had the misfortune of staying in unit #41, located very close tho the bar. If you are a late nighter and like obnoxiously loud music, you will like this unit. At 11:00PM I called the front desk about the volume of "tunes". To their credit he did call the bar to have the volume lowered but the subwuffer still rattled my bones till midnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

4th of September - 18th of September.
Great 2 weeks of my life.
Lived in the apartments there, great scenery, very close to the ocean (not more then 5 minutes of slow walking), right next to a surf spot (I recommend Pauhana Surfing School, they know what surfing is).
Definitely will be there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Artur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorofare, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We travel often in timeshares and are used to comfortable quarters. This one was just OK. Luckily I had read some reviews and called ahead of time to request air conditioning (it's only in the bedrooms) and a quiet spot. Even so, we heard dogs barking all night (we were told they are guard dogs for the next door property).
We did not rent a car and called the resort to request a taxi. "Chero" showed up at the airport with a pink card. This was awesome since there were at least 30 drivers with white cards.
Be careful of the front door to the timeshare. Both my husband and I got our fingers caught several times.

I brought my own pillow and was very glad that I did. Theirs are flat and musty.
We didn't see any roaches, but small ants are everywhere. Be meticulous about leaving food around.

We took 2 excursions and enjoyed both. One was to the caves and the other was the Puerta Plata all day trip. The latter was interesting. Going to the caves is not for those out of shape or
disabled. It is a long steep climb into the caves, but worth it.

Bring pepto bismol! Many of us at the resort got sick even with meticulous washing of the food and brushing our teeth with bottled water. Make your ice cubes with bottled water too!

Our cell phones only worked in town (verizon). One night our son tried to call twice which, in our family, is the distress signal. I called the desk and they promptly called his number and patched us through. They were very helpful.

The massages by Mariana were fabulous! She is right on site and they are $25 each or 5 for $100. Be careful about your time. My appts did get mixed up and the resort did not really care.

The kitchen is adequate. There are no measuring devices or spices.

This is more of an adventurous place, not luxurious. If you lower your expectations, you can enjoy the people of the DR (we tried to meet and talk with as many as possible) and hang by the pool for happy hour. We did not go out at night.

The resort's beach is a 15 min walk, BUT the road is paved in some sections and dirt/rock in others.
We enjoyed the wind surfing at Cabarete beach. Just keep saying "no" to the peddlers.

Room Tip: Call ahead fir air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a lovely property with some rooms with ocean front views.
A 3 star hotel which in Mexico is equivalent to a 2 hotel.
The food is good and the service is good, but a little pricey.
The pool is large and warm.
For a remote location it is not very quiet. The cows and the roosters in the morning would wake me up. It did not seem to bother my brother.
Often there is gun fire at night from local house robberies.
The property it self is very safe and there is no danger of petty theft.
They are not putting any money into fixing the place up, so there are some leaking, mechanical problems. They allow cabs to camp at the door step, and they gouge the guests as much as they can, because they want you captive, for the fist couple of days in order to sell a time share.
There are shared taxis right out front on the highway and for about $1.25 you can get to Cabarete or Sosua. Tuesdays to Fridays there is a free shuttle to Cabarete.
There is a local store with in walking distance, with a little selection of necessities.
They do not serve drinks pool side and I find happy hour is too sugary and pricey for me. I keep a selection in the fridge.
The beach is very nice but you have to be careful, often there is a strong under tow.
I prefer the beaches in Sosua.
If you are at the beaches on Sundays then that is Dominican day, which is ok if you are looking for adventure, every Dominican comes from miles around to hit the beaches that day.
They have a bartender there that will hit on your wife and young daughter, and a local that will try and kiss your husband.
Often locals show up with out a member ship and take over the pool area.
The recommended activities are good with exception to the fish fry. It is all can eat on Wednesdays, and the fried fish is very good but for a select few, often the owner tries pass off shark filet instead, because it is cheaper.
There is plenty of wild life there, the rats are called Dominican squirrels, the cock roaches greeters, just check your bag before you leave you might take a friend home with you.

Room Tip: The central rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thefactotum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.3 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.1 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.3 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Vista del Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing