We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Individualized attention in a rigorous session”
Review of CabareteYoga

CabareteYoga
Ranked #6 of 11 Spas & Wellness in Cabarete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yoga classes for the Cabarete/Sosua area with Kieran Barry, a top-class instructor from the UK held in a fantastic open-air studio, just yards from the beach in Natura Cabana eco-hotel.The teacher is trained in the Anusara and Vinyasa Flow traditions of yoga, teaches a very skillfully designed class to help all level of yoga practioners, from complete beginners to advanced incorporating precise alignment instructions whilst also managing to keep up a good tempo that makes for a good cardio-vascular workout. He is also well versed in meditation and Buddhism (over 20 years experience) and manages to include the fundamentals of these teachings into his classes so that they are beneficial not just for the body but will also help to bring awareness to your minds and hearts.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Individualized attention in a rigorous session”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There was a substitute for the regular yoga teacher (I can't remember her name!) and she was excellent. The instructions were clear and she gave helpful, clear corrections and suggested modifications.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great yoga”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days at cabana natura. He did 2 classes with Kieran and I did all that I could -- 2 a day when possible. Kieran is a very dedicated teacher who concentrates on the basics and makes sure you get things right. I thank him every time I get into crow and keep it! Highly recommended for beginners and advanced practitioners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent teacher with an exceptional knack for teaching well-rounded all levels classes”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After reading many a rave review of Kieran's classes, my mom and I chose to seal the deal and book a reservation at Natura Cabana for our spring vacation. Thank goodness we did! Kieran is an excellent teacher with an exceptional knack for teaching well-rounded all levels classes. My mom is a newly certified yoga teacher in her 60's with a focus on gentle yoga for the less bendy set. I am in my late 20's and (for better or for worse) have a proclivity for strong New York City vinyasa flow classes. Kieran's classes more than satisfied both our preferences--equal parts of them devoted to breathing (guided and unguided), moving (as strongly or as a gently as you please--Kieran will demonstrate ample options for challenge and ease in every pose), and meditating (with the help of Kieran's effecting, uncluttered insight). Additionally, Kieran is a keenly observant instructor, paying careful attention to the way his class responds to his instruction and making subtle adjustments accordingly. He also has excellent intuition for who could be "working stronger" and who ought to ease up a bit, individual attention which he delivers skillfully and with an easy sense of humor. Neither my mom nor I ever left the gorgeous ocean-side yoga temple feeling over or under-worked. On its tropical paradise-y own, Cabarete is ripe ground for blissing out, but to get the most bliss for your buck, Kieran's classes are not to be missed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique yoga teacher at Cabarete”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you are a beginner in the practice of yoga and have had unconvincing or even negative experiences then I urge you to not pass up this opportunity to replenish body and soul with Kieran's approach to this ancient practice . It will transform your holiday experience at Natura Cabana from an ordinary beach holiday into something that could have a lasting impact on your health and well being. Kieran's instructions as well as his guidance to release tension and preconceptions is really effective. He stresses that yoga is nothing to do with flexibility or performance. He is totally non-judgemental of your ability and just encourages you to manage the challenge that is right for you. I highly recommend Kieran as a teacher

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 30Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kieran Barry is an Excellent Teacher”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was my second visit to Natura Cabana and my second experience of Kieran Barry's yoga classes, which are so much more than you might expect to find in a beach hotel. The setting - a yoga 'temple' - could not be more idyllic - yoga to the sounds of the ocean waves. The class is a mixed level class and Kieran manages to challenge and comfort at the same time. I could not recommend it more highly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barwan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CabareteYoga also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to CabareteYoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing