We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the bustle, and close to nature.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Away from the bustle, and close to nature.”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We arrived at Coconut and were immediately served some rum punch and were shown our room. Having already read reviews here, I knew to request an Ocean view on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
I HIGHLY RECCOMMEND YOU CALL IN ADVANCE TO RESERVE THE SAME.
The other views are not as good and on the first floor you do not get the luxury of leaving your doors open at night to the fresh air.
We were lucky to get our request and had a fabulous view of the local area with the ocean in the background. We set up 2 chairs around a small table on our balcony and enjoyed many hours gazing over the trees towards the ocean. We could hear cows, goats, birds, the ocean , and the rumble of a passing motorcycle.
The room was fairly clean, but the furnishings were older. The chair and couch had plastic cushions, so we placed our towels on them to make them more comfy.
The bathroom needs upgrading, some tiles were chipped, and the pipes behind the sink were rusty. The taps were very old.
But- it all worked fine, and we aren't that picky.
The fact the room had no air conditioning also didn't bother us- we like the fresh air- plus there was a lovely cross breeze through the shutters, and there are ceiling fans.
I would have liked to have had better bedding with fluffy pillows, a small thing that would add volumes. But what we did have was clean and decent.
The pool was beautiful, the trees and foliage around it just lovely. The actual architecture of the building very nice with the curling staircase made it very picturesque.
The beach- though a 15 min walk away, we found rustic, and nice. We happily discovered another beach just a short walk east of the main beach. It was unattended and offered complete privacy. Because you are on the north side of the island it does tend to get wavy and windy.
We took advantage of the shuttle to town and saw the town of Cabarete, which has beautiful beach restaurants, pubs, and shopping.
We also went horseback riding along the beach where its an amazing deal, and you get to run your horse along the beach. Carlo was a great guide.
The food was delicious- although we only ate dinners there, and took advantage of our kitchen to prepare breakfast and lunches- which we ate on our balcony.
All in all, it was a great place because it was quiet, remote, and small. No hustle and bustle. Not fussy and stuffy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    65
    55
    23
    34
See reviews for
68
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

This "resort" is on a hill between the towns of Sosua and Cabarete. Unless you want to experience spartan furnishings in a rundown room, don't stay here. The exterior of the property is very attractive(see property web site). It has a nice looking pool but the rooms are not air conditioned, furnishings are low end wicker, rattan and plywood. Sheets and towels are well-worn, low-end, bargain store variety that should have been retired long before our arrival. Each guest is provided one hand towel and one body towel per day. We arranged this vacation through RCI. We got a one BR with a double bed mattress placed on top of a plywood frame. The windows have no glass; they are covered with screen and louvered shutters that you can adjust to control the air flow through the unit. During our December stay, temperatures ranged from 80-95°F with about 95% humidity. If not for the three days of torrential rains, the entire stay would have been miserable- I can only imagine what it would be like in the heat of summer. The closet consisted of a couple of plywood shelves. Walls are unevenly plastered and the paint is old. Workmanship throughout the rooms looks like it was built and maintained by first year vocational school drop-outs. Ceramic tiles on the floors and bathroom walls are uneven and the grout looks like it was applied by children. I don't know where their maintenance fees go but they can't be spent on property improvements.

Many of the rooms have beach views, but the walk is approximately 500 yards down unpaved roads that become mud puddles when it rains, and it rains often in December in the Dominican Republic. Once you get to the beach, there is one bar/restaurant where you can buy food and beverages before your walk back up the hill to the hotel. Take water shoes- the beach is natural with many outcroppings of rock and dead coral; the waves and undertow are strong; very popular for surfers but not advisable for children or non-swimmers.

The place offers what is called a modified american plan. You can choose a four or seven day plan which gets you two meals per day, no alcohol included. The four day plan boasts giving you the choice of enjoying local fair but you have to go in to either Sosua or Cabarete to experience the local fair. Cabs into the towns during our stay cost $12 one way. Those can really add up over a week stay. The hotel offers a free shuttle that makes a morning and afternnon run in to Cabarete 4 days a week; times differ daily. Tap water is not potable yet the hotel only provides a gallon jug at check-in; refills are on your tab.

The only redeeming point for the resort is the friendly and courteous staff. They were always willing to strike up a conversation and attend to the guests' needs. We spent the week of Christmas at the resort and they had special menus for Christmas eve and Christmas day. The Christmas day buffet was incredible with a mixed menu of various salads, a roast pig, lobster, beef and turkey. Had it not been for the warm, friendly staff, there wouldn't be anything nice to say about this resort.

The most annoying part of our trip was the "orientation" we were forced to endure by their time-share sales staff, who we were directed to right after reception before we could get to our room. Their 30 minute orientation lasted nearly two hours. Even though we told them we weren't buying at the onset, they seemed angry that we wouldn't buy when they were finished telling us all the bad things about our current timeshare ownership. Among other things, they said we would not be able to take advantage of RCI's new point system and we would be limited to staying at only a handful of resorts using the week system. If the new point system keeps me from returning to this property, Many thanks to the Almighty and RCI.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabarete hotels

Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We spent a week here and weren't expecting much based on the other reviews. No air conditioning wasn't a problem during December. We had a two bedroom and the condo was more than spacious. The room was clean--definitely not a five star but more than what we needed for a place to sleep while discovering the DR. The staff was very helpful. Playa Encuentro, the beach a short walk from the hotel is a surfing beach and not a place to take the kids to play in the waves. The beach at Sosua is much more serene. We traveled by various modes of transport -- rental car for long trips to Dajabon & Jarabacoa, rental scooter for closer jaunts such as Cabarete and Sosua. Gua gua's were a lot of fun if one didn't want to drive after a night on the town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA-Damore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

this is the 2nd time i stayed at this location (10/07 in past), not much had changed at all except for the staff. was very pleased to hear from luis, one of the timeshare reps, that rci will be forcing the hotel to make some much needed upgrades to the facilities and property itself.

everything worked and teh food was delicious. bar reasonably priced and staff amazing as usual.

get a vehicle and explore!!!! go where the locals go, you will pick up a few new phrases and learn to dance. drink the rum and eat the mangu.

enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancasterlouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We had a large 3 BR unit with wonderful ocean views. The unit was worn and spartan but the worst problem was the lack of air conditioning. You really need it in July and we should have realized that before going. The staff was very accommodating and moved us to an air conditioned unit a few days into the trip. Only the bedrooms had A/C and the windows weren't sealed but it was much better than nothing.

There are ants everywhere; we didn't keep any food out but they were still around. Small and harmless but annoying nonetheless.

The biggest problems with the resort were that the mattresses had bed bugs and all of our family got bitten where their skin was exposed while sleeping. Secondly, the pool had no chlorine in it; or so little that you couldn't even detect its smell when you got out. As a result my son got an infection (swimmer's ear) which had to get treated with antibiotics while we were there.

I cannot recommend the Coconut Palms to anyone despite the staff's best efforts to make it enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickyGWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed at the Coconut Palms for the first week in June and since we read the reviews before we left, we weren't expecting much. We were handed a drink before we even completed check in and the service was above and beyond from there. The staff was incredibly helpful and informative and made great recommendations about what to eat, where to go, what excursions to take, etc. The hotel itself was a little out of the way from the city, but you really don't need to leave except for shopping and sight seeing.

The rooms were well maintained and cleaned regularly. There weren't any windows in the room. Instead there were wooden blind type things so it felt really authentic and gave us a true Dominican experience. There was a minor ant problem in the kitchen, but we had food out a lot, so I would contribute it to that.

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, this is definitely not the place to stay, but it was well worth the low price. You basically have your own private beach and its just a short walk (or free ride) from the hotel. Victor took excellent care of us at the bar the whole time. By the end of the week everyone at the hotel had become friends and there was always someone at the bar from happy hour until close. It was a really relaxing trip yet you have the opportunity to do as much or as little as you'd like. We would definitely recommend the Jeef Safari tour offered at the front desk.

Great place to stay if taken with a grain of salt and you're just looking to have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The staff was one of the best we have had anywhere. We are not high maintenance folks, but all of our needs were taken care of promptly. This is exactly what we were looking for for a restful Spring break. The hotel was just the right size... not too big that you get lost in the mix and just small enough that you get to know everyone in the place by the end of the week. We loved the food, the tiki bar was great and the pool area was excellent. Great family oriented atmosphere. The beach was great for wind surfing and regular surfing if that is your thing. The beach is really a pristine undeveloped area. The resort sits a short walk up the hill from the beach. Liked the open air rooms... the temperature was always right with a little help from the fan. If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star resort, don't go here. But if you are looking for a great place to hide out from the world, this is a winner!!! Kudos to the staff for keeping this ship running great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spond324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.3 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.1 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.3 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Vista del Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing