We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
49
65
55
24
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
65
55
24
37
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent a week over Christmas at this timeshare resort. It's small, which we really liked, low-key, and well kept. But the first unit they gave us (facing the next-door apartment building, which was so close we could hear their conversations) was falling apart.Some examples: the bedroom AC was on full blast and could not be turned off (despite three employees coming in to "fix" it) so we spent a first night freezing in this tropical island; the doors from the bedroom and living room to the balcony could not be properly shut, so we were afraid of a break-in (which would have been quite easy); the medicine cabinet in the bathroom was about to fall off the wall, so we didn't touch it; the tiny European-style under-counter fridge wouldn't get cold; the microwave didn't work. But after complaining to the frontdesk many times, we finally got moved to another unit simply by talking with the manager, Gene, and his two assistants, at the welcome cocktail. We got moved to another unit that same night. The new unit was as perfect as the first one was a disaster. Thanks, Gene!

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the ocean (which is a good 20-minute walk away). Don't settle for one facing the building next door, or facing the pool, which can be noisy. If the front desk is unhelpful, demand to speak with Gene.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FallsChurch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I are in our 70's. We were well satisfied with the resort. It's beautiful, the temperature perfect for anything outdoors. They don't even need glass on the windows - just screens, although we did not see a single mosquito or bug. Many people here have time- share types of vacation packages and come back year after year. We aren't water/sun lovers so some of the amenities were not our style. We also don't do social drinking so we didn't take advantage of "happy hour" or night time entertainment. Because there are only screens on the windows, the night time music could get pretty loud. The resort is built as a square with the pool in the middle and bar to one end, so the sound was amplified as well. Most nights it became quiet after 10 pm. No complaints about the music, it was very good but loud. If you plan to do your own cooking, keep in mind that the free shuttle to Cabarete only goes on Tuesday thru Friday, in order to get groceries. A cab to Cabrete is $10 or $12 each way. Could be a problem if you arrive on Saturday. The mini mart has some things like water, milk, fruit and drinks at a reasonable price. It is only about 50 yards away. Anyone not use to traveling in a poor country should be prepared for a little "culture shock" but will soon adjust if they aren't too critical. Bring straws to remove toilet paper when you forget that you can't flush it. Boil water for 5 minutes to use for washing and rinsing dishes and brushing your teeth.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best view and maybe best breeze although some of the others may get A/C when they remodel. However there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grandma1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was just here for a week. I found this to be a not so great place to stay. My main problems with this motel was the noise from the bar and the pool. We specifically asked the front desk not to put us in a room by the bar. It was not a miscommunication, our room was right next to the noise. This month that every night, until 1 AM, non-stop and very loud drunk chatter and music. Also, the noise from behind the motel (barking dogs, roosters, birds) will wake you up around 7am. The pool was too much chemicals, dirty and not heated. Without the pool, this run down and poorly located place is nothing more than a motel. Beds were hard as a rock. Cleaning service was good and prompt.

We ate in town, rented a car. The beach is close enough to walk to, but it is really just a walking or surfing beach (I'm a very strong swimmer). The massages were good, but not worth the package.

I read reviews before I got here and I did not have any problems with bugs or not having an AC. The rooms each have a ceiling fan and a decent breeze from the ocean.

I would HIGHLY recommend spending more money and staying at an actual resort.

Room Tip: -Get a room away from the bar and pool area or leave the resort. You will not sleep. -Eat in town, much better food and interaction with locals. -Get one massage, not the package.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you are looking for luxury high priced high end this is not for you. If you are looking for nice homey atmosphere and friendly people this is the place. We could do everything or we could do nothing. We got a breakfast and dinner package for a few days, and the food for the most part was good and freash. marianna the massuese was phenomenal, i have been to camel back mountain, and the faimount in arizona, and she is the best. they have nice cheap pkgs, for the massuese. We loved loved loved Luis the entertainment host he was the best. You can see him in one of the pictures with the kids. He's the best. We rented a car for a couple of days while we were there. Everything is right off the main rd. The airport is a straight shot to the hotel. so you could either rent at the airport, or have one brought to you at the resort, like we did. just be careful of the people on the scooters and bikes. All and all nice trip nice atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Not a 5 star hotel but it is clean even if the bathrooms could use a remodel and the kitchens could also be updated but are adequate. But in a country like this, who stays in their room all day! The bedding is clean and maids sweep and do your dishes and anything else you may want every day.

Luis makes the days so fun - he is the activities director. He speaks Spanish and English and can help you with anything you want or need to know. He loves the children and being a part of all the activities. He loves to dance from Salsa to country "Six Days on the Road."

All the employees were very friendly - the food was good in the attached restaurant if you didn't want to cook or go to downtown Cabarete.

The beach is about a ten minute walk and is where the surfboard school is. Very fun there or you can continue to walk down the pristine beach for miles.

I would stay here again because it gave you a chance to be with either guests there from other countries or mingle with the local people.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, stay away from rooms in front of the stairs, second and third floor get great ocean breezes. Rooms near bar are noisy but it stops at 10 p.m. Think you would be able to hear the music no matter what room. An ocean view is nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clseyfert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews