We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need it they probably have it from pregnancy tests to Velcro !!!”
Review of The Dollar Shop

The Dollar Shop
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Cabarete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dollar Shop is filled with handy, helpful, hard to find items. Prices are in pesos and range between 40 and 80 pesos, that’s between $1 and $2 and includes the 18% tax. Our product selection includes Balloons, Helium (the only place on the North Coast that we know of) and Party Supplies. We also have a nice selection of Rolled Gift Wrap, another item that’s impossible to find anywhere here on the North Coast, maybe even on the entire island. Another hard to find item is Greeting Cards and we have a nice selection in both English and Spanish. You will also find Toys and Novelties, Health & Beauty Products, Cleaning and Laundry Supplies, Stationary/School Supplies, Jewelry, Hair Accessories, Vitamins and Medicines, Arts & Craft Supplies, Home Decor, Garden (seeds too) & Gift Items. Candles, Incense, Candle Holders, Candy, Snacks, Groceries, Pet Supplies and Accessories, Batteries and Hardware. We receive shipments regularly so there’s always something new and interesting. We also have a great selection of eyewear including Reading Glasses, Sun Glasses, Sun Readers and Water Sport Glasses. Come by, say hi to our friendly staff and check out the selection. We look forward to seeing you!
atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you need it they probably have it from pregnancy tests to Velcro !!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ordinary things are hard to come by in the DR , but the cheerful team at the Dollar store will do all they can to fulfill your fixation ! It's like a drugstore ,hardware shop, candy store,craft and birthday supply and more all under one rather small roof ! So even if you don't need anything stop by because I'm sure something you hadn't thought of yet will catch you eye !!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyjudygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carberete, DR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you want a place to buy the stuff you need the Dollar Shop has it and if they don't they will get it. The staff and owners are wonderful and very helpful. Always taking extra care of their customers. Friendly, helpful and energetic, they make every trip to their store awesome. Whether a tourist looking for some travel essentials, a short term renter or a permanent escape the winter resident you will find what you need at The Dollar Shop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiseMountianRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Awesome Service, friendly Personal and great Products”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I really searched in local grocery stores for products i know and need from home. :)
Someone told me to visit the Dollar Shop.... first Impression: coming home to family.
Found all stuff i needed :) Awesome Service from all :) Nice talks :) and i left happy the store with the feeling "i need to come back and buy something just to visit Shelley and her Team" :)

Visit the Dollar Shop and u get what u need and understand why i love the owners, employee and the shop. :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

One the best places to get the most beautiful Birthday cards. The staff is very good.
Always something nice..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneClickCabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
“Simply love The Dollar shop and the staff!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having The Dollar shop in Cabarete is for me a thing that I cannot miss!
While starting my business, Shelley, Richard, Ingrid and Allie helped me out so much to find everything I needed. All those little things that you are not able to find anywhere else you will find there and if not, just ask and they try to order it for you as long as the price is Dollar shop worthy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlegriaCafeLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dollar Shop also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to The Dollar Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing