We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal and tons to do”
Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal and tons to do”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at the Extreme Hotel for 3 months this past winter.... WOW! The staff is all super relaxed and friendly, and the trainers at the gym do an excellent job. If you want to go on holiday, but don't want to just sit by the pool stuffing your face and getting fat, then this is the place for you! Extreme offers all sorts of great fitness classes like xfit, yoga, p90x, and kickboxing, as well as being RIGHT on the best kite surfing beach in the world. Just down the best, encuentro is a great place to surf. Probably the best thing about extreme is it is a great place to meet people if you are travelling alone. there was always someone cool hanging out at the bar to chat to, or a friends to go to dinner with. The rooms are basic, but clean, but you won't want to spend any time in there anyway!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are incredible, but can be kinda loud when its windy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    61
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
55
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Awesome place, beautiful beach, steady winds, fantastic kite-boarding, good waves, grand variety of fun / healthy activities and great people ... simply an amazing time!!!
The location is a perfect on-the-beach-holiday spot. The hotel offers a great deal of activities - fitness, yoga, trapeze - and the people that work there are all super welcoming and fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I woke up every morning excited and ready to go on an adventure. The rooms are clean and nice they come with a safe and a very nice view. I got to experience a cool get together at one of the penthouses and all I can say is Its way worth it. Overlooking the ocean spacious kitchen and a huge living room and balcony. The staff is extremely cool and so helpful. They told me about all good surfing spots and also great places to have dinner. On occasions we all went to dinner and out at night together which was also allot of fun. Arturo works at the restaurant also a very talented surfer and very cool guy will make sure you are definitely eating the best food but if you are into surfing he will guide you and teach if you need a lesson. GIGi is awesome she guided me and friends that I met on the trip to great spots to go eat and she also is very cool. Monica has a camera so she can snap professional photos of you she also know allot about all the cool different farming that goes on in the hotel and out in there private farm...Genevieve is also very cool she teaches a bunch of cross fit and also different type of classes always coming out of the gym looking like she had a great workout...IF you love kitting like I Do you must get the kitting package and start working with Richard he is awesome what an awesome chill guy that know allot and is willing to take the time to teach you all you need to know..Cesar and Classico are the bar tenders and they will make you the best mama Juana that's a drink that is so good and it's 2 for 1 from 5 - 7 at the bar..all in all this place is run like a family and I loved every day of it and I recommend this hotel to anyone that loves great service and allot of activities.. Lots of love from California thanks extreme for a great week..p.s. I went to the spots you recommended Gigi in Miami and had a great time thanks for the recommendation :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KareemKiteSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The eXtreme Hotel has the best staff, the best location (for kite-surfing), the best range of activities, and the best atmosphere anywhere in Cabarete. I've been their twice now and both stays were perfect - wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

The Location:
This is the best place to go if you want to kitesurf in Cabarete, hands down. It's right on kite beach, and they've got a great area to setup and take down your kite, launch, etc. If you're concerned about not being right in downtown Cabarate, don't be - there are moto-conchos waiting to take you into town night and day, and it's only a 5 minute ride.

Activities:
Well, kitesurfing, duh. The school is fantastic, with amazing kitesurfers there to help, either with private lessons or just supervision for beginners. They can help with repairs if you've got your own gear, and when you're done kiting for the day you can watch them doing ah-ma-zing tricks and jumps. Seriously, these guys are good. Oh yea, and there's yoga, a great crossfit gym, a trapeze, and a pool.

The Staff:
What's not to like about a bunch of tall, friendly, and beautiful Canadians who are always around to hang out, give you tips, and help with whatever you need? Special thanks to Genevieve for being totally awesome. Seriously, give her a raise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RussellMaxSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed @ eXtreme in July for my fourth time in the past year. I have gotten to know the staff & gym/yoga instructors well. Whatever I have needed in the way of help or organizing the staff have always come through. Everyone I have met @ eXtreme has enjoyed their stay & I know the staff work very hard to make all the guests feel welcome & a part of their very active & outgoing family. The kite school GoKite @ eXtreme is excellent with really good instructors, there are a multitude of gym classes & yoga classes to keep anyone busy throughout the day. The circus school would be a blast for anyone interested in that. Spanish lessons on site with a view of the ocean during class if you wish. Excellent food @ the eXtreme hotel restaurant that is on the beach where you can watch the ocean & the kiteboarders all day long if you wish. The guestrooms are very basic & are clean. The hotel prides itself on being a "green" hotel from their solar power to their organic produce grown @ their organic farm. The hotel is located right on kite beach....so you can walk out of your room & into the ocean within 4 minutes. Every stay I have had here, I have met very interesting & adventurous people which is great for having a group to go out to dinners & to do activities with if you are traveling solo or even as a couple. The eXtreme gym has private instruction if you want it & a great personal fitness training program where they help you with whatever fitness goals you wish to accomplish, whether it be to gain weight or lose weight. HIghly recommend staying here. If you are looking for an all-inclusive type resort or a 4 star hotel, you will be happier to stay elsewhere, but you won't have as great an experience & you won't meet as many fun & interesting people!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GBH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is the second time I've come to Extreme Hotel and I will definitely be back once again. This place is awesome: from the people to the facilities to the myriad of activities available to guests. I came to kite (the spot reserved with kiters to set up their gear is PERFECT, by far the best on Kite Beach), but on a day with no wind there are so many things to do! The staff is amazing, super friendly, fun and helpful. The gym facilities are impressive, if you want to work out THIS is the place. There is always something going on, whether its a tour of the organic farm, yoga session, cross-fit or trapeze classes. And all this at a very reasonable cost, the value is excellent!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the ocean side so the waves can lull you to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andreanne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This "hotel" has a very relaxed attitude, which can be great, but can be annoying. The people that work there are very nice, but they could not be bothered to get me a key to the safe in my room or to help me logon properly to the internet. In the end I did not really need either the safe or the internet. There are a lot of mosquitos, and I don't buy the fact that mosquitos are a fact of life in the Caribbean. I grew up in the Caribbean, mosquitos can be controlled. I did not feel welcomed or unwelcomed, the price is cheap, but so is what you get in return. Everythig else is extra. Food at the bar is good. Would I come back? Probably not.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsilva2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kite Beach Inn
Kite Beach Inn
#4 of 27 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing