We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely BAD”
Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extremely BAD”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Firstly, I am no complaining princess expecting 5 stars resorts I travel in the developing world extensively so have no aversion to "roughing it". But if I pay as much as I did for this place I expect at least 2 stars. Poor communication. I messaged ahead I let them know when we would be arriving yet still there was no one at the "front desk". We were told "oh sorry 'Mimi' is in the ocean" so we were sent to the bar for a crazy over priced drink till she showed up and told us she didn't even have a key for the room! That set the stage for a week of bad service, ignorant staff and a "you're on your own" attitude.

When the electricity pops off or something breaks they are slow to respond but super quick to blame you. When we paid at the restaurant for the BBQ it was late and they ran out of food lol.

This place is based on the blind loyalty of hippies who head down every year for kite boarding and, though they agree with you, will get really defensive if you mention how poorly the place is run.

Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere this place is a joke. Dominican offers far better places!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FFTR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiteloungerobbie, Manager at Extreme Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write your fantastic review.

It's unfortunate that a year after staying here (if in fact you did) you still harbor such negative emotions about your stay that you finally decided to join trip adviser solely for the purpose of posting your glowing review.

We are unsure how to address Mimi since there is no staff member named Mimi working here, and never has been.

eXtreme continues to be a fun place for the many 'hippies' (your term) who chose to stay and enjoy all unique activities we have onsite. The kiteboarding school, the circus school, the yoga studio, the crossfit gym, the Spanish language school and the aquapoincis are all thriving in our action sport eco paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    61
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
55
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing location, people, accomodation and activities, eXtreme Hotel has it all! When I try to describe my experience here to friends and family I don't even know where to start. The versatility of the activities (kitesurfing, cross fit gym, circus, pool and yoga loft all on site) and people here create a truly unique and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is personable and accommodating and the sense of community even if you are staying a short amount of time here is priceless. The managers, Gigi and Ariel are always rounding people up to go out to dinner or dancing and you're bound to have a blast with them. On the other hand, if you're just looking for a quiet family vacation it is a safe spot in a beautiful location with plenty of cool stuff to keep the kids entertained! On top of all of that, eXtreme and its affiliates support some awesome initiatives. eXtreme has a permaculture garden and aquaponics system on site as well as their very own farm. You can go tour Taino Farm and float down the amazing Yassica river, only to be followed by a delicious farm fresh organic lunch. I could go on and on about how much love this place but suffice it to say: Extreme is more than just a hotel, it is a truly unique place that incorporates adventure, sustainability and education into life changing vacations for people from incredibly diverse backgrounds. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Super cool hotel with lots to do. You can surf in the morning, come back have a a nice breakfast at Mojito, have a nap, wake up & work out at Rogue Fitness Cabarete, really cool gym with the best trainers in Cabarete, check the wind, go kite of you want or do trapeze or Circus stuff with Paul. The staff is great, very nice girls that know how to take care of you. The rooms are breezy and clean. It's an eco-hotel, don't expect AC or a 24hour reception, feels nice to remember whats important. They're solar powered and grow the mint for the restaurant Mojito Bar -organically. At night, hang out at the restaurant and make friends and go out if you want in the town. go home, wake up surf in the morning...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art-surf-2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place is great for those who want the social, friendly environment of a hostel but still want the privacy of their own room. The staff were all very sweet and personable and it made for a very comfortable stay. The rooms can only be accessed through a locked gate so it's really safe here. There is no A/C or TVs but you really don't need it, there's so much to do here that you really shouldn't be spending much time in your room. Plus it's better for the environment which is what this hotel is all about! The ceiling fan was enough to sleep throughout the night comfortably. If you love physical activity and are trying to reduce your carbon footprint, you will love this place as much as I did!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleeRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my second stay at Extreme. I was there for 2 weeks mainly for kiteboarding. There is a plethora of activities to choose from: gym, yoga, salsa classes, meditation, trapeze, kiteboarding, surfing and more.
The location is great, right on Kite Beach. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful people. Excellent kite support on the beach from the chicos working at the kite school.
Room was ok for my needs as i didn't plan to spend too much time in it anyways and it served its purpose.
I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly, hospitable and will help you to accommodate your trip to your liking.

TONS of fitness and physical activities offered from yoga to Crossfit to kickboxing to trapeze lessons. Right on kite beach so it's perfect for the adrenaline junkies, who are into surfing and kite surfing.

The hotel has their own farm where they grow their own food. Take the tour they offer that includes a beautiful ride through a river between jungly mountains, home made lunch and a huge beer ;)

Great vibes, great location, great price. Can't beat it with a stick. You're guaranteed a good time at extreme. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was surprised by how much i enjoyed my stay here and recommend it to everyone. The staff was beyond amazing, the hotel was charming & clean (love the concept of lowering the carbon footprint, how cool!), and the activities were incredible. The fitness options really offered a great workout. Im in love with this hotel, will def stay again on my next trip in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justjulie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.8 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing