We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surfschool!”

House of Waves Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: House of Waves is a mobile surf school offering surf lessons at a variety of local beaches to suit your level and the daily conditions. We are based in Cabarete, on the wave rich Caribbean island of the Dominican Republic, along the North Coast. We offer guided surf trips, surf lessons and high-performance coaching with certified, profressional trainers that will take your surfing to the next level. We are fluent in English, Spanish, German and French. We welcome all ages and abilities, from the novice to the elite surfer. Come surf with us! Families welcome, for kids and adults of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Köln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surfschool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I loved this surf school: jesmarin and hochi will work out everything you need, no matter if it's a different board, some extra time or helpfull tips, even if you don't take a lesson.
this is what I loved most about this family business - the authentic and really considerate caring about surfing, nature and people who want to surf (or just hang out under the trees at the surf school spot :)).
In a nutshell: helpfull and professional instuctions, custimized lesson according to your individual needs, a lot of service for your money, and last but not least awesome wonderful people!

Thank you guys again for an amazing time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great school for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My kids (4 and 5 years old) took surfing lessons at the school House of Waves and we are very happy with the school, the instructors and of course the way they instuc taught the children .. The atmosphere is perfect for a family who want to sit and sunbathe during the children take classes
;-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Absolutely perfect day trip from the Puerto Plata area! A group of four of us were looking to get away from the tourist-heavy areas around the resorts and House of Waves was an absolute find! Playa encuentro is pristine and nearly empty, save the patrons of a few surf schools along the beach. Board rental and private lesson set-up was easy. The three in our group who had never surfed before were up on their boards in no time and our instructor took the time to come out with me individually to catch some bigger surf. We loved the location so much that we came back a second time during the week to rent boards and go out on our own!

This is a definite must on your trip in this area. Email ahead and let them know you're coming so that they'll be looking out for you on the beach.

Thanks House of Waves!

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had a great time surfing. Everyone was so nice and fun! My wife stayed on the beach while I surfed and had a great time. Definitely beats surfing in Jersey! Will come again next year!! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank winterssolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for surf lessons -- House of Waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We totally recommend this surf school and the overall experience from House of Waves was fantastic. The instructors were highly qualified and the assistants were helpful and attentive. My 3 children (young adults and teenager) were up on their boards in no time and loved it. The beach is wonderful and the waves great for all levels of surfers. Communication was excellent and House of Waves is well organized. The owners were very helpful with suggestions as we travelled to Encuentro from our hotel in Puerto Plata and also flexible with timings and dates during our week in the Dominican Republic. Thank you House of Waves and we hope to return soon!

Visited February 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Waves Surf School also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to House of Waves Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing