We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a road side hut”
Review of Casa Mami

Casa Mami
Ranked #23 of 132 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casa Mami is different in Cabarete, another world served in an open and typical Dominican environment at Extreme Hotel. Casa Mami has seafood and meats instead served with Spanish Dominican and recipes.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food in a road side hut”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

That thatch roof structure in the picture is the entire dining area. And the photographer was probably standing in the highway. Despite the road noise and strong breeze the seafood paella was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveFrancko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    19
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What Happened???”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Last year, my wife and I ate at Casa Mami. The owner was so friendly and the food was always fresh and delicious. I returned there with my daughter and son-in-law today. We were sorely disappointed. The owner was there, but he ignored us. He was busy chatting with friends and hauling off some old palm leaves. There was only one other couple there with their son, but it took 45 minutes for our food. The food while not terrible, it was bland and overcooked. My seafood pasta had 3 small shrimp and was loaded with tough and chewy octopus. To top it off, there were small flies that we constantly had to bat away from our food. What a disappointment! I will not be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyF1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed twice”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Four of us had dinner here a couple of weeks ago, both couples ordered the Paellas for two, this was a large frying pan with rice, chicken and other stuff, there was lots of food but the taste was bland. We couldn't eat it all so we took the leftovers back to the condo and I had it for supper the following night. The first visit was a 7 out of 10 so we decided to return, on our return we were the only ones there which seemed odd because everyone was telling us how good the food was at this place. Our server could not speak English but we knew what chicken was on the daily special menu so we both ordered chicken unfortunately it was boiled and dry and in general just nasty. We will not be going back for a third time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley1Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Laid back lunch”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Casa Mimi is about as laid back and local as you can get in Cabarete, Dominican Republic. The restaurant is basically a big open cabana with nice ocean breezes blowing in from the beach across the street. Apparently the cops from the police station next door are regulars which gave the place a very local feel. Our party of three ordered a cross section of the menu then waited as we sipped beer and got to visit with the proprietors little dog. I had a Dominican style fish in sauce with rice and salad, and sampled some of my wife's lobster and tostones (fried plantain). All were very tasty and satisfying without being overwhelming, which is a good thing during the heat of a Dominican day. Well worth a visit if you want to get into a Caribbean groove.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgreg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place Cabarete”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

So down to earth, you feel like at home. Very cheap, we had two fish and salad. Everything was great! Best fish I've eaten in RD. It's a must!!!

Helpful?
Thank Patrikrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Mami also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Casa Mami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing