We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Palms Resort DR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Coconut Palms Resort is a comfy place. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful In arranging outings. While the beach is at the bottom of the hill, it is really a short walk. The resort provides transportation, too. The meals were tasty and the dining room is really lovely. there is a nice pool. The resort provides entertainment on alternate nights, which is curtailed by 10 pm tops. Once I shut my bedroom door, I only heard the surf!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which the bedrooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent a week over Christmas at this timeshare resort. It's small, which we really liked, low-key, and well kept. But the first unit they gave us (facing the next-door apartment building, which was so close we could hear their conversations) was falling apart.Some examples: the bedroom AC was on full blast and could not be turned off (despite three employees coming in to "fix" it) so we spent a first night freezing in this tropical island; the doors from the bedroom and living room to the balcony could not be properly shut, so we were afraid of a break-in (which would have been quite easy); the medicine cabinet in the bathroom was about to fall off the wall, so we didn't touch it; the tiny European-style under-counter fridge wouldn't get cold; the microwave didn't work. But after complaining to the frontdesk many times, we finally got moved to another unit simply by talking with the manager, Gene, and his two assistants, at the welcome cocktail. We got moved to another unit that same night. The new unit was as perfect as the first one was a disaster. Thanks, Gene!

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the ocean (which is a good 20-minute walk away). Don't settle for one facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FallsChurch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I are in our 70's. We were well satisfied with the resort. It's beautiful, the temperature perfect for anything outdoors. They don't even need glass on the windows - just screens, although we did not see a single mosquito or bug. Many people here have time- share types of vacation packages and come back year after year. We aren't water/sun lovers so some of the amenities were not our style. We also don't do social drinking so we didn't take advantage of "happy hour" or night time entertainment. Because there are only screens on the windows, the night time music could get pretty loud. The resort is built as a square with the pool in the middle and bar to one end, so the sound was amplified as well. Most nights it became quiet after 10 pm. No complaints about the music, it was very good but loud. If you plan to do your own cooking, keep in mind that the free shuttle to Cabarete only goes on Tuesday thru Friday, in order to get groceries. A cab to Cabrete is $10 or $12 each way. Could be a problem if you arrive on Saturday. The mini mart has some things like water, milk, fruit and drinks at a reasonable price. It is only about 50 yards away. Anyone not use to traveling in a poor country should be prepared for a little "culture shock" but will soon adjust if they aren't too critical. Bring straws to remove toilet paper when you forget that you can't flush it. Boil water for 5 minutes to use for washing and rinsing dishes and brushing your teeth.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best view and maybe best breeze although some of the others may get A/C when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grandma1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was just here for a week. I found this to be a not so great place to stay. My main problems with this motel was the noise from the bar and the pool. We specifically asked the front desk not to put us in a room by the bar. It was not a miscommunication, our room was right next to the noise. This month that every night, until 1 AM, non-stop and very loud drunk chatter and music. Also, the noise from behind the motel (barking dogs, roosters, birds) will wake you up around 7am. The pool was too much chemicals, dirty and not heated. Without the pool, this run down and poorly located place is nothing more than a motel. Beds were hard as a rock. Cleaning service was good and prompt.

We ate in town, rented a car. The beach is close enough to walk to, but it is really just a walking or surfing beach (I'm a very strong swimmer). The massages were good, but not worth the package.

I read reviews before I got here and I did not have any problems with bugs or not having an AC. The rooms each have a ceiling fan and a decent breeze from the ocean.

I would HIGHLY recommend spending more money and staying at an actual resort.

Room Tip: -Get a room away from the bar and pool area or leave the resort. You will not sleep. -Eat in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you are looking for luxury high priced high end this is not for you. If you are looking for nice homey atmosphere and friendly people this is the place. We could do everything or we could do nothing. We got a breakfast and dinner package for a few days, and the food for the most part was good and freash. marianna the massuese was phenomenal, i have been to camel back mountain, and the faimount in arizona, and she is the best. they have nice cheap pkgs, for the massuese. We loved loved loved Luis the entertainment host he was the best. You can see him in one of the pictures with the kids. He's the best. We rented a car for a couple of days while we were there. Everything is right off the main rd. The airport is a straight shot to the hotel. so you could either rent at the airport, or have one brought to you at the resort, like we did. just be careful of the people on the scooters and bikes. All and all nice trip nice atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Not a 5 star hotel but it is clean even if the bathrooms could use a remodel and the kitchens could also be updated but are adequate. But in a country like this, who stays in their room all day! The bedding is clean and maids sweep and do your dishes and anything else you may want every day.

Luis makes the days so fun - he is the activities director. He speaks Spanish and English and can help you with anything you want or need to know. He loves the children and being a part of all the activities. He loves to dance from Salsa to country "Six Days on the Road."

All the employees were very friendly - the food was good in the attached restaurant if you didn't want to cook or go to downtown Cabarete.

The beach is about a ten minute walk and is where the surfboard school is. Very fun there or you can continue to walk down the pristine beach for miles.

I would stay here again because it gave you a chance to be with either guests there from other countries or mingle with the local people.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, stay away from rooms in front of the stairs, second and third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clseyfert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Coconut Palms was not luxury 5 star, but the service was amazing they worked hard to ensure a special time, even folding our laundry and doing our dishes. Surfing access is close, but getting to any nearby towns or resorts it a hassle. Also it is a $ 30 cab ride from the airport. The excursions were pretty great, I would recommend the waterfall slide tour. The food was decent, but the resort was older and the penthouse even lacked air conditioning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
2.3 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
4.6 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
198 reviews
3.3 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Horse Ranch
Sea Horse Ranch
#7 of 20 in Cabarete
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Vista del Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing